LumberJocks

Rockler Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig

  • Advertise with us
Review by Craftsman on the lake posted 09-24-2011 04:33 AM 4172 views 2 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Rockler Table Saw Cove Cutting Jig No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

For the production of architraves in my house I recently decided to pick up a cove cutting jig on sale at rockler. This is a video review of the product. I’ll let the video speak and not repeat everything here. If it works for me it can work for anyone. Thanks for watching.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.




View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2398 posts in 2133 days



10 comments so far

View Jimi_C's profile

Jimi_C

507 posts in 1931 days


#1 posted 09-24-2011 05:06 AM

I make raised panel doors on my tablesaw the same way, and it’s not that bad as long as you do them all at once. That is, run all the pieces through at the set height, raise the blade, and then repeat. 8 passes and you’re through 1/2” of wood, so it goes pretty quick once you get in a rhythm. The hard part is cleaning up the curve afterwards – the saw blade leaves a pretty rough surface, even if you go pretty slow.

-- The difference between being defeated and admitting defeat is what makes all the difference in the world - Upton Sinclair, "The Jungle"

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11665 posts in 2384 days


#2 posted 09-24-2011 06:42 AM

Hi Dan , Excellent video and review of your new toy : )
What type of blade / how many teeth , do they recommend to use ?

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2518 days


#3 posted 09-24-2011 11:50 AM

This is a nice review, Daniel. I have looked at these and been considering getting one. Your review was certainly helpful.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2398 posts in 2133 days


#4 posted 09-24-2011 01:13 PM

Dusty, there is no recommendation for teeth on the blade. I’d imagine that the more the better. I have at times, put in a 7 1/2” blade in my 10” table saw from time to time when I haven’t needed the blade height and found that the smaller blade gives the motor a better mechanical advantage. Of course one would be limited to a narrower cove but if I ever do some smaller coves I might do that again.

Jimi_c, Good idea about the door panels. And yes the blade does leave narrow horizontal striations in the wood. A scraper seems to handle that well tough and mentioned in the directions of the rockler jig it said to do a very light pass on the last one. That seemed to help a bit. I also made a mirror image curved sanding block and wrapped it with 36 grit sandpaper. That seemed to take off the saw marks really fast. Then to the scraping and final incremented sanding.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11665 posts in 2384 days


#5 posted 09-24-2011 06:12 PM

Thanks for the info , Dan….I hope to see the end results installed : )
Have a great weekend !
Len

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2398 posts in 2133 days


#6 posted 09-24-2011 06:32 PM

Well, actually Dusty…. I finished them today. No poly’d yet though. You can see the cove in the bottom half of the top arch. The very top is a double ogee stacked one atop the other. I’ll post it as a finished project later. I also used the Rockler fluting jig for the side moldings. I’ll get something on that later. It also works pretty nicely.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11665 posts in 2384 days


#7 posted 09-25-2011 01:15 AM

That looks awesome , Dan ! Million dollar window moldings , for sure. Thank you : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2398 posts in 2133 days


#8 posted 09-25-2011 01:45 AM

Cessna, the snowblower? It’s almost time!

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View ArtistryinWood's profile

ArtistryinWood

97 posts in 2383 days


#9 posted 09-25-2011 06:12 AM

Nice job Daniel,

CMT has a crown molding set with a cove cutting head, Supposed to cut smoother than a TS blade, A bit pricey though $153.30 on Amazon.

http://www.cmtutensili.com/show_items.asp?pars=RIC~235.ric~2~2~3

Andrew

-- It seem's to me i could live my life, a lot better than i think i am. Andrew, Midland, Ont.

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2398 posts in 2133 days


#10 posted 09-27-2011 01:45 AM

yes Artistry I see them on Amazon. A bit pricy but I’ll bet it does a nice job. Sort of a router bit for the table saw. The whole crown molding kid is over $300!

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase