LumberJocks

Triton MOF001KC 2-1/4 HP Plunge Router

  • Advertise with us
Review by woodmaker posted 06-30-2011 04:48 PM 4819 views 1 time favorited 21 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Triton MOF001KC 2-1/4 HP Plunge Router No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I am so impressed with this router.
I was looking for a permanent under the table router, but I didn’t want to pay $200 + for the router and another $300 + for a router lift. The Triton includes the crank handle. just drill the hole for it, insert crank and raise and lower. I also like the fact that the collet is automatically locked at full height making bit changes really easy. The only thing I wish for (and from any router co.) is that they include a template to help affix to the router plate. I got a little off on my drilling and ended up buying a new router plate.
When I heard about this router and read the reviews here at Lumber jock (and elsewhere) I jumped right on it.
I paid $299.00 at Wood Craft in Franklin Tenn.

I thought about the 31/4 hp router but don’t feel that I would be needing anything that heavy; at least for right now.

-- Mike




View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

265 posts in 1358 days



21 comments so far

View Bertha's profile

Bertha

12951 posts in 1360 days


#1 posted 06-30-2011 05:03 PM

I’ve got the 3 1/4 under a table and you’re right, it’s heavy. I had to drill my router plate for the riser handle but that’s a lot better than buying a lift. I love mine. I honestly thing the extra power is overkill.

-- My dad and I built a 65 chev pick up.I killed trannys in that thing for some reason-Hog

View skippyland's profile

skippyland

158 posts in 1358 days


#2 posted 06-30-2011 07:04 PM

Baaaad News…this exact model JUST was advertised at WC for 159.95 for this weekend….at least in western NY. sorry.

-- Skip from Batavia, purveyor of fine and exotic sawdust & chips.

View Ollie's profile

Ollie

146 posts in 1941 days


#3 posted 06-30-2011 07:23 PM

I have one of these in 3 1/4 hp. It has been in my router table since I bought it, it has never complained or faltered once no matter what wood or cutter.
Interestingly though before I installed it in the table, I tried it with the fence which is an odd design but works very well indeed.

-- Ollie, UK.

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

265 posts in 1358 days


#4 posted 06-30-2011 08:54 PM

skippyland thanks for that; I don’t fell bad though because whenever I buy something it is NEVER on sale. :-(

I always ask to; are you having a sale on this any time soon.

-- Mike

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2352 posts in 1550 days


#5 posted 06-30-2011 09:22 PM

I have this router too, and love it. Good purchase!

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

View Bertha's profile

Bertha

12951 posts in 1360 days


#6 posted 06-30-2011 09:27 PM

Ollie, I’ve got the big one too; that fence is indeed quite strange; so strange that I’ve never tried it; mine went out of the box and under the table.

-- My dad and I built a 65 chev pick up.I killed trannys in that thing for some reason-Hog

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1307 days


#7 posted 06-30-2011 11:29 PM

2 1/4 here, too and could not be more pleased. Love the crank lift.

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

View hokieman's profile

hokieman

163 posts in 2421 days


#8 posted 07-01-2011 03:43 AM

If you are using the crank lift, then make sure you follow the instructions and take the plunge spring out. Triton had a lot of customer complaints about these failing and it was traced back to folks leaving the spring in when using the router in a router table application.

View thiel's profile

thiel

359 posts in 1959 days


#9 posted 07-01-2011 04:58 AM

On sale at Woodcraft in Western MA as well… I would return it and “rebuy” at the lower price.

Have this router and love it. Better still, the company stands behind their products.

-- Laziness minus Apathy equals Efficiency

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

14978 posts in 1856 days


#10 posted 07-01-2011 11:18 AM

I had the 2 1/4 and upgraded to the 3 1/4 Love this thing. Only draw back is there is only one place in the country that service them and its in Michigan. They were helpful when I had problems with the smaller one,
It caught fire. The head of Triton R&D contacted me from oversees and was helpful and very interested in taking it apart to see what went wrong.

Read these posts if interested.

http://lumberjocks.com/reviews/1831

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1307 days


#11 posted 07-01-2011 11:21 AM

I hear triton is relocating manufacturing to US. I was told by Woodcraft that was the cause of the 3 1/4 backorder.

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

265 posts in 1358 days


#12 posted 07-01-2011 02:09 PM

Thiel I”ve had it too long to return it.
Hokieman, the spring is out. :-)
ken90712 I read your post and was another reason I bought mine, what great customer service that is.

Tomorrow I set up my new Grizzly G0690 table saw; can’t wait, sometimes work just gets in the way. :-)

-- Mike

View jim C's profile

jim C

1452 posts in 1765 days


#13 posted 07-01-2011 03:43 PM

Ditto to all the lovers of this router.

http://lumberjocks.com/projects/24508

-- When I was a boy, I was told "anyone can be President", now I'm beginning to believe it!

View Bertha's profile

Bertha

12951 posts in 1360 days


#14 posted 07-01-2011 03:59 PM

Uh oh, my spring’s in. Better have a look tonight.

-- My dad and I built a 65 chev pick up.I killed trannys in that thing for some reason-Hog

View edvan22's profile

edvan22

2 posts in 1273 days


#15 posted 07-02-2011 01:25 AM

Ahhh horrible timing on posting your review! I have had the 3 1/4 model on order with woodcraft since March. The delivery date keeps getting pushed back and then this week following the woodcraft vendor show/sales meeting, the owner of my local store called to say he didn’t have much confidence that they would ever get them. He has a 2 1/4 model in stock and I can return “mine” and go for the 2 1/4 or just cancel the order.

I had just literally talked myself out of the Triton and into the new Hitachi M12VE (was planning on going to the store to do the return tomorrow morning) and I see this review. It does seem like a nice machine and while I’d love the 3.25HP, my main concern was that if it’s been so hard to get the units, how hard will it be to get parts etc.. All the positive feedback from you guys is causing me to do some additional pondering.

So in all seriousness, thanks for the review – it’s definitely a help when buying new tools!

showing 1 through 15 of 21 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase