LumberJocks

"THE" Online Woodworking Community!

  • Advertise with us
Review by MsDebbieP posted 03-01-2008 12:48 AM 1483 views 0 times favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
"THE" Online Woodworking Community! No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

LumberJocks.com is “the” place to be if you are working with the wood, like to look at items made from wood, or are considering working with wood.

PROS
  • members run the spectrum from beginners to master craftsmen
  • members are women, men, and youth from around the world, bringing different perspectives and different skills
  • the site is easy to navigate, and provides the opportunity to share information and inspirations
  • the Founder, Martin Sojka, is quick to react to suggestions and difficulties met by the members
  • the Reviews feature provides a “hands-on” perspective of tools used by real woodworkers in real shops and not just by advertisements
  • equivalent or better than many woodworking magazines: with articles, tutorials, tips & strategies, tool reviews, projects plans and a little humour thrown in here and there
  • the camaraderie amongst the members is like a close-knit family sitting around the dining room table, laughing, challenging each other, and sharing wisdom and tips with each other
  • the sister site, GardenTenders, is equally as impressive and I can’t wait to see the new Home renovation site
CONS
  • I wish I could keep up with all the postings and read every comment posted!

Overall: 5+ STARS

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)




View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2814 days



15 comments so far

View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2642 days


#1 posted 03-01-2008 12:54 AM

I agree 100% Debbie!

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View Dick, & Barb Cain's profile

Dick, & Barb Cain

8693 posts in 2953 days


#2 posted 03-01-2008 01:00 AM

YA! sure you betcha!

-- -** You are never to old to set another goal or to dream a new dream ****************** Dick, & Barb Cain, Hibbing, MN. http://www.woodcarvingillustrated.com/gallery/member.php?uid=3627&protype=1

View ND2ELK's profile

ND2ELK

13495 posts in 2428 days


#3 posted 03-01-2008 02:30 AM

You All Come! Nice group of people, always getting new ideas and it can get addictive. Better than drugs and booze!

-- Mc Bridge Cabinets, Iowa

View grovemadman's profile

grovemadman

556 posts in 2426 days


#4 posted 03-01-2008 03:30 AM

I agree, great place to hang if your into wood.

-- --Chuck

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6648 posts in 2633 days


#5 posted 03-01-2008 05:09 AM

Hi Ms. Debbie;

I’ve noticed lately that the inflow of emails I’m getting are impossible to keep up with. I’m falling behind at an alarming rate!

The snowball effect happening here is both good and bad. By the time I respond to postings, they’re already old news.

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2814 days


#6 posted 03-01-2008 12:05 PM

I know.. but.. when you respond, it brings it back up to the top, so that is good!!

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2476 days


#7 posted 03-01-2008 01:32 PM

I agree with Lee. It is good that the responses bring it back to the top but this creates another post to review.

So many posts, so little time. I may have to give up woodworking in order to keep up with the reviews.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View rikkor's profile

rikkor

11295 posts in 2528 days


#8 posted 03-01-2008 01:42 PM

The inflow of knowledge and experience available here is like trying to get a drink of water from a fire hose.

View Thos. Angle's profile

Thos. Angle

4435 posts in 2616 days


#9 posted 03-01-2008 02:01 PM

I’m afraid that this place has become a part of my life, a good part.I can’t keep up any more so i just skim along and see what I see. I consider that I have quite a few friends here and I enjoy their company. Thank you Martin.

-- Thos. Angle, Jordan Valley, Oregon

View brunob's profile

brunob

2275 posts in 2823 days


#10 posted 03-01-2008 03:45 PM

Ditto to all.

-- Bruce from Central New York...now, if you'll pardon me, I have some sawdust to make.

View PanamaJack's profile

PanamaJack

4473 posts in 2731 days


#11 posted 03-01-2008 04:24 PM

Yes to all the above Debbie.

-- Carpe Lignum; Tornare Lignum (Seize the wood, to Turn the wood)

View Dick, & Barb Cain's profile

Dick, & Barb Cain

8693 posts in 2953 days


#12 posted 03-01-2008 07:06 PM

I’m like Lee, & ThosAngle, I have a hard time keeping up.

Lately I’ve been picking out things that interest me the most.

I especially enjoy the forums. I like to give advice on things, if at all possible.

-- -** You are never to old to set another goal or to dream a new dream ****************** Dick, & Barb Cain, Hibbing, MN. http://www.woodcarvingillustrated.com/gallery/member.php?uid=3627&protype=1

View Dakkar's profile

Dakkar

297 posts in 581 days


#13 posted 02-18-2013 06:37 PM

I just recently discovered LumberJocks and I have to say the only downside is that it’s so fun and interesting I can blow way too much time here. I may have to start rationing time spent, but it’s definitely a new daily stop.

View skiler's profile

skiler

34 posts in 609 days


#14 posted 10-08-2013 10:00 PM

A hearty AMEN! to that. I really enjoy this site!

View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2814 days


#15 posted 10-08-2013 10:54 PM

thanks, Skiler :)

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase