LumberJocks

Namazori Chisels

  • Advertise with us
Review by Lee A. Jesberger posted 03-04-2008 06:11 AM 4846 views 0 times favorited 18 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Namazori Chisels No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I’ve been using these chisels, available in 5/8” and 3/4”, for about ten years I guess. I purchased them from Japan Woodworkers website. http://www.japanwoodworker.com

These chisels are incredibly useful, but also somewhat dangerous to us western woodworkers. The way in which we tend to handle chisels leads to cut thumbs, as both sides are razor sharp. It took me a while to get used to that fact.

They are designed to be used in carving back rounds smooth, or to clean glue out of corners, (although I don’t use them for that). I find them to be very handy for a number of cutting and paring tasks.

This is the write up in the Japan Woodworkers Catalog.

Namazori Chisels (Spear Chisel) are small versions of the ancient Japanese tool used for planing. Today they are used by wood carvers for shaving flat surfaces, trimming grooves and working into corners impossible to with conventional style carving tools.
Miki City Master of Blacksmiths, Takahashi, has agreed to manufacture Professional Grade Wood Carving Tools for us. These tools are hand forged from the finest quality Shirogami Hagane (Japanese white steel). Careful supervision is maintained throughout the over twenty separate steps required to complete each tool. Particular attention is taken to ensure each tool is individually tempered to Rockwell c64°. The inside of the blade is finely finished by hand to give a sharper, longer lasting edge. The handles are made from Akagashi (Japanese Red Oak) and are slightly rounded at the top for comfortable hand use. A tapered ferrule enables the handle to withstand blows from heavy mallets. Takahashi wood carving tools come razor sharp with a well polished bevel. The overall length is 10? and blade length is 2¼?.

*

As I recall they are about $ 50.00 each, but I feel they’re well worth the money. They hold an edge extremely well, and come razor sharp. I’ve not even had to hone them yet.

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com




View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6683 posts in 2698 days



18 comments so far

View PanamaJack's profile

PanamaJack

4473 posts in 2796 days


#1 posted 03-04-2008 06:25 AM

Great review Lee.

-- Carpe Lignum; Tornare Lignum (Seize the wood, to Turn the wood)

View Karson's profile

Karson

34901 posts in 3119 days


#2 posted 03-04-2008 06:31 AM

I saw these chisels at Lee’s home at last years picnic. And I can attest to the fine looks of them. Alas I didn’t get to use them.

Great review Lee.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View Dick, & Barb Cain's profile

Dick, & Barb Cain

8693 posts in 3018 days


#3 posted 03-04-2008 07:03 AM

Thanks for the review Lee.

Those Japanese tools look very inviting.

Not that I really need more chisels. ;0)

-- -** You are never to old to set another goal or to dream a new dream ****************** Dick, & Barb Cain, Hibbing, MN. http://www.woodcarvingillustrated.com/gallery/member.php?uid=3627&protype=1

View dennis mitchell's profile

dennis mitchell

3994 posts in 3033 days


#4 posted 03-04-2008 07:12 AM

They look scary!

View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2707 days


#5 posted 03-04-2008 07:21 AM

Interesting! I have never seen them before.

I hope that you aren’t supposed to use it like you use must Japanese tools.

That is pulling toward yourself! An slip could be fatal!

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6683 posts in 2698 days


#6 posted 03-04-2008 03:35 PM

Thank’s Panama.

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6683 posts in 2698 days


#7 posted 03-04-2008 03:38 PM

Karson;

I must be a horrible host!

For the record, you’re more than welcome to use anything in my shop at any time. (except Alexandra) LOL.

That should cover it.

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6683 posts in 2698 days


#8 posted 03-04-2008 03:41 PM

Hi Dick;

I imagine you do have all the chisels you need, after having seen the incredible carvings on your “Wall of Cain”.

But us woodworkers always need something new! Makes it interesting.

Kind of like ladies and shoes!

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6683 posts in 2698 days


#9 posted 03-04-2008 03:43 PM

Hi Dennis;

I agree, and they are! My habit of guiding a paring chisel with my left thumb is an absolute no no.

Still, each time I pick them up they remind me not to do that!

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6683 posts in 2698 days


#10 posted 03-04-2008 03:47 PM

Hi Gary;

I believe that is for saws and planes only. Definitely not for their chisels.

I mentioned that in a previous post. It would be difficult to drive to the emergency room with the handle hitting the steering wheel.

I can picture Homer Simpson trying that. Dooh! Dooh! Dooh!

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View teenagewoodworker's profile

teenagewoodworker

2727 posts in 2487 days


#11 posted 03-05-2008 01:05 AM

ya I’ve heard a lot of great things about Japanese chisels. they are supposed to be top quality. I am just in the process of saving up a couple of dollars a week for better chisels that the 3 chisels i got for ten dollars.

View scottb's profile

scottb

3648 posts in 3046 days


#12 posted 03-05-2008 02:50 AM

did I read that right, haven’t had to hone them in 10 years? That’s worth the price alone!

-- I am always doing what I cannot do yet, in order to learn how to do it. - Van Gogh -- http://blanchardcreative.etsy.com -- http://snbcreative.wordpress.com/

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6683 posts in 2698 days


#13 posted 03-05-2008 05:35 AM

Hi Teenagewoodworker;

I have a few sets of Japanese chisels and I love them. The quality difference is almost embarrasing, since I’m from here, not there.

Several nice sets are available from http://www.toolsforworkingwood.com

That’s where I got them from.

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6683 posts in 2698 days


#14 posted 03-05-2008 05:36 AM

Hi Scott;

Yes, that’s right. and they’re still after my left thumb!

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View BlueStingrayBoots's profile

BlueStingrayBoots

747 posts in 2721 days


#15 posted 03-05-2008 07:10 PM

Thanks for providing the website Lee, cant wait to get some needed cutlery(at a great price). I seem to have a mesquite cookout backlog.

showing 1 through 15 of 18 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase