LumberJocks

Low hit to the budget and shop footprint, not the best capacity.

  • Advertise with us
Review by dbhost posted 09-17-2010 06:01 PM 4352 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Low hit to the budget and shop footprint, not the best capacity. No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Specs are pretty straight forward…

Max working pressure 115PSI.
Air delivery: 5 SCFM at 90 PSI, 6 SCFM at 40 PSI.

Simply put, I have had it for over a year now, and run the snot out of this thing. It sufficiently runs all of my nailers, impact wrench, air ratchet, etc… As long as I keep in mind it has an 8 gallon tank, and don’t expect to not have to wait for the compressor to catch up with me it’s fine.

This is not my first compressor, so I can compare it to 2 older compressors, 1 an early 90s Campbell Hausfield oilless 10 gallon (? memory is fuzzy now), and prior to that, an old, maybe 1970s vintage Craftsman 30 gallon oil lubricated compressor. And while I wish I still had that old Craftsman, this compressor puts that Campbell Hausfield to shame…

I have 3 issues, all minor with this compressor.

#1. The tank drain valve. While it does seal nicely, it is a pain in the butt to use. I am planning on screwing an elbow into the tank, and adding a ball valve to act as a dump. The OEM valve is just plain goofy. #2. The HANDLE on the OEM shutoff valve is made of very thin stamped steel, and it bends easily, and rattles a lot. A quality valve is called for here. #3. Location of the oil fill port in relation to the handle on the machine makes it VERY difficult to add oil to the compressor without a funnel.

Overall, it works, and is well worth the money, currently they are on sale for $99.99, and with the current 20% off coupon, that puts the price right around $80.00.

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com




View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1948 days



10 comments so far

View FatScratch's profile

FatScratch

189 posts in 2019 days


#1 posted 09-17-2010 07:26 PM

I have had this same compressor for three years, and I have had a similar experience. It has done all I have asked of it and for $80 – $100, I don’t think it can be beat.

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1948 days


#2 posted 09-17-2010 07:33 PM

I hated giving it three stars. It really does work well, and it is far cry better than those pancake compressors I see so many other folks using…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View Jim Bertelson's profile

Jim Bertelson

3681 posts in 1881 days


#3 posted 09-17-2010 10:21 PM

Thanks for the info, a compressor is still on my list…......................

-- Jim, Anchorage Alaska

View Routerisstillmyname's profile

Routerisstillmyname

713 posts in 2226 days


#4 posted 09-18-2010 01:30 AM

What’ the Noise level? THX. om my porter cable pancake no oil compressor, I have to go outside city limit when it starts up.

-- Router è ancora il mio nome.

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1948 days


#5 posted 09-18-2010 02:40 AM

No means of scientifically measuring the noise, but I can say this. It is louder than my dust collector (which is pretty quieter) and quieter than my BT3100 table saw, so on the noisiness of my tools scale, it is about a 4 out of 10, with 10 being my Ryobi AP1301 planer.

Ah better way to describe it. The guy a half a block down the street from me is redoing siding on his house, I was using the compressor in the back yard, and it was running while he was cutting his siding and I could hear his circular saw over the compressor.

Does that help?

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View Routerisstillmyname's profile

Routerisstillmyname

713 posts in 2226 days


#6 posted 09-18-2010 03:14 AM

Yes thank you.

-- Router è ancora il mio nome.

View roscohome's profile

roscohome

1 post in 1631 days


#7 posted 09-20-2010 05:51 AM

I purchased this same unit about 2 months ago and have the same complaints. Pretty minor in IMHO. I am planning on changing the shutoff valve. I like the idea about the drain valve. Picked it up for $80 with the 20% coupon. As for the noise, its tolerable. I will admit my 3 yo son “runs for the hills” when he see’s me plug it in. He finally started wearing his hearing protection today, so maybe that will change soon.

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1948 days


#8 posted 04-11-2012 02:45 PM

I just felt like I needed to update my review. I have had this compressor now for going on 3 years. So far it has handled every single task I have thrown at it. It gets hot when I run it hard, not too hot to touch, but certainly warmer than I would expect. But then again, under conditions that cause this, I am running the snot out of this little thing. I haven’t bothered with changing either valve, I have however decided I do NOT like the on tank regulator, it works, but it is a bit touchy to get set just right, which is common on all but the absolute best compressors. So instead I use an inline regulator / filter assembly to keep the pressures right, and the junk away from my spray gun.

Careful spray gun selection means that this compressor CAN and DOES support at least a small HVLP, I am using a Husky HVLP from Home Depot, which oddly enough came with a Campbell Hausfield manual in the box… But the price was lower than a CH, and it seems decent enough..

I use this compressor not on a daily basis, but on an almost every weekend basis, running nail guns, spray guns, impact wrenches, airing up tires, running blow guns and other misc tasks. The die grinder is NOT this compressors friend.

I should write a separate review of them, but I do NOT recommend Harbor Freight’s quick disconnects. They are cast of better material than the ultra cheap CH set from Walmart, but having both them, and some top notch old connectors from the Snap On truck back in the 90s, I can say the HF models are not worth using. I just can’t keep them from leaking… The CH ones seem like they would be easy to break, but they seal well..

Overall, I am happy with this machine, but if I weren’t so concerned with space issues, I would spend the extra bank for a bigger compressor…

All in all, I think if you are needing a smallish compressor that can handle a decent load, take a good long look at this unit. Mind you, they are no longer sold new, but there are lots out on the used market… They can be a real bargain!

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1948 days


#9 posted 06-22-2012 10:52 PM

A little tidbit update. I went to HF today to pick up some hole saws which stayed there, but that’s a different story… Anyway, while I was there I took a look at the model HF is selling in place of this one now… There is NO WAY I would buy one of the new ones… The difference in build quality is very noticeable. I am not saying this one is the best compressor ever, but this is a useful tool. The new one just looks like it will break if you look at it wrong… Okay max developed pressure on the new one is 10PSI higher, but the air flow is lower as well… And just about every single component you can lay an eye on is visibly thinner, or uses inferior quality materials…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View Jim Bertelson's profile

Jim Bertelson

3681 posts in 1881 days


#10 posted 06-23-2012 11:43 AM

Products definitely change over time, and not necessarily for the better. Occasionally, a new product comes along, and then changes over some period of time, actually mproving a little as time goes on. But his review underscores that you have to be wary.

Actually got a little shop time in yesterday, but only to replace a broken plastic adjustable arm part on an ergonomic chair used in my office, that I am sitting on now. I built the relatively complex part out of two pieces of shaped and drilled aluminum, 1/8 inch thick, and a piece of oak bandsawed and disc sanded to shape, and then drilled with multiple holes. It seems to work perfectly, and will probably put up with more abuse than the original. I though of trying to order the part, but decided it would probably just break again. This was cheap and fun to make, and should be stronger to boot.

Later….........

-- Jim, Anchorage Alaska

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase