LumberJocks

Country Woodcraft - A handbook of traditional woodworking techniques and projects

  • Advertise with us
Review by WayneC posted 09-14-2011 12:58 AM 2111 views 0 times favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Country Woodcraft - A handbook of traditional woodworking techniques and projects No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I’ve had a copy of this book on my bookshelf for a very long time. I came a across a recommendation for this book when looking at carving information on the web and decided to re-read it. If you like Mad’s shave horse and your looking to work with rough lumber, this is the book for you. The books covers the following topics

  • Tools
  • Wood
  • Sawbuck, shaving horse, clubs, mauls and mallets
  • Bow Saws
  • Tool Hancles
  • Wedges
  • Workbench
  • Spring Pole Lathe

He describes a number of projects in two major categories Agricultural Implements and Household crafts and furnishing. There are quite a few useful projects. Many of these I personally would have no use for but they are very interesting to read about and they teach ways to approach particular problems. Some examples of these projects include:

  • Spoons
  • Dough Toughs
  • Farmhouse Table
  • Dining Bench
  • Bark Boxes
  • Pitchforks
  • Wheel barrow
  • Swiss Milking Stool
  • Sleds

Country Woodcraft by Drew Langsner
1978
Rodale Press
ISBN: 0-87857-200-7

The book can be had for a song. Used versions sell from $0.28 plus the cost of shipping. If you have any interest in this area you cannot go wrong for the price.

http://www.amazon.com/Country-Woodcraft-Drew-Langsner/dp/0878572007/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1315953860&sr=8-1

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov




View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12290 posts in 2763 days



15 comments so far

View RGtools's profile

RGtools

3302 posts in 1320 days


#1 posted 09-14-2011 02:51 AM

I have put a lot of miles on my local libraries’ copy of this book. I figured your shave-horse came in part from there.

-- Make furniture that lasts as long as the tree - Ryan

View TheGravedigger's profile

TheGravedigger

963 posts in 2690 days


#2 posted 09-14-2011 05:36 AM

I have this book as well, and can’t recommend it highly enough. Definitely a must-have for the greenwood worker or anyone with an interest in rustic crafts.

-- Robert - Visit my woodworking blog: http://littlegoodpieces.wordpress.com

View lanwater's profile

lanwater

3087 posts in 1600 days


#3 posted 09-14-2011 07:12 AM

Thanks for the review WayneC.

I put it on my “to buy” list.

-- Abbas, Castro Valley, CA

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12290 posts in 2763 days


#4 posted 09-14-2011 07:15 AM

It is hard to pass for the price.

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View lanwater's profile

lanwater

3087 posts in 1600 days


#5 posted 09-14-2011 07:23 AM

You are right!

just ordered it used in good condition for $0.27 + $3.99 for shipping.

It’s cheaper than an ice creme.

Thanks!

-- Abbas, Castro Valley, CA

View mafe's profile

mafe

9550 posts in 1755 days


#6 posted 09-14-2011 11:56 AM

Thank you Wayne for the review, another one I must look for.
Yes my horse is out there stumping the ground.
Best thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

15893 posts in 1532 days


#7 posted 09-14-2011 01:45 PM

Wayne, thanks for the review and I do love these kinds of books.

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1781 days


#8 posted 09-14-2011 04:48 PM

thankĀ“s for the rewiew Wayne :-)

Dennis

View Don W's profile

Don W

15059 posts in 1233 days


#9 posted 09-15-2011 03:04 PM

Wayne, the email for this review has sat in my inbox since you wrote it, just waiting for a minute or two to get back to it. For 28 cents and $4 shipping, I’ve added it to my shopping cart. I just haven’t ordered it yet because the Traditional Woodworker is in there as well and a need a few More items to get the free shipping. Thanks for the review.

-- Master hand plane hoarder. - http://timetestedtools.com

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12290 posts in 2763 days


#10 posted 09-15-2011 03:07 PM

Don, Do you have a copy of the complete woodworker yet?

http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Woodworker-Bernard-Jones/dp/1580080154/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1316092003&sr=8-1

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View Don W's profile

Don W

15059 posts in 1233 days


#11 posted 09-15-2011 03:32 PM

Yes, i got a copy about a week ago. I have been reading it a little. First pass was just looking at the pictures. the complete woodworker is an absolutely great book. I’m reading the section on cutting dovetails now. I highly recommend it. Every time I open it, the wheel barrel project seems to call my name. Someday!!

-- Master hand plane hoarder. - http://timetestedtools.com

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12290 posts in 2763 days


#12 posted 09-15-2011 03:38 PM

I was trying to help you spend a bit more money…. lol How about Made by Hand?

http://www.amazon.com/Made-Hand-Furniture-Projects-Unplugged/dp/1558708952/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1316093844&sr=8-1

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View Don W's profile

Don W

15059 posts in 1233 days


#13 posted 09-15-2011 04:18 PM

Like I need help in that department. Thats been on my wish list, but no I don’t have it yest.

-- Master hand plane hoarder. - http://timetestedtools.com

View RGtools's profile

RGtools

3302 posts in 1320 days


#14 posted 09-16-2011 02:14 AM

Second the Made by hand recommend. It’s beautiful and it even smells good (good ink).

-- Make furniture that lasts as long as the tree - Ryan

View pariswoodworking's profile

pariswoodworking

380 posts in 1151 days


#15 posted 09-16-2011 06:59 AM

Thanks for the tip. I’ll put it on my list of books to get. :)

-- Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase