LumberJocks

The workbench book

  • Advertise with us
Review by mafe posted 09-09-2011 08:59 PM 2335 views 2 times favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
The workbench book No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

The workbench book
A craftsman’s guide to workbenches for every type of woodworking.
by: Scott Landis

ISBN-10: 1561582700
ISBN-13: 978-1561582709

A craftsman’s guide to workbenches for every type of woodworking. This part of the title is where this books really stands out. It is not just a how to build a fancy workbench and where to buy the hardware book, it is a real workbench book.

What do I mean by this?
Where some books are written for the hobbyist, then this book is a book written for the craftsman but is just as usefull for the hobbist.

Why?
Because it is a historical and craft documented book, it goes into the heart of the workbench, it tells you not what to do, but the different possibilities that you can chooses from and this even with in different trades, nationalities and ways of thinking – but it don’t hold your hand in the building of the bench, it is for you to take a choice and for you to design your own bench after your needs after reading the book.

Wonderful!
Yes I know I like that word, but this book is just that – wonderful. It is intelligent and it is one of those books that will become a classic in one hundred years also since it relates to the trades and not the producers that will be gone in ten to twenty years from now.

This book covers:
Different types of workbenches, Japanese, my favorite the Shaker bench, the Scandinavian types and many more, also the ‘Roubo’ type (I do not like that name, it should be called the old French type since he documented the bench and not invented it). All of them fine covered and with the different craftsmen and their experiences with the benches behind.
Also shaving horses, saw benches, carvers benches and holds and even the Workmate.

If you are thinking of building a workbench and would like to give it a personal touch relating to your own ideas this book is the book.

So I give this book five stars, this book is talking to your brain.

I love it, and I really have the build a workbench fever now, thank you for opening my eyes my fellow LJ’s.

Best thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.




View mafe's profile

mafe

9573 posts in 1784 days



14 comments so far

View AaronK's profile

AaronK

1398 posts in 2159 days


#1 posted 09-09-2011 09:07 PM

thanks for the review. I have this book too, and it provides a good history of various workbench forms. well written and worth checking out!

;-)

View mafe's profile

mafe

9573 posts in 1784 days


#2 posted 09-09-2011 09:44 PM

Thank you Aaron.

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View schuft's profile

schuft

122 posts in 1302 days


#3 posted 09-09-2011 10:15 PM

Thanks for the review. A real workbench is on my to-do list this winter.

View Sodabowski's profile

Sodabowski

2046 posts in 1528 days


#4 posted 09-09-2011 10:51 PM

Dude, you’re reading quite a bunch of books these days!

-- Holy scrap Barkman!

View PurpLev's profile

PurpLev

8476 posts in 2343 days


#5 posted 09-09-2011 10:59 PM

I’ll concur, one of the few workbenches book, and better than some. it does cover a lot in the book, and have some ideas and concepts that can be incorporated into bench designs. What I took from this book was adding a wagon vise to my workbench although I took the idea of my (sorry mads) ‘Roubo’ (might as well give him credit for documenting it) workbench from a different book.

This book is good and discusses many workbenches and their characteristics but what I felt was missing in this one though was more explanations on the ‘whys’ in reference to the design choices per workbench and the reasons for those design elements.

good book nonetheless.

-- ㊍ When in doubt - There is no doubt - Go the safer route.

View StumpyNubs's profile

StumpyNubs

6249 posts in 1495 days


#6 posted 09-10-2011 12:09 AM

Thanks for not mentioning you-know-who…

-- It's the best woodworking show since the invention of wood... New episodes at: http://www.stumpynubs.com

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2517 days


#7 posted 09-10-2011 02:33 AM

Thanks for the review, Mafe. I have a bench on my to-do list and it looks like this is one that I should be reading before getting started.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View Rick  Dennington's profile

Rick Dennington

3480 posts in 1889 days


#8 posted 09-10-2011 03:13 AM

Mads,
Thanks again for the review….. As I told you in the first go-round, I think it is an excellent book for the folks that are looking to build a bench, like Scott Bryan, to have on hand, and it’s good reading, too. I’ve had mine a long time, and still enjoy it….I took Ian Kirby’s design some years ago, and built his bench (not just like it), but the instructions were very helpful….Plus… I like looking at the pixs….:)

-- " I started with nothing, and I've still got most of it left".......

View nobuckle's profile

nobuckle

1120 posts in 1456 days


#9 posted 09-10-2011 04:10 AM

Thanks Mads. Would you be able to impart the ISBN? I am looking to build a bench in the near future and I need all the help I can get.

-- Doug - Make an effort to live by the slogan "We try harder"

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12295 posts in 2792 days


#10 posted 09-10-2011 04:14 AM

http://www.amazon.com/Workbench-Book-Craftsmans-Workbenches-Woodworking/dp/1561582700/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1315620821&sr=8-1

ISBN-10: 1561582700
ISBN-13: 978-1561582709

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View nobuckle's profile

nobuckle

1120 posts in 1456 days


#11 posted 09-10-2011 04:15 AM

Sweet. Thanks Wayne.

-- Doug - Make an effort to live by the slogan "We try harder"

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12295 posts in 2792 days


#12 posted 09-10-2011 04:22 AM

Np.

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View pariswoodworking's profile

pariswoodworking

380 posts in 1180 days


#13 posted 09-17-2011 05:13 AM

Mads, thanks for the review. I want this book now. :)

-- Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein

View Holt's profile

Holt

80 posts in 1324 days


#14 posted 06-23-2013 01:56 AM

I know this an old review, but I just got down to it so it’s new to me<g>. I think this is one of the better workbench books out there, but if you are really going to dig and obsess, you might as well get them all. They all have something to offer. The exception (brace yourself to be outraged) would be Chris Schwarz’s Workbench book. If you want to build his Roubo style bench, then that’s the only book you need. If you aren’t, then I don’t think it really offers you anything. Of course if you are going to spend years brooding over what bench to build, you might as well get his too, it is a good read.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase