LumberJocks

Tools: Working Wood in Eighteenth-Century America

  • Advertise with us
Review by mafe posted 08-20-2011 07:14 PM 1228 views 2 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Tools: Working Wood in Eighteenth-Century America No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Tools: Working Wood in Eighteenth-Century America
By: James M. Gaynor, Nancy L. Hagedorn

ISBN-10: 0879350989
ISBN-13: 978-0879350987

This is a really interesting book telling and illustrating for us the history of woodworking tools in America (and Europe since it was where it came from).
The author’s document in a interesting way how the tools were traded, sold and show us selected tools of each period.
It is a orgy of wonderful old tools, tool boxes, tool chest’s and paintings, and through all this we get a glimpse of what happened, of the origin and

The book is around 100 pages so it is not a deeply going history book, but it gives you a fine understanding and a base to start from if you are interested in the historic side of wood working or perhaps like I have a soft spot for beautiful old tools full of soul, then I highly recommend it.

The best thoughts,

MaFe

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.




View mafe's profile

mafe

9549 posts in 1747 days



10 comments so far

View racerglen's profile

racerglen

2303 posts in 1438 days


#1 posted 08-20-2011 08:12 PM

Don’t we all have that soft spot ?

;-}

-- Glen, Vernon B.C. Canada

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1773 days


#2 posted 08-20-2011 09:33 PM

ha ha Glen :-)
thank´s for the rewiew Mads :-)
this will be on the wishlist from now on …......a historic picturebook is always nice to have :-)

take care
Dennis

View poopiekat's profile

poopiekat

3634 posts in 2392 days


#3 posted 08-20-2011 11:29 PM

Thank You for including the ISBN numbers. Makes ordering a copy so much easier!

-- Einstein: "The intuitive mind is a sacred gift, and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift." I'm Poopiekat!!

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12290 posts in 2755 days


#4 posted 08-21-2011 06:23 AM

It looks like a pretty good book.

Amazon link is
http://www.amazon.com/Tools-Working-Eighteenth-Century-Decorative-Publications/dp/0879350989/ref=reg_hu-rd_add_1_dp

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View RGtools's profile

RGtools

3302 posts in 1312 days


#5 posted 08-21-2011 05:49 PM

I will have to wander through these pages.

You have been reading quite a bit lately, thanks for sharing your thoughts.

-- Make furniture that lasts as long as the tree - Ryan

View mafe's profile

mafe

9549 posts in 1747 days


#6 posted 08-21-2011 07:37 PM

Hi ho,
I have not been reading so much lately, just thought I needed to review some of the books I have read, I still have a good bunch of un reviewed books on the table, so more will come, I just need to be able to breathe again after my Anarchistic review… lol.
I have a big smile here today, thanks to you guys,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View RGtools's profile

RGtools

3302 posts in 1312 days


#7 posted 08-22-2011 02:21 AM

This is a good place to come for those who make you smile.

I hope some reviews on a few Underhill books are in the works. Based on your reviews lately I will make a recommend for Made By Hand, Furniture Projects from the Unplugged workshop, by Tom Fidgen.

-- Make furniture that lasts as long as the tree - Ryan

View mafe's profile

mafe

9549 posts in 1747 days


#8 posted 08-22-2011 09:17 AM

Looking forward to read that.
Best thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

15814 posts in 1524 days


#9 posted 08-22-2011 01:19 PM

Thanks, Mads, it sounds like a very interesting book.

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View dbray45's profile

dbray45

2505 posts in 1434 days


#10 posted 08-22-2011 02:18 PM

Thanks Mads, I will have to take a look at this book.

-- David in Damascus, MD

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase