LumberJocks

Sharpen your mortise chisels

  • Advertise with us
Review by Karson posted 03-01-2008 09:11 PM 5073 views 2 times favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Sharpen your mortise chisels No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Rockler and others have this tool to sharpen your mortise chisels. Trust me they don’t come sharpl

Lee Vally has just the sharpening cones for $7.95 a better buy than Rockler.

It’s a cone with diamond sharpening grits on the edge. The picture doesn’t show but it does come with 2 grit sizes, course and fine. I placed the diamond cone in my drill press and lightly brought it into the inside of the mortise chisel Ligntly do that until you get all edges of the chisel sharpened. the go to the fine and do the same. I hold the chisel in my hand, resting the shank of it on the table surface. Once you have done that then use some fine sharpening stone, sandpaper to lightly flatten the burs that will probably be on the outside edge of the chisel. The reviews that I’ve seen state that you don’t need to get the same kind of edge that you put on our chisels and planes.

It does make a difference and it might only need to be done once or twice in your lifetime depending on how much you use them.

Well recomended.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †




View Karson's profile

Karson

34891 posts in 3088 days



15 comments so far

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2510 days


#1 posted 03-01-2008 09:38 PM

Thanks Karson,

I have been looking at one of these and wondered how well they worked. I don’t use my mortiser that often but I like the chisels to be sharp. If I am not mistaken I believe I have put this on my wish list at Rockler and I have some rewards dollars to burn. Sounds like a purchase is in order to me.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View Dick, & Barb Cain's profile

Dick, & Barb Cain

8693 posts in 2987 days


#2 posted 03-01-2008 10:36 PM

My mortising chisel were extra sharp when I bought them, & I haven’t had the need to sharpen them yet.

Thanks Karson, I’ll keep this in mind though.

-- -** You are never to old to set another goal or to dream a new dream ****************** Dick, & Barb Cain, Hibbing, MN. http://www.woodcarvingillustrated.com/gallery/member.php?uid=3627&protype=1

View tenontim's profile

tenontim

2131 posts in 2432 days


#3 posted 03-02-2008 02:39 AM

These are really handy if you use your mortising chisel much. It’s always good to keep a good edge on them. I would recommend checking out Lee Valley. The world of the internet will save you a lot of money. Lee Valley sells the sharpening cones for almost a 3rd of Rockler. Rockler and Woodcraft will bust your bank account in a hurry. I have to depend on buying on the internet, because there’s nothing close. If you look up No Where, Texas, I’m right in the middle of it :]

View Karson's profile

Karson

34891 posts in 3088 days


#4 posted 03-02-2008 03:10 AM

You are right Lee Valley has the sharpening cones for 7.95

Thanks for the info

Updated with some new price info.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View Dick, & Barb Cain's profile

Dick, & Barb Cain

8693 posts in 2987 days


#5 posted 03-02-2008 06:30 AM

These companies are going to start looking at LJ’s to compare prices.

-- -** You are never to old to set another goal or to dream a new dream ****************** Dick, & Barb Cain, Hibbing, MN. http://www.woodcarvingillustrated.com/gallery/member.php?uid=3627&protype=1

View Karson's profile

Karson

34891 posts in 3088 days


#6 posted 03-02-2008 06:46 AM

I hope you are right Dick. We do have a formattable base of buying power here.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

19562 posts in 2539 days


#7 posted 03-02-2008 07:06 AM

Nothing like a bit of competition.

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View motthunter's profile

motthunter

2141 posts in 2487 days


#8 posted 03-02-2008 01:17 PM

for waht it is, 7.95 is not a bad deal. Thanks for the tip

-- making sawdust....

View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2848 days


#9 posted 03-02-2008 03:14 PM

companies are silly if they aren’t following the LumberJocks discussions—lots of ideas and concerns posted here

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 2573 days


#10 posted 03-02-2008 10:23 PM

Thanks for the tips.

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6663 posts in 2667 days


#11 posted 03-03-2008 09:37 AM

I’ve bought several sets of mortising chisels, and I can tell you there is a big difference between brands.

What I can’t tell you is the company I finally got very good chisels from. All I remember is they were much more money, but proved to be well worth it.

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View Karson's profile

Karson

34891 posts in 3088 days


#12 posted 03-03-2008 04:53 PM

Lee and others Woodworking magazine Issue 7 had a review of mortising chisels. Back issues are available and also electric copies.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View bbrown's profile

bbrown

100 posts in 2240 days


#13 posted 04-24-2013 11:51 AM

The drill bit snapped in my 1/4 inch Delta mortising chisel (using on curly maple). I cannot seem to find a bit anywhere – I only need the inner bit, not the outer chisel part. There must be a source of good quality bits somewhere.

Secondly, as a follow-up to this old thread – there is a big range of price for hollow chisel sets. What’s the lowest price that still buys quality? Any recommendations?

Thanks a lot,

—Bill

Forest, VA

-- Forest, Virginia ; Micah 6:8 Guitar scrapbook: http://www.youtube.com/user/wfbrown1234?feature=mhee

View bbrown's profile

bbrown

100 posts in 2240 days


#14 posted 04-28-2013 12:38 PM

I assume that there is no source for the inner drill bit in mortising chisels? One must buy the entire thing – the outer chisel and the bit together? Seems odd that one cannot replace just the bit – it’s all I need.

—Bill

-- Forest, Virginia ; Micah 6:8 Guitar scrapbook: http://www.youtube.com/user/wfbrown1234?feature=mhee

View Karson's profile

Karson

34891 posts in 3088 days


#15 posted 04-28-2013 01:21 PM

I think you have a good assumption there. The inside hole of the chisel and the bit are probably a matched set. Another MFG’s bit might not fit your chisel, it could be too small or too big. It’s the combination the give you your holes.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase