LumberJocks

Does the job

  • Advertise with us
Review by Brad_Nailor posted 12-30-2010 02:04 AM 2206 views 1 time favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Does the job Does the job No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I received one of these for Christmas and as simple as it is it does the trick. I installed it where they suggested, drilling a small pilot hole first then screwing it into the blade guide. It does a good job cleaning the tire and seems to be well made and should last a long time. i really like Carter band saw accessories. I give it 5 stars..

-- http://www.facebook.com/pages/DSO-Designs/297237806954248




View Brad_Nailor's profile

Brad_Nailor

2532 posts in 2708 days



11 comments so far

View CanadianWoodChuck's profile

CanadianWoodChuck

395 posts in 2664 days


#1 posted 12-30-2010 02:14 AM

Looks good, I have a set of the Carter roller guides and I’m really pleased. Have a great new year!

-- Wood Chuck (Bruce) http://3dwoodworkingplans.com

View patron's profile

patron

13181 posts in 2092 days


#2 posted 12-30-2010 02:16 AM

looks good
i have a cheap disposable brush on mine
(it came with the saw)
need a new one
this will fill that bill just fine
thanks

-- david - only thru kindness can this world be whole . If we don't succeed we run the risk of failure. Dan Quayle

View twokidsnosleep's profile

twokidsnosleep

1063 posts in 1725 days


#3 posted 12-30-2010 03:39 AM

Got one in my Santa stocking this year :)

-- Scott "Some days you are the big dog, some days you are the fire hydrant"

View Pete_Jud's profile

Pete_Jud

424 posts in 2504 days


#4 posted 12-30-2010 05:56 AM

My wife works in a hospital, and brings back disposable tooth brushes that have never been used. I find a little dab of 5 min epoxy, does the same thing, for a lot lower cost. But I have known to be on the cheap side.

-- Life is to short to own an ugly boat.

View Popsnsons's profile

Popsnsons

329 posts in 1732 days


#5 posted 12-30-2010 04:30 PM

Just now getting on the Carter band wagon. I have the Stabilizer and my Magfence is just around the corner. Might as well add the wheel brush. Thanks for the review.

-- Pops ~ In So Cal...

View TheDane's profile

TheDane

3990 posts in 2414 days


#6 posted 12-30-2010 09:25 PM

This was one of the first accessories I added to my Jet 14” when I bought it last Spring. I was amazed at how much sawdust the lower tire accumulated without it, and how clean it stays since I added the brush.

I have purchased a number of items from Carter Products, and can’t say enough good about their products and their customer service. When I ordered my brush and Quick Release, their website was down so I called their toll-free order line. The woman I spoke with made dealing with Carter Products a very pleasant experience!

—Gerry

-- Gerry -- "I don't plan to ever really grow up ... I'm just going to learn how to act in public!"

View dfdye's profile

dfdye

372 posts in 1788 days


#7 posted 12-31-2010 07:42 AM

I do love the toothbrush idea! I have seen it a few places now, but I think I am going to use a nylon bristled plastic brush like this since I have a few lying around the shop already.

It is nice to know that there is a “designed” item for this if the cheap-o ideas don’t hold up well! Thanks for the review.

-- David from Indiana --

View Brad_Nailor's profile

Brad_Nailor

2532 posts in 2708 days


#8 posted 12-31-2010 03:22 PM

I was considering all the “toothbrush” ideas but when I saw how cheap this was…and it took all of about 2 minutes to install, I put it on the Xmass list….didn’t feel like jimmy rigging anything…no offense to Jimmy

-- http://www.facebook.com/pages/DSO-Designs/297237806954248

View Steven H's profile

Steven H

1114 posts in 1811 days


#9 posted 01-02-2011 02:32 AM

Dumb question

Have you had any problem it melting the brush?

View twokidsnosleep's profile

twokidsnosleep

1063 posts in 1725 days


#10 posted 01-03-2011 09:59 AM

Installed mine this morning.
Not smart to do this at -5 degrees Celsius as my bs blade was not so flexible.
I wound up using two spring clamps on the top wheel to hold the bugger down while I stretched the blade onto the lower wheel.
The brush works great btw

-- Scott "Some days you are the big dog, some days you are the fire hydrant"

View Glenn's profile

Glenn

140 posts in 2138 days


#11 posted 11-03-2011 05:35 PM

Another mounting solution: after upgrading my Delta 14” with the riser block, the new inside blade guard is aluminum as opposed to the original black plastic. I didn’t want to bother drilling a hole in the new blade guard, so I just used a bit of hot-melt glue to install it. Works great.

-- Glenn, Arkansas

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase