LumberJocks

Zona Razor Saws - Complete Set from 14 to 52 TPI plus 4-in-1 and Alum. Miter Set

  • Advertise with us
Review by David Grimes posted 07-08-2011 09:13 AM 3509 views 1 time favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Zona Razor Saws - Complete Set from 14 to 52 TPI plus 4-in-1 and Alum. Miter Set Zona Razor Saws - Complete Set from 14 to 52 TPI plus 4-in-1 and Alum. Miter Set Zona Razor Saws - Complete Set from 14 to 52 TPI plus 4-in-1 and Alum. Miter Set Click the pictures to enlarge them

I got the 8” dovetail saw first. I liked it, so got the 4-in-1 and the Deluxe Saw and Miter set next. Again, I was impressed. so much so that I recently purchased the rest of them from 14 TPI to 52 TPI. I should be set for awhile on small razor saws.

These feel good to hold and use in my chub hands. They are very sharp, cut quickly and extremely cleanly. They are pretty much disposable (the blades can’t be replaced), but I am certain they will last me and my little projects many years. They are not expensive (probably average around $7 each), so not a huge investment.

If you do decide to try one or more, I wouldn’t let the Deluxe handle versus the regular handle hold much sway. They are both equally solid, don’t move and are comfortable to hold. The Deluxe handle is 5 1/4” long and the standard is 4 3/4” long. Both are a fist full, which is all that is needed.

I do recommend these saws for detail tasks, small projects and modeling type work.

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia




View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1395 days



8 comments so far

View mafe's profile

mafe

9693 posts in 1844 days


#1 posted 07-08-2011 02:12 PM

Thank you for the review, I also recomend them for small tasks.
But as a regular dove tail saw I think one must step up.
Best thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View RogerBean's profile

RogerBean

1302 posts in 1708 days


#2 posted 07-08-2011 03:50 PM

I second. These little saws are among the best I have found and sharp as a razor. I have a separate dovetail saw, but I have a couple of these little guys that are always close at hand for small work. For my box work they are perfect. Great value.
Roger

-- "Everybody makes mistakes. A craftsman always fixes them." (Monty Kennedy, "The Checkering and Carving of Gunstocks", 1952)

View bigike's profile

bigike

4035 posts in 2043 days


#3 posted 07-08-2011 04:24 PM

Where did you get them from I found a couple on ebay but I don’t think it’s all of them, which is what I wanted after mafe posted info about one of them?
Thanks for the review!

-- Ike, Big Daddies Woodshop, http://www.icombadaniels@yahoo.com

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12302 posts in 2852 days


#4 posted 07-08-2011 05:42 PM

I have seen the saws in local hobby shops and I believe in Home Depot. There are also a bunch of them on Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=zona+saw

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View ward63's profile

ward63

327 posts in 1842 days


#5 posted 07-09-2011 04:07 AM

Thanks for the review. For a dovetail saw I’d recommend the “Razor” Dozuki. The miter box looks nice but if its aluminum it will shear the teeth off those saws quickly.

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1395 days


#6 posted 07-09-2011 04:18 AM

@Ward63, You are right about the aluminum miter box, but a sacrificial piece of 3/32 helps soften the landing.

I got all my saws from http://www.zonatool.net/

They currently have free shipping on orders over $50 US

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

View AaronK's profile

AaronK

1399 posts in 2219 days


#7 posted 07-14-2011 03:17 PM

david – do you find that you need to have the whole product range? If I want to get just 1 or 2, which would you recommend?

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1395 days


#8 posted 07-14-2011 06:20 PM

@AaronK, Of course just get what you need. Which ones depends on what you intend to do with it.

BTW, I don’t have the entire product range. Most models have optional TPI.

Using blade thickness and TPI as the variables, I strategically ordered my set to cover each combination just once. No overlap or duplication. I am guessing my “set” is only about 1/3 of the whole product range.

I will do the same (though there will be less of them) with the larger Shark saws soon.

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase