LumberJocks

Veritas Cornering tool

  • Advertise with us
Review by TopamaxSurvivor posted 09-03-2011 07:27 AM 3166 views 1 time favorited 17 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Veritas Cornering tool No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I have had this tool for a few years. I use it quit a bit. I never seem to like the feel of it, just me I guess. It works very well if I keep my wits about myself. If I don’t, I end up cutting into the grain opening a big sliver on the edge I am trying to round over. The two tools have 4 radius options, 1/16, 1/8, 3/16 and 1/4. I usually opt for one of the smaller ones. Tonight I was breaking the edge on a pine shelf board. It does a good job very quickly and saves setting up the router, burning the edges making more work for myself ;-)) I’m giving it 5 starts for an economical tool that does a good job very quickly and with very little effort.

Edit: I am surprised it has not been reviewed before!!

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence




View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

15076 posts in 2424 days



17 comments so far

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1388 days


#1 posted 09-03-2011 09:11 AM

Perfect Timing and great review. I have never seen these, but this very night while building a lathe stand, I tried to round over around the corner (at the router table) on a piece of 2×6 and it both chunked out and burned it. I had to sand it to make it a little better.

I will be adding this to the arsenal. Thanks.

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

View AttainableApex's profile

AttainableApex

338 posts in 1581 days


#2 posted 09-03-2011 10:46 AM

ya i have seen these and always wondered.

-- Ben L

View racerglen's profile

racerglen

2393 posts in 1529 days


#3 posted 09-03-2011 11:38 AM

Picked up two sets some years ago, a clone set from a bbs that realy worked well, and still does, then the Veritas set..both work like a darn..gee just realized, not a “few” years ago, I used then for porch rail roundovers on the new house..21 years ago.. From my Stanly research, looks like another design resurected for today’s user and very well done as well. a bit challenging to resharpen though.

-- Glen, Vernon B.C. Canada

View ajosephg's profile

ajosephg

1860 posts in 2309 days


#4 posted 09-03-2011 11:48 AM

Thanks

I’ve also wondered about these.

-- Joe

View Toolz's profile

Toolz

1003 posts in 2490 days


#5 posted 09-03-2011 01:06 PM

I’ve had mine since about 1997. Use them constantly. Like you said much faster than setting up the router table. You just really have to pay attention to grain direction or you will screw up your edge. Thanks for the review.

-- Larry "Work like a Captain but Play like a Pirate!"

View Karson's profile

Karson

34915 posts in 3149 days


#6 posted 09-03-2011 03:23 PM

Great review on a nice small tool.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View patron's profile

patron

13171 posts in 2089 days


#7 posted 09-03-2011 03:34 PM

got them too

and like Toolz

watch the grain direction

-- david - only thru kindness can this world be whole . If we don't succeed we run the risk of failure. Dan Quayle

View jerrells's profile

jerrells

867 posts in 1633 days


#8 posted 09-03-2011 03:44 PM

I have had a set for about two years and they are perfect to grap and knock off corners. I really like them. YES, grain direction will bite you so go lightly at first.

-- Just learning the craft my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ practiced.

View jimp's profile

jimp

207 posts in 2509 days


#9 posted 09-03-2011 07:26 PM

Thanks for the review.

How hard are they to sharpen?

-- - Jim, Carroll, OH

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

15076 posts in 2424 days


#10 posted 09-03-2011 07:34 PM

They sharpen faily well with a curved slip stone.

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

15076 posts in 2424 days


#11 posted 09-03-2011 07:37 PM

I might add, I have not used them on hardwood like oak but a time or 2. If I had a lot of hardwood to round off, I would probably use my router. Maybe some of the other guys have more experience with hard wood??

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1863 days


#12 posted 09-03-2011 11:19 PM

thank´s for the rewiew :-)

Dennis

View joseff's profile

joseff

44 posts in 1522 days


#13 posted 09-04-2011 06:27 AM

Thanks for the review. I got mine about two months ago and they work fine with me. You really have to watch where you’re going as to grain direction.

I’ve already used them on Ebony and they worked pretty well as soon as I discovered the grain direction amid the darkness of the wood.

View studie's profile

studie

618 posts in 1895 days


#14 posted 09-04-2011 06:44 AM

Not like em, but that was 15 years ago. I don’t think I new about the grain direction then so will dig them out and sharpen em up. I guess starting out with the 1/16 would show you the grain issues before going w/larger sizes.

-- $tudie

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

15076 posts in 2424 days


#15 posted 09-04-2011 07:43 AM

When did you start wood working Scot? I thought you were a lifelong carpenter/woodworker? If you are going very fast where the grain switches on you, you can raise a bad sliver real quick!! I ususlly watch for grain swaps and go both ways around it.

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

showing 1 through 15 of 17 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase