LumberJocks

Permatex Painter's Clean Hand Cleaner with Pumice

  • Advertise with us
Review by David Grimes posted 08-08-2011 09:49 AM 2095 views 1 time favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Permatex Painter's Clean Hand Cleaner with Pumice No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Like most of us, I get into different stuff that requires a bit more than soap and water to get off my hands and forearms. For as long as I can remember I’ve used the gojo, orange cleaner with pumice, mineral spirits, sometimes acetone, even gasoline to get the various stains, finishes and glues off.

A couple of weeks ago, I was in the local Sherwin Williams paint store and saw this product for $3.49. I asked the manager if it was good stuff. He laughed and said that he couldn’t keep it on the shelf and that the Sherwin Williams employees use it as well. So I got one of the remaining two.

Thus far, it has easily removed oil-based spray primer, oil-based spray and brushed enamel, MinWax stain, BLO, and spray and brushed urethane clear.

I like it best because you rub the non-flammable and non-toxic cleaner only into your hands, then either rinse with water and wipe dry or just wipe dry if not too much of a mess. I eventually throw the towel away with no worries about spontaneous combustion, etc.

I do recommend this product.

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia




View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1298 days



8 comments so far

View mafe's profile

mafe

9549 posts in 1747 days


#1 posted 08-08-2011 01:44 PM

We need clean hands so we will not mess up the nice wood.
;-)
Best thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1298 days


#2 posted 08-08-2011 09:06 PM

@mafe, and the current thread about the finger staining from woods is what prompted me to share this product as a review. One thing leads to another, it seems.

Regards,

DG

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

View ward63's profile

ward63

318 posts in 1745 days


#3 posted 08-09-2011 03:35 PM

Can it be used a as a paint remover or paint stripper? Now that would be great!

View rrdesigns's profile

rrdesigns

494 posts in 1844 days


#4 posted 08-14-2011 03:51 PM

Thanks. I live in a paint filled world. I’ll definitely give this product a try.

-- Beth, Oklahoma, Rambling Road Designs

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1298 days


#5 posted 08-15-2011 05:16 AM

Update: I just used this last night to clean my hands that were completely soaked with Minwax Dark Mahogany Stain. First application got 90% or so. Second got the rest except around the edges of my fingernails, but after rinsing I immediately wiped each with a terry cloth shop towel and it all came out / off.

Look, Mom ! No solvents !

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

View DamnYankee's profile

DamnYankee

3235 posts in 1220 days


#6 posted 09-13-2011 03:00 AM

Thanks for the review, I too will need to look for this stuff. Do you know if it is only available at Sherwin Williams or can we get other places?

-- Shameless - Winner of two Stumpy Nubs Awards

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1298 days


#7 posted 09-13-2011 04:55 AM

At Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Permatex-65108-Painters-Squeeze-Bottle/dp/B004PGU7QW/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1315882507&sr=8-4

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

View Grandpa's profile

Grandpa

3136 posts in 1333 days


#8 posted 09-13-2011 05:05 AM

I use a Permatex product sold at Auto Zone. It has Orange scent in it. It has pumice and cleans great. I started using it about 20 years ago before Sherwin Williams came to my town.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase