LumberJocks

Popular Woodworking The New Traditional Woodworker by Jim Tolpin

  • Advertise with us
Review by WayneC posted 05-07-2011 04:21 AM 2327 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Popular Woodworking The New Traditional Woodworker by Jim Tolpin No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I recieved this book in the mail after pre-ordering on Amazon.com. It is all I hoped it would be. The book is well written and full of great photography. It covers the workshop, workbenches, hand tools, and runs you through a set of projects to make shop aids while demonstrating techniques for use of a very wide range of hand tools.

I’m sure I will make a number of the projects in the book before it is all said and done. The book was released on May 4th and you can find it at Amazon by following the link below.

http://www.amazon.com/New-Traditional-Woodworker-Tool-Skill/dp/1440304289/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1304734205&sr=8-1#_

The following is a list of projects in the book

Straitedge
Try Square
Winding Sticks
Face Planing Stop
Bench Hook Pair
Edge Plaining Stop
Stickering Board
Workbench Tote
Oiling Pad
Diagional Testing Stick
Vice for Sharpening Saws and Scrapers
Sawbench Pair
Waste Backing Block
Drawing Bows
Sticking Board for Dowels

Looking forward to seeing some of these projects posted on the site. Have a great weekend.

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov




View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12302 posts in 2843 days



9 comments so far

View Dave's profile

Dave

11205 posts in 1586 days


#1 posted 05-07-2011 04:32 AM

Thanks Wayne, I am so leery about buying a book online. I like to a least grab a quick glance at the contents. Thanks for the review. And a very interesting list of projects;)

-- Superdav "No matter where you go - there you are." http://chiselandforge.com

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1861 days


#2 posted 05-07-2011 11:07 AM

thankĀ“s for the rewiew Wayne

Dennis

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

16033 posts in 1613 days


#3 posted 05-07-2011 02:51 PM

Thanks, I’ll probably get it around the corner. I just ordered some more chip carving books so I’ll have to hold off for a month or so.

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View Tim Dahn's profile

Tim Dahn

1479 posts in 2311 days


#4 posted 05-07-2011 03:49 PM

Thanks for the review Wayne, this looks like one to pick up.

-- Good judgement comes from experience and experience comes from poor judgement.

View Jimi_C's profile

Jimi_C

507 posts in 1981 days


#5 posted 05-07-2011 07:08 PM

I’ve been hearing good things about this book, so you’ve convinced me to go ahead and get it. Wife just got 3 books, I figure I’m due one :)

-- The difference between being defeated and admitting defeat is what makes all the difference in the world - Upton Sinclair, "The Jungle"

View mafe's profile

mafe

9670 posts in 1835 days


#6 posted 05-09-2011 12:18 AM

Might be on my wish list.

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12302 posts in 2843 days


#7 posted 05-11-2011 08:04 PM

Here is a link to another review of the book.

http://lumberjocks.com/reviews/2102

Mads, I think it is right up your alley…

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View Tim Kindrick's profile

Tim Kindrick

369 posts in 1300 days


#8 posted 08-03-2011 12:29 AM

Jim Tolpin is the best!!!!! Thanks Wayne, I look forward to reading this book!!!!!!

-- I have metal in my neck but wood in my blood!!

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12302 posts in 2843 days


#9 posted 08-03-2011 01:06 AM

Between Jim and Christopher Schwarz, you will get a full shot of galoot juice.

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase