LumberJocks

JDS Company 750ER Air Filtration System

  • Advertise with us
Review by glassyeyes posted 10-30-2010 08:59 PM 5928 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
JDS Company 750ER Air Filtration System JDS Company 750ER Air Filtration System JDS Company 750ER Air Filtration System Click the pictures to enlarge them

This is a VERY PRELIMINARY rating, since I only acquired this in the past few weeks. I couldn’t decide between 4 stars and 5, for the minor reasons noted below. I can’t speak to longevity, obviously. After a serious round of allergies, I thought I’d better do something about the dust in my shop. I chose this air filter in part based on various reviews on several sites, including Lumberjocks, and on advice from the staff at Woodcraft in Leesburg, VA. Another factor was the washable pre-filter included with the JDS; the Jet charges more than $50 extra for this, and as noted in a number of threads, it does not take a standard-size furnace filter as a replacement. The generic replacement at WC was about $16. Comments about the packaging, fit and finish, and quality control on the Jet and others concerned me. After unpacking this unit, I checked it over very carefully for damage; it was in perfect shape.

I plugged it in and it didn’t seem to work. I re-read the instructions and found nothing that helped. I thought about the typical printer and all of the internal packaging tape and foam, so I pulled the corner of the rear filter and removed it; sure enough, there were two foam blocks jammed into the squirrel-cage blower. You can see the two sheet-metal screws at the very bottom of the second picture, with the two foam blocks. After reassembly, it worked perfectly. I don’t have a decibel meter, so I can’t give a numerical reading, but the sound level seems acceptable at low speed, and slightly distracting at medium and high speeds. Afterwards, I noticed that the paper tag on the power cord contained a note about removing the shipping blocks; it seems odd they didn’t mention this in the directions.

The only quibble I have is the spacing of the mounting bolts; they are 16” by 30”—and my house floor trusses are 24” on center. 30” certainly seems like an odd dimension (why not 24” or 32”?); thus the plywood plate for mounting purposes.

I was SURE I had enough space; but as you can see in the last picture, the garage door misses only by a hair, and that only after a fair amount of tinkering. Oh, well—gotta laugh!

-- Now, where did I put those bandaids?




View glassyeyes's profile

glassyeyes

136 posts in 2014 days



7 comments so far

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1917 days


#1 posted 10-31-2010 02:33 AM

Talk about a tight fit! But if it works, no big deal…

My Grizzly has 16” spacing between the bolt holes as well. I think that is a pretty standard size. I figure they make these things for 16” On Center trusses and let you figure out something else to do if you are on different centers…

I laughed out loud about the foam block thing. My grizzly had this BIG stop sign shaped flag zip tied to the output grid instructing you to remove the foam blocks. It was impossible to ignore. JDS might consider doing the same thing…

A washable primary filter would be nice. Not sure if that is an option for mine, might have to check… However, Grizzly does have replacement regular filters for cheaper than say 12×24 generic HVAC pleated filters sell for at Home Depot… So it hasn’t been a problem yet…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View NBeener's profile

NBeener

4806 posts in 1859 days


#2 posted 10-31-2010 02:52 AM

I bought my JDS used, about a year ago, from a guy who’d had it for something like 10yrs (I have his original purchase receipt).

His company went public. He bought a beautiful house, put together a beautiful shop, across a covered walkway from his driveway, and has a (?) 5HP Oneida Cyclone system plumbed. He didn’t need this any more:

It runs good as new. Like you, I find it “noticeable” on high, but perfectly pleasant on low. I guess he must have figured out the foam block thing, a long time ago ;-)

My impression—with a fair bit of use—is that they make a very good, high performing product—one that I’m quite glad to have !

Enjoy the clean air.

Incidentally, the way I have it placed, I still wear my 3M 7500 respirator, occasionally. The intake puts ME between the table saw and the JDS unit.

No matter where you are, in the shop, though, it’s quite likely that you, too, will be breathing in what the JDS will filter, before it gets a chance to. Remember that. I don’t think it’s a cure-all—just a great addition !

-- -- Neil

View glassyeyes's profile

glassyeyes

136 posts in 2014 days


#3 posted 11-01-2010 02:23 AM

dbhost, I agree—why not attach it to the intake filter grid? Or next to the control panel? Who knows.

NBeener, I’m glad I didn’t have to find a place to fit YOUR model in my shop! That sucker’s DEEP. I’ve already ordered a half-mask. Similar problem—the dust from the table saw gets sucked right past my face. The cheap type end up on top of the tool box too often, they fit so poorly and are so uncomfortable.

Another thought—the JDS pre-filter and exhaust filter SLIDE out to the side—a space-eating, possibly limiting alternative to the “clip” mounts that pop out of the front/back. It did limit where I could put the unit.

-- Now, where did I put those bandaids?

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1917 days


#4 posted 11-01-2010 05:04 AM

glasseyes…

Just glad you were able find a place for it…

As far as respirators go, I will second the recommendation for the 3M 7500 series. Mine is really comfortable, and the down firing exhaust keeps it from fogging my safety glasses…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View Rick  Dennington's profile

Rick Dennington

3467 posts in 1880 days


#5 posted 11-01-2010 05:24 PM

Here’s mine…... I have it hanging right in the middle of the shop…it’s the 750, also…..works good.
It hangs right over both of my tablesaws…

-- " I started with nothing, and I've still got most of it left".......

View SqareD's profile

SqareD

21 posts in 1367 days


#6 posted 08-05-2011 02:03 AM

I have been waiting for the 750 to come off backorder. I spoke with JDS many months ago and he informed me of all the great things they were doing to the unit to upgrade and that is why the backorder status. I just decided today to check and sure enough, they now offer the JDS Air-Tech HP http://jdstools.com/air-tech750-er.aspx. Everything all of you have mentioned is what the rep was telling me. They sell better quality products, made with care, and they last a long time. I think it is time to ‘dust up’ with the new Air-Tech HP. Hopefully this will resolve the monthly garage cleanings. And yes, I still wear a respirator when fine sanding. Nice purchase Glasseyes !

View glassyeyes's profile

glassyeyes

136 posts in 2014 days


#7 posted 08-05-2011 03:00 AM

SqareD, after all the trouble I had last year just working with white oak making a trio of tables for church, I heartily agree about the respirator. I have the JDS, a Delta -760 DC, AND a mask; you would think I’d had allergies as a kid—

-- Now, where did I put those bandaids?

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase