LumberJocks

Great Mortiser

  • Advertise with us
Review by sawblade1 posted 08-23-2010 04:42 AM 3480 views 1 time favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great Mortiser Great Mortiser Great Mortiser Click the pictures to enlarge them

Got this Jointer Monday from Woodcraft, first impressions out of the box was great paint was crisp, not a lot of machine oil or packing grease Just enough to keep the rust off. Assembly took less than an 1/2 hour and the instructions were clear and concise, the mortiser came with all four chisels from 1/4” to 1/2” however I probably upgrade to lee Valley chisels (personal preference) Although the chisels out of the box are sharp and square I would recommend purchasing the diamond cone and lapping the chisels to increase sharpness.
One added bonus was the riser block and extended hold down with bolts along with a bushing to work with extended chisels.
Operation was smooth and the 1/2 hp motor had more than enough power driving the 1/2” chisel through red oak A 3/4” deep by 1 1/2” long mortise took less than 5 minutes from set up to finish cut.
I feel like this will be a tool that will be like the rest of them an serve me a long time to come.

-- Proverbs Ch:3 vs 5,6,7 Trust in the lord with all thine heart and lean not unto your own understanding but in all your ways aknowledge him and he shall direct your path elmerthomas81@neo.rr.com




View sawblade1's profile

sawblade1

754 posts in 1748 days



9 comments so far

View Beginningwoodworker's profile

Beginningwoodworker

13347 posts in 2394 days


#1 posted 08-23-2010 05:16 AM

Congrats on your new tool.

-- CJIII Future cabinetmaker

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4351 posts in 1770 days


#2 posted 08-23-2010 11:50 AM

What is this?

-- Bert

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

15983 posts in 1588 days


#3 posted 08-23-2010 01:38 PM

It’s reasonably priced. I wouldn’t mind having one, but I got a list and it’s not on it – at least not near the top, anyways.

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4524 posts in 1796 days


#4 posted 08-23-2010 02:27 PM

I have a Jet table top mortising machine and my complaint about it is the hold down mechanism had too much play and did not work effectively.

I’m curious as to how well the hold down mechanism secures the wood on this machine.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View sedcokid's profile

sedcokid

2683 posts in 2320 days


#5 posted 08-23-2010 02:35 PM

Great review, maybe some day I will get one of these but for now I will continue using my drills and chisels.

Thanks for sharing!

-- Chuck Emery, Michigan,

View sawblade1's profile

sawblade1

754 posts in 1748 days


#6 posted 08-23-2010 03:51 PM

b2rtchI cuts mortises for mortise and tenon joinery (basically a dedicated drill press that drills square holes) :)

Richthe hold down mechanism works great sometimes a little too great play is eliminated by a thumbscrew and post mechanism,

I hope this answers your questions feel free to ask more :)

-- Proverbs Ch:3 vs 5,6,7 Trust in the lord with all thine heart and lean not unto your own understanding but in all your ways aknowledge him and he shall direct your path elmerthomas81@neo.rr.com

View Tom Coster's profile

Tom Coster

120 posts in 1560 days


#7 posted 08-23-2010 11:30 PM

Nice machine! I just paid Amazon this morning for a Shop Fox W1671 Mortising Machine. $225.00 plus $44.00 shipping. It was a “best pick” in one of the woodworking magazines my wife buys for me. (She puts “post its” notes next to the furniture she wants.) Anyway, I’m hoping it is a good machine. I’ve heard mixed reviews online about Grizzlies quality control issues. I’m getting back into woodbutchering after a hiatus of about 25 years. In out fitting my shop I have learned that the quality of the tools available now are not what they once were.

-- Tom, MI, SC

View juniorjock's profile

juniorjock

1930 posts in 2487 days


#8 posted 09-03-2010 03:13 AM

Jointer?

View ducky911's profile

ducky911

231 posts in 1511 days


#9 posted 11-10-2010 09:33 PM

I have a delta not sure if it the same as yours ..your pics a blurred

I am ok with it only because the table and hold down adjustment are not easy——It is on my list to make a more user friendly table—-maybe like the one rockler sells.

bob

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase