LumberJocks

Great planer for what it is, and what it costs, lacking finer features.

  • Advertise with us
Review by dbhost posted 09-17-2010 05:21 PM 4855 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great planer for what it is, and what it costs, lacking finer features. No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Well, after 2 and a half years of trouble free service, I figured I should write up a review of my Ryobi AP1301 planer for you folks.

Like many other owners of these planers, I have found the lack of infeed and outfeed support annoying, at least at first, and it DOES snipe if you just shove wood through it, and let it just dangle out the back end. I have found that supporting your lumber by hand as you feed it in, and take it out of the planer takes care of the snipe issue almost completely. I occasionally slip up and get some noticeable snipe, but then again so do guys with DW735s….

Boiled down to soup & nuts…

The Good. #1. The price tag. Mine was a gift. BUT they usually go for $199.00, price may have gone up since mine was new… #2. Easy to set new blades. #3. Uses same blades as Ridgid 13”, easy to get at Home Depot, at least at the ones around me. If your Home Depot doesn’t have them, fuss at the tool dept manager… #4. Decent dust collection IF USED RIGHT. In order to keep from spewing shavings all over the place even with the dust collector running, you MUST run your stock through the side closest to the dust port. This effect is MUCH more noticeable with a shop vac. #5. Very basic construction. Not overly complex machine, means there are fewer moving parts that can break, and that is a good thing.

The Bad… #1. No cutter head lock. Not a huge deal for me, but these locks help reduce snipe. #2. No infeed / outfeed tables. Again, these help with snipe. Many owners make their own, I did, and decided shop space was more valuable to me, I replaced the tables with technique. #3. 2.5” dust port, no 4”. I have to use a funnel type reducer to connect my dust collector. #4. No depth of cut stops. Meaning repeating exact depth means you need to run all the stock you want to run through at the same time so you can get the same exact thickness. This is the one lack that I am actually concerned with… I am making do with scrap, calipers, and some trial and error.

The Verdict…
Overall not a bad machine, and certainly unbeatable at its price. It has been very reliable, and the knives have put up with far more than I could expect. There are a LARGE number of other planers with these same feature lacks on the market for double the money, and they don’t perform a hair better. To put it simply, shy of a Ridgid with the cutter head lock, or a DW735, I just don’t know of too many other planers that will give you better performance for the money.

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com




View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1985 days



12 comments so far

View chewbuddy13's profile

chewbuddy13

150 posts in 2038 days


#1 posted 09-17-2010 08:29 PM

I’ll second everything that you say. I have had this planer for about the same amount of time and it’s great. The only real gripe that I have is the dust collection, but I am working on a better solution for that this weekend. I am going to fabricate a larger metal hood that I will attach to the back of the planer, that will use a 4” connection. Hopefully it’ll work out, if it does i’ll post some info on it if you’re interested.

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1985 days


#2 posted 09-17-2010 08:59 PM

I am very interested… I hate the DC connection on mine.

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View eddie357's profile

eddie357

17 posts in 1860 days


#3 posted 09-17-2010 11:19 PM

i must agree with you have had mine for alittle over a year, and i think it does a good job thanks for the review
and i am also looking for a somewhat better dust collection solution.

-- Eddie N.Barnes

View Ryan Brown's profile

Ryan Brown

72 posts in 1943 days


#4 posted 09-19-2010 09:37 PM

I know a guy who bought one of these just to use it for parts to make…a 13” jointer! He made up a jointer bed out of MDF and hung this this thing upside down in the middle. Adjustments of the infeed and outfeed tables are made my either inserting or removing playing cards under them. He also designed the fence to be the same height as his table saw so that he could rip wider sheet goods and use it as a support. Pretty cool setup and a lot cheaper than buying a jointer of that size…

Oh, and the planer worked great for him too, as a jointer…

-- If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem. Roanoke, VA

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1985 days


#5 posted 09-20-2010 06:16 AM

All I can say about that is, I bet that guy is gonna end up suing Ryobi….

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View thiel's profile

thiel

359 posts in 2045 days


#6 posted 09-20-2010 06:51 AM

I’ve heard good things about this machine… and wow is the price right! ... makes me regret my Delta.

-- Laziness minus Apathy equals Efficiency

View dmoney's profile

dmoney

191 posts in 1832 days


#7 posted 09-20-2010 10:51 PM

i have one too and like it. you can get them refurbed for $169 from www.cporyobi.com

-- Derek, Iowa

View cutworm's profile

cutworm

1068 posts in 1546 days


#8 posted 10-02-2010 07:51 PM

I bought a refurbished one at the factory store for $85. I tried out yesterday – needed to plane a couple of 1×8’s to 1/2”. I took light passes – about 1/2 turn each time. The first board did very well. No or minimal snipe. Started on the second one and it went up in smoke. It’s at the repair center. I’ll post later to let you know if $85 was a good deal. I hope it’s just a one time deal. Seemed to work very well??

-- Steve - "Never Give Up"

View HobieMan's profile

HobieMan

3 posts in 1429 days


#9 posted 01-28-2011 05:08 AM

Mine has recently started to plane a non-parallel thickness across the width of the board. Does anybody know how to adjust the this?

-- LeRoy

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1985 days


#10 posted 01-28-2011 05:36 AM

I am not sure at all… I have heard of planers doing that in the past… If I can find an answer, I will post it up here. I think it has something to do with the elvation mechanism getting gummed up and out of sync….

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View jtdyal's profile

jtdyal

74 posts in 2402 days


#11 posted 02-10-2011 05:35 PM

Thank you for the review. I “need” a planer for my next project, but trying to justify $500 for the limited use I will give it is hard. And from what I’ve found, the in-feed roller on a $400+ planer is the same plastic as on the Ryobi and the weak link with all of them. I’ve seen several 15” planers on craigslist with metal in-feed rollers but they are $600+ used.

-- ~jtd

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1985 days


#12 posted 02-10-2011 05:51 PM

Sounds about right…

Not saying this is a DW735 by any measure, but it does the job I need it to do…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase