WorkSharp WS2000 sharpening system - video review

  • Advertise with us
Review by John posted 01-17-2008 08:06 AM 8013 views 2 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
WorkSharp WS2000 sharpening system - video review No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Here’s my e-x-t-e-n-d-e-d video review of the WorkSharp WS2000.

Here are two (much better) reviews on the WS3000 and the Veritas alternatives:

Thanks to all of you who are bearing with my videos as I learn while I go! I apologize for the length of the video – I just want to sharpen everything in my shop!

Errata: I keep calling it “WorkShop” in the video – I mean “WorkSharp” – I keep saying stropping, although I’m not sure it’s a word and I’m tired of hearing myself saying it. I also keep saying “shavings” when I mean “filings” — again thanks for your patience.

The WS3000 is probably a better product, but I think you get 80% of the WS3000 for 50% of the price by going with the WS2000 – so a lot of bang for the buck, but definitely more suited towards amateurs like me.

I have never set hands on the Veritas Mk II system, but based on its larger disc (allowing flattening the bases of larger planes and more flexibility) and it’s micro-bevel capabilites, it’s probably worth the $89 bump over the WS3000.

I would recomend the WS2000 for hobbyists like myself, but the lack of more pro features keeps me from giving it a full 5 stars.

-- John - Central PA -

View John's profile


341 posts in 2885 days

10 comments so far

View shaun's profile


360 posts in 2992 days

#1 posted 01-17-2008 01:19 PM

Thanks for the video JC. I’ve been contemplating the purchase of one of these and have wanted to see one in action.

-- I've cut that board three times and it's still too short!

View MsDebbieP's profile


18615 posts in 3247 days

#2 posted 01-17-2008 02:18 PM

nice review with the thoughts re: comparisons.

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (

View Dadoo's profile


1788 posts in 3077 days

#3 posted 01-17-2008 02:19 PM

Thanx JC…Good review. I’m thinkin’ of adding one of these to my wish list.

-- Bob Vila would be so proud of you!

View rikkor's profile


11295 posts in 2961 days

#4 posted 01-17-2008 02:50 PM

I have the 3000. I would suggest the extra investment.

View Don Niermann  's profile

Don Niermann

211 posts in 3059 days

#5 posted 01-24-2008 04:53 AM

Same here go for the 3000

-- WOOD/DON ( has the right to ones opinion but not the right to ones own facts...)

View Bruce's profile


192 posts in 2862 days

#6 posted 01-27-2008 04:14 PM

Nice review. The video really adds complete knowledge of the use and functionality of the machine. I’ve seen several sharpening devices on the market but always decide that, being a hobbyist rather than a “in business” woodworker, I decide I can better spend my money on some rough-cut cherry or maple boards for projects. My blades and drill bits only seem to get dull after about 5 years so by then taking them to a sharpening service or a new one is a better option for me and my chisels are 6 years old and still really sharp. This policy also helps me keep up with advances in technology, etc., etc.

-- I think of Jack Nicholson as the Joker in Batman when he says "Where does he get those wonderful toys" and ask WHERE DO U GUYS GET ALL THAT WONDERFUL WOOD?

View Beginningwoodworker's profile


13347 posts in 2760 days

#7 posted 05-10-2010 04:13 PM

Thanks for the review.

View bigike's profile


4047 posts in 2375 days

#8 posted 05-10-2010 05:20 PM

thanks for the review the only suggestion i would make is keeping a cup of water near to cool the tools off a bit quicker. I know that water and electricity don’t mix but just a dip in the water is good ( with the chisels or plane blades) this is what i do for mine on my bench grinder. You did help me to make up my mind to go ahead and get though. ;)

-- Ike, Big Daddies Woodshop,

View bluejazz's profile


56 posts in 1873 days

#9 posted 05-15-2011 01:26 PM

Thanks for the review. I know you posted this long ago and may not need this now but others viewing this might. There is a step by step pdf guide you might want to look at available at :

-- I'm 58. In my mind, I still feel 28. Until I do something physical; then I feel 78.

View StumpyNubs's profile


6592 posts in 1887 days

#10 posted 12-31-2011 04:27 PM

Thought you may like to see my video of the Upgrades I made to the Work Sharp including one that allows you to use Tormek jigs AND how to use cheap buffing compound instead of sandpaper instead of diamond wheels and compounds:

-- Subscribe to "Stumpy Nubs Woodworking Journal"- One of the crafts' premiere online publications:

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics