LumberJocks

Makita LCT209 12volt Drill/Driver Combo Kit

  • Advertise with us
Review by Gord Graff posted 01-23-2011 03:17 PM 6468 views 1 time favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Makita LCT209 12volt Drill/Driver Combo Kit No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Makita LCT 209 Combo Kit:

Does size really matter? It does when you’re using a cordless drill or driver all day or when you find yourself working over your head or in tight spaces, like building or installing kitchen cabinets.

Makita recently introduced its 12 volt, LCT 209 12volt Combo Kit that includes the 3/8” Drill (model #FD02), the ¼” Impact Driver (model #DT01) and the battery charger (model #DC10WB) and what a combination it is. A versatile, light weight, well balanced combination that has plenty of power to tackle most applications.

I’ve used this combo kit extensively for the last few months and I’ve yet to come to a situation that either one of these tools wasn’t capable of handling. From building and installing cabinets to renovation framing, this combo kit has been able to handle it all.

The power to weight ratio of this combo is typical of what you would find in a Makita cordless tool, plenty of power in a well balance tool that’s a pleasure to use all day. Is this combo kit the answer to “all” cordless drill/driver applications, no……………..no one cordless tool will satisfy every application but this combo kit has exceeded my expatiations for a 12volt combo kit. The combo kit’s battery charger charges a completely dead battery to fully charged in 30 minutes and the drill and driver both have an onboard LED light that is a lot more handy than you would think it is.

Below you’ll find a short video of the combo kit in action. Driving a 2 ½” long # 8 deck screw into a piece of 2” x 3 ½” Beech without a pilot hole. First the impact driver drives this 2 1/2” screw and then the drill drives the same size screw into this slab of Beech. After that, I chucked a (somewhat dull) 3/8” brad point drill bit into the drill and bore a hole through the Beech, all with no effort.

The ease at which this combo kit handles these tasks and so much more is what still has be reaching for these tools every time I need a cordless drill or driver.

All the best
Gord

Model No: LCT209 Combo Kit Includes:

1/4” Cordless Impact Driver (DT01Z)

3/8” Cordless Driver Drill (FD02Z)

2 Ea. 12V (1.3Ah) Li-Ion Batteries BL1014 (195332-9)

Charger DC10WB (DC10WB)

Aluminum Carrying Case (823308-3)

Impact Driver (DT01Z) Specifications:

Battery……………………………………..12V (1.3 Ah) Li-Ion

Hex Shank…………………………………1/4”

No Load Speed………………………….0-2400 RPM

Impacts Per Minute…………………..0-3000 IPM

Maximum Torque………………………800 in. lbs. (90 Nm)

Overall Length…………………………..6 1/8” (155mm)

Net Weight………………………………..2.0lbs (0.9kg)

_


3/8” Cordless Driver Drill (FD02Z) Specifications:

Battery……………………….12V (1.3 Ah) Li-Ion

Capacities:

Steel………………………….3/8” (10mm)

Wood…………………………13/16” (21mm)

Maximum Torque……………200 in. lib. (22N m)

No Load Speed:

Low……………………………0-350 RPM

High……………………………0-1300 RPM

Overall Length………………..7 7/16” (180 mm)

Net Weight…………………….2.2 lbs (1.0 kg)

-- Informing & Inspiring Today’s Woodworkers: http://www.gordgraff.com




View Gord Graff's profile

Gord Graff

140 posts in 2553 days



9 comments so far

View milesmiles's profile

milesmiles

6 posts in 1926 days


#1 posted 01-23-2011 03:46 PM

Gord——-I appreciate your review and the time you spent preparing it and laying it out with complete specs. Video clip really helps as well. Did you do any shopping between the comparable Milwuakee kit? Thanks!

-- Miles

View Gord Graff's profile

Gord Graff

140 posts in 2553 days


#2 posted 01-23-2011 04:02 PM

Hello Miles,

Thanks for your kind words.

This review was a simple straight forward, stand alone review of what this combo kit was all about. I chose not to compare it to the many others that are out there in the marketplace today.

When I say that I’d been working with this combo kit for months, I should have said that I beat it up for the last several months…..................this kit took the abuse I gave it and came back for more. Great package on a small platform.

All the best
Gord

-- Informing & Inspiring Today’s Woodworkers: http://www.gordgraff.com

View ChrisForthofer's profile

ChrisForthofer

150 posts in 1725 days


#3 posted 01-23-2011 04:43 PM

Wow, those little tools have some grunt, I have the impact drivers 18V bigger brother and am constantly staggered by how much torque it puts out. The 12v was very impressive for its size I must say. When money starts growing on trees again I will possibly have to get both ;)

Chris.

-- -Director of slipshod craftsmanship and attention deficit woodworking

View Gord Graff's profile

Gord Graff

140 posts in 2553 days


#4 posted 01-23-2011 06:30 PM

Hi Chris,

I have owned a number of cordless drills/drivers over the years and this small combo kit just fits right into my hands and does everything I’ve asked it to do and more. Once again I say, a great package on a small platform.

All the best
Gord

-- Informing & Inspiring Today’s Woodworkers: http://www.gordgraff.com

View BTKS's profile

BTKS

1967 posts in 2123 days


#5 posted 01-23-2011 07:50 PM

Good review.
I’ve been more than pleased with every Makita tool I’ve purchased, corded and cordless.
BTKS

-- "Man's ingenuity has outrun his intelligence" (Joseph Wood Krutch)

View ND2ELK's profile

ND2ELK

13495 posts in 2432 days


#6 posted 01-23-2011 08:01 PM

I have a 4 piece Makita cordless kit and like them very much. Good tools!

-- Mc Bridge Cabinets, Iowa

View Drew's profile

Drew

136 posts in 1758 days


#7 posted 01-24-2011 05:42 PM

Pretty much the same thing as the Makita LCT203W 10.8-Volt kit.
They both appear to use the SAME 3 cell, 1.3ah battery. The LCT203W is rated at 10.8 volts, 3.6 votls per cell, while the LCT 209 that you are reviewing is rated at 4 volts. Which would be a ‘max/peak’ voltage.

I really think that other then the color and the chuck on the drill that these are the same drivers. All the stats are the same….

RPM, Torque, Impacts per minute and the amper/hours are all the same.
I bet the charger is the same too. DC10WB-vs-DC10WA

Not to take anything away from this set of drivers. I have the 10.8’s and use them everyday.

-- That men do not learn very much from the lessons of history is the most important of all the lessons that history has to teach.” ― Aldous Huxley

View Drew's profile

Drew

136 posts in 1758 days


#8 posted 01-24-2011 05:44 PM

I should also add that Bosch’s 12 volt is the exact same thing as there 10.8 volt drill. Only difference is the sticker!

-- That men do not learn very much from the lessons of history is the most important of all the lessons that history has to teach.” ― Aldous Huxley

View JeremyM's profile

JeremyM

18 posts in 1337 days


#9 posted 01-29-2011 07:23 AM

I like how small these drill are now, there just great

-- Jeremy, http://projects-for-woodworking.com

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase