LumberJocks

The Little Victor Plane from Lee Valley

  • Advertise with us
Review by rikkor posted 02-29-2008 03:15 PM 2418 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
The Little Victor Plane from Lee Valley The Little Victor Plane from Lee Valley No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought this little plane mostly on a whim. I am simply amazed by how useful it has turned out to be. It is easy to use either one or two handed. It has Lee Valley quality throughout. The iron was very sharp when I got it. It has a cast iron body that just feels right. I believe the current price is about $35.00.




View rikkor's profile

rikkor

11295 posts in 2599 days



7 comments so far

View Karson's profile

Karson

34902 posts in 3124 days


#1 posted 02-29-2008 03:52 PM

Looks like a great plane Rikkor. Thanks for the psot.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2885 days


#2 posted 02-29-2008 05:25 PM

it’s cute.. what more do you need?? :D

and what do you use it on?

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)

View sharad's profile

sharad

1066 posts in 2529 days


#3 posted 02-29-2008 05:28 PM

I can understand how thrilled u must have been after using the small plane. Recently I have also used a similar plane manufactured by Anant, a local company. It was great pleasure to use it while repairing my Back saw handle. I repented why I did not get it earlier. Here the cost is about $3 ! yes Three dollars. If u want I can send u one.
Sharad

-- “If someone feels that they had never made a mistake in their life, then it means they have never tried a new thing in their life”.-Albert Einstein

View Eric's profile

Eric

873 posts in 2508 days


#4 posted 02-29-2008 05:45 PM

Nice! Looks like what my mini plane would rather be…

-- Eric at http://adventuresinwoodworking.com

View RickH's profile

RickH

18 posts in 2472 days


#5 posted 02-29-2008 07:23 PM

This is a neat little plane. I too own one, and find that with a sharpened and honed blade it cuts very well.

However – I have found that it is very hard to adjust the blade precisely. When I try to tighten the adjusting screw it often slides the blade around a little since the end of it makes direct contact on the blade, and there is no chip breaker – or washer – to act as a go-between. I tried polishing the end of the adjuster screw, and added a bit of grease there, which helped, but it is still frustrating to try and lock down the blade to be in even alignment across the base with minimal projection.

Veritas also makes the same plane as a squirrel tail palm plane, and I think that would give you more control in use. Lee-Nielsen also makes a very similar small plane – the Model Maker’s Block Plane – in a squirel tail version with a 7/8” blade, but it has a better blade lock mechanisim – more traditional chip breaker thumb-screw tightening system. If I had to buy another I would likely get that one instead – even though it costs $65 – because of the ease in blade adjustment and because it comes with a full 1/8” thick blade.

-- Rick - OC, CA

View rikkor's profile

rikkor

11295 posts in 2599 days


#6 posted 03-15-2008 02:35 PM

Because of computer problems I was given dispensation by Martin to use manufacturer’s photos for the Leap day review contest. Now that the computer issues are resolved I will post actual photos of my items.

Little Victor

Little Victor

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2546 days


#7 posted 03-29-2008 02:50 PM

Rikkor,

Thanks for the review. I will have to look into one of these. I have been adding to my plane collection recently and this one is in my price range and, from your review, looks like a useful tool.

Thanks for the post.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase