LumberJocks

This sander gets the job done!

  • Advertise with us
Review by RONFINCH posted 11-07-2010 12:53 AM 3458 views 1 time favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
This sander gets the job done! This sander gets the job done! This sander gets the job done! Click the pictures to enlarge them

Apprehensive at first spending so much on a sander, my fears we relieved after the first board was run through. The packaging was excellent, isn’t styrofoam wonderful? The base was easy to assemble with good instructions (pictures) provided. Be advised, get some help to lift the sanding machine on the stand!!!! It is heavy !!!! The in-feed table was easy to install, along with the optional extensions. Tracking was perfect after loosening the shipping tension right out of the box. So far, so good, very pleased. The deciding facter for me purchasing this unit was seeing it on sale for $1699, down from $2099.




View RONFINCH's profile

RONFINCH

142 posts in 1676 days



14 comments so far

View cabs4less's profile

cabs4less

235 posts in 1513 days


#1 posted 11-07-2010 02:34 AM

I’m jealous!!!!!

-- As Best I Can

View Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist's profile

Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist

5273 posts in 2060 days


#2 posted 11-07-2010 05:35 AM

Ron, you are going to get alot of great use out of this sander. I also have the non oscillating model and find it to be one of those tools that I should have bought long ago. The sandpaper is much cheaper if you buy it in rolls. I buy the 50 yard rolls and save alot of money on sandpaper.

-- Each step of every Wood Art project I design and build is considered my masterpieceā€¦ because I want the finished product to reflect the quality and creativeness of my work

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112933 posts in 2328 days


#3 posted 11-07-2010 05:46 AM

I hope you enjoy it for years to come.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Canadian Woodworks's profile

Canadian Woodworks

632 posts in 1821 days


#4 posted 11-07-2010 04:55 PM

Sweet! I recommend you get sandpaper rolls from industrial abrasives, great price and by far the best paper i’ve used.

-- Paul Lemiski, Ontario Canada, Custom Wooden Rocking chairs and tables http://www.canadianwoodworks.com

View Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist's profile

Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist

5273 posts in 2060 days


#5 posted 11-07-2010 05:01 PM

Sandpaper link
http://www.industrialabrasives.com/sanding-rolls-aluminum-oxide-polycotton-drum-sanding-rolls-3x52-yds-c-79_154.html

-- Each step of every Wood Art project I design and build is considered my masterpieceā€¦ because I want the finished product to reflect the quality and creativeness of my work

View GaryL's profile

GaryL

1080 posts in 1582 days


#6 posted 11-07-2010 05:05 PM

I have this model also. I have feed belt tracking problems, although still functional. I also have some minor vibration problems while in the osc. mode. I’m going to try to adjust the gibs on the osc. rail and see if that helps. The longer life of the sandpaper is a major plus and the reduced burning if the paper is getting tired. I get rolls of paper from supergrit.

-- Gary; Marysville, MI...Involve your children in your projects as much as possible, the return is priceless.

View Castlewerks's profile

Castlewerks

35 posts in 1624 days


#7 posted 11-07-2010 07:09 PM

Ron,

I have been looking at this model for a while and with the promotion that Jet was running, I finally ordered one as well—it should arrive next week… Now I just have to figure out where in the shop I’m going to put it :-)

Cheers,

-- -Michael ( http://www.castlewerks.com ) Groton, MA

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2573 days


#8 posted 11-08-2010 02:16 AM

Ron, this one is high on my wish list and I kicked myself for not asking my wife for an advance on my allowance when I saw the price drop. Thanks for the review. It definately makes me glad I have decided to get one of these.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View poroskywood's profile

poroskywood

614 posts in 2115 days


#9 posted 11-08-2010 04:49 AM

I paid full price a year ago. Worth every penny! No regrets. Hands down the best!

-- There's many a slip betwixt a cup and a lip.--Scott

View TheOldTimer's profile

TheOldTimer

223 posts in 1837 days


#10 posted 11-08-2010 07:56 PM

Ron: You will not regret the purchase. I also have the non-oscillating version and use it on every project in the shop. I replaced my conveyor belt with a neopreme or rubber drive belt and have been using it for about 3 years now. It out preformes the sanding belt that came with the machine. I also buy all my abrasives from Industrial Abrasives in bulk rools.

-- TheOldTimer,Chandler Arizona

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15336 posts in 1940 days


#11 posted 11-09-2010 12:14 PM

Man thats a sander congrats! I’m jealous!

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View NBeener's profile

NBeener

4806 posts in 1925 days


#12 posted 11-10-2010 02:32 AM

Like others are saying … I recently bought a used 16-32, and … it’s Tool Love.

So … that thing’s gotta’ be great !!!

Couple things I learned about the 16/32 that MAY be applicable to it’s larger brother:

1) Somebody put a “muffin fan” on the conveyor motor, to increase service life, by decreasing temperature. I may do that, too;

2) If yours has a circuit breaker, rather than the “Smart Start” circuitry (is that the right name ?), you may find yourself occasionally tripping the breaker, by dialing in either too much bite or too much belt speed. I bought a panel ammeter, and a plastic project box, and am going to wire the ammeter inline.

My motor is rated at 15A, so … if I stay south of that number … I should be able to either take bigger bites, run pieces through faster, or both … without tripping the breaker.

Plus … let’s be honest … it’ll be REALLY COOL to watch.

Gotta’ buy a few bits and pieces, to hook it in, but I’ll put up pics, when done.

Congrats !!!!

-- -- Neil

View Jonathan Alson's profile

Jonathan Alson

18 posts in 1234 days


#13 posted 12-16-2011 03:02 PM

Theres a consumer based review over here too: jet 22-44 oscillating drum sander review

View thedouglascollection's profile

thedouglascollection

1 post in 218 days


#14 posted 05-21-2014 01:24 AM

Just bought this unit 1 week ago. Must have gotten a lemon because my osc broke after less then 30 minutes of use. The cast iron hook that the moving arm attaches to snapped off. Not very happy.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase