LumberJocks

I BADMOUTHED THE WRONG COMPRESSOR

  • Advertise with us
Review by jockmike2 posted 03-02-2008 03:43 PM 5277 views 1 time favorited 22 comments Add to Favorites Watch
I BADMOUTHED THE WRONG COMPRESSOR No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

A while back I gave a negative review to this 2-in-1 brad / stapler with compressor, here on Lumberjocks. I was recently contacted by the “Director of Product Developement at Stanely Bostich.” I Quote, ” Your post regarding your frustrating experience with our compressor just came across my desk. First, I would like to apologize for the inconvience and frustration this problem caused you. For a short period of time, the valve plate was out of our specification which could lead to a premature failure of the valve. This problem has since been resovlved.
Being an avid woodworker myself, I can understand your frustration and disappointment in our product. Bostich is committed to delivering high quality products for both the professional and industrial markedts, and our customers’s satisfaction is the single most important objective for our organization. If you would send me an E-mail, or call me, I would like to send you a gift as an apology for dissappointing you and as a first step in rebuilding your perception of bostich. My E-Mail address is g———@stanleyworks.com and my office ph. is. and my cell ph is…...
Best Regards”

Gary

So this guy has contacted me and offered to not only replace the old compressor, but upgrade the 18 gauge gun I had to a 23 gauge gun that he claims is the top of the line. So the sqweeky wheel does at times get the grease. Martin if you want
Gary’s E-mail or phone number, I’m sure he would be most interested in advertising with us. This whole thing is amazing. I have E-mailed this guy 2 or 3 times and he has never failed to answer a question. When the machine worked it worked great, especially on trim. It left such a small hole you did not need to go back a fill anything. The motor was surprisingly quiet, and I like the no oil aspect of it. It also had a qiuck recovery time, that meant you did’nt have to wait, When it worked it worked great, I hope the bugs are gone. mike wurm

-- (You just have to please the man in the Mirror) Mike from Michigan -




View jockmike2's profile

jockmike2

10635 posts in 3002 days



22 comments so far

View gizmodyne's profile

gizmodyne

1765 posts in 2845 days


#1 posted 03-02-2008 03:48 PM

Great story. I have wondered if the powers that be check out these reviews. Thanks for taking the time to write this. The good folks at Craftsman must not be aware of the Internet.

Personally I love my Bostich finish nailer, ....uh wait…. I mean it it has significant issues warranting an upgrade…

-- -John "Do I have to keep typing a smiley? Just assume it's a joke." www.flickr.com/photos/gizmodyne

View Moron's profile

Moron

4725 posts in 2648 days


#2 posted 03-02-2008 03:52 PM

wonderful

-- "Good artists borrow, great artists steal”…..Picasso

View Karson's profile

Karson

34916 posts in 3155 days


#3 posted 03-02-2008 03:53 PM

Mike: Thanks for being candid in your first review. I hope more manufacturers find out about these reviews from real users and not paid authors. We might start getting better tools and some realistically tool life and utilization.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2916 days


#4 posted 03-02-2008 03:59 PM

Well, now, doesn’t that just warm your heart!!!

We also have that compressor. It’s sitting idle for now. A hammer was dropped on the gauge and we can’t find a replacement with the same pressure range.

It sure came in handy when finishing our bedroom and for building our shed—oh yah.. the shed. We blessed it every day!! We got a big monster gun from Rick’s work and this little compressor fired those nails into the wood like nothing. WOO HOO.

Thanks for the update Mike. I think I can see your smile from here.

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)

View Dick, & Barb Cain's profile

Dick, & Barb Cain

8693 posts in 3054 days


#5 posted 03-02-2008 04:14 PM

Mike!
It makes me happy to hear that you got satisfaction from Bostitch.

You can see that they care about their customers.

It’s also good to know that Lumberjocks reviews are being taken seriously.

Now, wouldn’t it be nice if you could get some help with that lousy lathe of yours.

-- -** You are never to old to set another goal or to dream a new dream ****************** Dick, & Barb Cain, Hibbing, MN. http://www.woodcarvingillustrated.com/gallery/member.php?uid=3627&protype=1

View Moron's profile

Moron

4725 posts in 2648 days


#6 posted 03-02-2008 04:33 PM

I’m not positive but I think my nail gun/brad gun was bought out by Bostich. originally called a Nimico?. It’s so old the writing is worn off but I can only say that it shot out thousands and thousands of brads, over 25 years old and still works like the day I bought it.

-- "Good artists borrow, great artists steal”…..Picasso

View scottb's profile

scottb

3648 posts in 3082 days


#7 posted 03-02-2008 04:51 PM

based on your old review (which was too late for Dad, who’d been constantly frustrated with his – last attempt to run it, it never came up to pressure) We resolved not to get another by them… I’m glad to hear of the improvements and resolution for you.

-- I am always doing what I cannot do yet, in order to learn how to do it. - Van Gogh -- http://blanchardcreative.etsy.com -- http://snbcreative.wordpress.com/

View jockmike2's profile

jockmike2

10635 posts in 3002 days


#8 posted 03-02-2008 04:56 PM

You’re right of course Dick, but some companies just don’t give a darn. When I dealt with that women in
Tennessee she was the most obnoxious and disagreeable person I have ever talked with, and all I was doing was trying to get some info about where I might find the parts I needed for my Delta Lathe, and I bad mouthed that company till the cows came home and still no satisfaction. Delta Sucks. mike

-- (You just have to please the man in the Mirror) Mike from Michigan -

View dalec's profile

dalec

613 posts in 2643 days


#9 posted 03-02-2008 06:41 PM

It is nice when a company representative takes very seriously their reputation and customer satisfaction, that they fix a problem when it could be easily ignored. It says a lot about the values of that company and the individual who made contact with you.

Dalec

View USCJeff's profile

USCJeff

1046 posts in 2823 days


#10 posted 03-02-2008 06:44 PM

Glad to know there is still customer satisfaction oriented professionals out there. From their vantage, the “gift” will mostl ikely not only resolve your negative feelings, but also great revenue from likely repeat business as they have now built a relationship of trust with you. You know are no doubt left with the impression that if yo are not satisfied with their product line, they will make an effort to rectify your needs. Plus, as of now 57 woodworkers reading this will store that knowledge away as well.

-- Jeff, South Carolina

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 2640 days


#11 posted 03-02-2008 10:11 PM

I have this compressor and it sets idle most of the time because it is so NOISY and takes forever to build pressure. I’ve had it about a year and used it only twice because of the problems above, would have used it about every day if not for the problems. Oh and the 1st time I turned it on it blew one of it’s valves apart, but the company replaced the valve for free, it’s just a good thing nobody was in-line with the trajectory of the valve it stuck in a wall.

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

View jockmike2's profile

jockmike2

10635 posts in 3002 days


#12 posted 03-02-2008 11:35 PM

Hopefully they will see these other complaints and do something about them too. If not I have the guys phone number and Email address so I’ll be glad to publish it if others are having the same problems. mike

-- (You just have to please the man in the Mirror) Mike from Michigan -

View ND2ELK's profile

ND2ELK

13495 posts in 2529 days


#13 posted 03-03-2008 01:11 AM

I need to buy a compressor for my shop and after reading this review I plan on looking at a Bostitch. Gary’s got my business. Thanks for the review.

Tom

-- Mc Bridge Cabinets, Iowa

View grovemadman's profile

grovemadman

556 posts in 2527 days


#14 posted 03-03-2008 01:01 PM

I like to send them their stuff back, whoever the manufacturer is. I send everything including attachments, copies of reciepts – everything. But you have to make sure you send it to the right person at the company. I tell them I don’t need it and it isn’t what it was marketed as. I might say something like, “I hope you don’t get laid off when everyone starts catching on to what a product this isn’t”. If I own other products from that company I let them know I plan to compare all of their products I own with others in the same market.
This usually gets the attention of someone way up in the company. And then butts start gettin’ kicked and heads start rollin’ until you have a company out of business or one re-built on trust and quality. Nobody likes it when you send them back their product and tell them the customer service is bad. I know if someone told me that about my work I would probably give them their money back and make it right!
Most members in the chain of command in any company take this kind of action very seriously, as did Gary at Bostich. He knows what could happen if an action like this should snowball – Corporate DEATH. No more perks, bonuses etc… it means resume time and possibly a step backward in a promising career.
This tactic got me an upgraded product from a company I’ll leave nameless and an ‘A’ for the semester in a marketing class I was taking at the time. In the end the score was Chuck 3 – Blank corp. 0! They paid for everything including shipping, tons of gift certificates an upgraded product and attachments for the product I never purchased. They continued to send me a couple of attachments so I could try them out and give a fair and honest product review!!!

Mike, I bet if you get a hold of the right person at Delta and asked him/her where do want me to ship this to? Then told them you are looking at JET you won’t get the same response you got from their rep in Tennessee. The best time to get ‘em is at a wood working tradeshow when lots of people are around. Or when their rep shows up at the local rotten orange. They have no choice but to listen then, especially if other customers are nearby!!!!!

-- --Chuck

View shaun's profile

shaun

360 posts in 2661 days


#15 posted 03-03-2008 01:50 PM

Mike – I’m glad you got your issue resolved. To me, this speaks volumes for their organization. And kudos to Gary at Bostitch.

Gary, if your reading this, based on your actions resolving Mike’s issue I’m pretty sure you just earned another customer. Ill be shopping Bostitch first for my fastening needs.

Thanks for posting this Mike.

-- I've cut that board three times and it's still too short!

showing 1 through 15 of 22 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase