LumberJocks

Good Sander

  • Advertise with us
Review by Manitario posted 12-12-2010 09:26 PM 2430 views 1 time favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Good Sander No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought this ROS mainly on the strengths of its dust collection. A number of reviews that I’ve read consistently rated its dust capture better than other ROS (except of course the mighty Festool). After a couple of hours of use, I’m pretty happy with it so far…
Pros:
great dust capture
minimal vibration
comfortable to use
Cons:
slow material removal
1” DC port (would it have killed them to make the port 1 1/4” so as to fit a standard shop vac attachment???)

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil




View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2378 posts in 1628 days



12 comments so far

View Mark Shymanski's profile

Mark Shymanski

5119 posts in 2457 days


#1 posted 12-12-2010 10:14 PM

I have a Rigid ROS, and when my old shop vac died I bought a Rigid shop vac thinking it would fit the ROS dust port. Nope, very frustrating that something so logical escapes the designers of these tool lines. Oh well duct tape to the rescue again :-)!

-- "Checking for square? What madness is this! The cabinet is square because I will it to be so!" Jeremy Greiner LJ Topic#20953 2011 Feb 2

View poopiekat's profile

poopiekat

3733 posts in 2479 days


#2 posted 12-12-2010 11:53 PM

Hi Rob!
My chief complaint in general about ROS is the numbness after using them for any more than 20 minutes at a time. How does this compare to others? I know you mentioned vibration in your first post. My store-brand replacement would hop down the street if it had enough power cord! But it has taught me to rely less on sanding as a means of getting the surface right. If I could find a Ryobi 4 1/2” with locking variable speed, new in the box, I’d buy TEN of them. But I’ve got to get a new ROS, is this really the one to buy?

-- Einstein: "The intuitive mind is a sacred gift, and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift." I'm Poopiekat!!

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2378 posts in 1628 days


#3 posted 12-13-2010 12:08 AM

Poopiekat: there’s very little vibration on this ROS, but my hand was still tingling after an hour of using it. I remember reading another review somewhere on LJ’s by someone with carpal tunnel syndrome that had bought a Festool ROS that was the only sander they could use without the hand numbness. Right now though about the only time I can afford using a Festool is in my dreams…

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

View Mark Shymanski's profile

Mark Shymanski

5119 posts in 2457 days


#4 posted 12-13-2010 12:21 AM

I’ve heard that people use cycling gloves to reduce the numbing effect. Never tried it myself but it may be worth trying. Now I wonder why my hands don’t go numb when using my ROS, hmmmm.

-- "Checking for square? What madness is this! The cabinet is square because I will it to be so!" Jeremy Greiner LJ Topic#20953 2011 Feb 2

View poopiekat's profile

poopiekat

3733 posts in 2479 days


#5 posted 12-13-2010 01:24 AM

I find myself letting little defects go, in the glue-up stage. It’s become a bad habit, saying to myself, “Oh, well I’ll just sand the crap out of it” instead of making sure it’s right before assembly… And a better sander would only encourage me further to overlook small detail problems.

-- Einstein: "The intuitive mind is a sacred gift, and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift." I'm Poopiekat!!

View cut3times's profile

cut3times

116 posts in 1751 days


#6 posted 12-13-2010 02:40 AM

Hi Rob, I bought this sander about a year ago. I really like it. I started using Norton 3X discs and it removes much faster and lasts longer.

-- And Still Too Short - "Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." John Lennon

View ND2ELK's profile

ND2ELK

13495 posts in 2519 days


#7 posted 12-13-2010 02:51 AM

I bought one of these a year ago, and was very pleased with it. However, I do not know if I would recommend it for the fact that the canister has loosened up from taking it on and off for cleaning. I have two big rubber bands that help hold the canister tight to the sander. Otherwise dust comes out by the connection. Poor design!

-- Mc Bridge Cabinets, Iowa

View Steven H's profile

Steven H

1114 posts in 1805 days


#8 posted 12-13-2010 02:51 AM

I took a look at it at Lowes couple months ago, the port like you said is too small, can’t fit a standard vacuum size. The other problem I see is the filter design. Have you tried it without the vacuum?

View DragonLady's profile

DragonLady

298 posts in 1752 days


#9 posted 12-13-2010 03:01 AM

I got this sander for Christmas last year, and I love it.

-- A woman's work is never done-but power tools help!

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2418 posts in 2182 days


#10 posted 12-13-2010 11:27 PM

I did the previous review on it. after more than a year it’s still going strong. Low vibration, good removal, good dust collection.

Slow material removal? Try 60 grit paper and it’s almost a planer. I’d think the grit is the issue not the sander.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15304 posts in 1933 days


#11 posted 12-14-2010 04:37 PM

I have had this sander for over a year now and love it. It has sanded over 50 cutting boards and other projects as well. I read a review in a magazine that it was the best in sanders and had the lowest scratch pattern. It was down to the porter cable and this one. Glad you like yours. Enjoy!

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase