LumberJocks

One good turn

  • Advertise with us
Review by mafe posted 09-08-2011 03:08 PM 1133 views 1 time favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch

Average rating: 5.0
1 review total
Add my Review

One good turn No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

One good turn
A natural history of the screwdriver & the screw.
By: Witold Rybczynski

This is a wonderful little book, the write set out to tell about the best tools of our millennium, and end up discovering and telling the history of the screw…

On this discovery we go back in time to the Romans, the Egyptians and we people like Leonardo and Archimedes all in a wonderful style of writing.

What is this book?
It is a serious documentation of the history of the screw, but told in a wonderful tone of humor and we are getting bombarded with fact about the inventions of the time, like lathes, braces and of course the screwdriver and the history about this tool that just seem so simple that it must have been there always we think.
The book can be read in an afternoon and has a few illustrations of old times to explain and document.

This is not a ‘how to’ book, it is a little poetic presentation of the history of the screw.

I found this book by accident on the local library, and am so happy it ended in the pile of books I brought home that day.

I give it five stars with no doubt.

Best thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.




View mafe's profile

mafe

9690 posts in 1842 days



9 comments so far

View racerglen's profile

racerglen

2400 posts in 1533 days


#1 posted 09-08-2011 03:20 PM

Got a copy for Christmas a couple of years ago.. Couldn’t agree more with the review Mads.

-- Glen, Vernon B.C. Canada

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

16043 posts in 1619 days


#2 posted 09-08-2011 03:25 PM

Mads, you sure do come up with some good things. Thanks for what you do.

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View patron's profile (online now)

patron

13182 posts in 2094 days


#3 posted 09-08-2011 05:27 PM

good to know mads

thanks

having been screwed a few times

i will have to read this
and see how to get over that better

-- david - only thru kindness can this world be whole . If we don't succeed we run the risk of failure. Dan Quayle

View dbray45's profile

dbray45

2618 posts in 1529 days


#4 posted 09-08-2011 05:33 PM

It is on my wish list

-- David in Damascus, MD

View Gary Roberts's profile

Gary Roberts

140 posts in 1774 days


#5 posted 09-08-2011 06:34 PM

I’ll back Mads on this one too. It’s a great read, informative, funny and definitely something you’ve likely never thought about.

-- Gary Roberts, http://toolemera.com

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

12383 posts in 1858 days


#6 posted 09-08-2011 07:56 PM

Being as I do not have the book, I think it would be nice if you read us a few passages from time to time.
Who used the screw for the first time- like where and when was the idea born?

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View doordude's profile

doordude

1085 posts in 1735 days


#7 posted 09-09-2011 12:53 AM

Mad f, you have been reading some interesting books lately. thanks for the tip, next time i’m in the library i’ll look for it.
i like patron’s comment we’ve all been screwed in unusual ways; nice to get the history aspect

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1868 days


#8 posted 09-11-2011 11:12 PM

and I have a loose screw too so I better have to read it too …..I think … maybe

thankĀ“s Mads :-)

Dennis

View mafe's profile

mafe

9690 posts in 1842 days


#9 posted 09-11-2011 11:53 PM

Hi guys,
Like the book are a bit crazy in a wonderful way, so are yor comments,
Thank you!
Best of my thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase