Can't beat them!!

  • Advertise with us
Review by b2rtch posted 06-03-2010 03:21 AM 5161 views 4 times favorited 46 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Can't beat them!! Can't beat them!! No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

These hold down cost the exorbitant price of $1.97 each!!!!!

I read about other “famous” brand hold downs which break the first time you use them.
These did not break after about ten tries and they in fact hold , as they are supposed to do .
Excellent value.
One more time, thank you Harbor Freight,my very favorite store.
( just for Greg: this is a full review with pictures not from Harbor Freight ’s website but in fact taken on my new bench)
The Harbor Freight guy

-- Bert

View b2rtch's profile


4677 posts in 2138 days

46 comments so far

View a1Jim's profile


113828 posts in 2666 days

#1 posted 06-03-2010 03:43 AM

What a bargian Bench dogs just like Roy Underhills
Thanks for sharing Bert

-- Custom furniture

View dbhost's profile


5426 posts in 2321 days

#2 posted 06-03-2010 04:36 AM

I hate to say it, but those look like the replacements that “famous” brand sent me when I whacked my holdfast the second time and it fell into 2 pieces… (They are MUCH darker blue than the bad ones which are a touch lighter than Ford Blue…)

I have 2 of the dark blue ones, and so far they are holding up fine. For the steep price you paid, I may have to get 2 more. I can actually see where using 4 at once could be helpful…

-- My workshop blog can be found at

View dfdye's profile


372 posts in 2126 days

#3 posted 06-03-2010 06:46 AM

Wow. What a great price on those. Thanks for sharing.

-- David from Indiana --

View naomi weiss's profile

naomi weiss

206 posts in 2483 days

#4 posted 06-03-2010 07:39 AM

No way! I don’t believe it! I paid $13 for one at woodcraft :-(
Do those come in the bigger version?
I’m off to check their site!

-- 'Humility is a duty in great ones, as well as in idiots'--Jeremy Taylor

View Ole's profile


67 posts in 2166 days

#5 posted 06-03-2010 12:20 PM

Thanks for the review! I recently saw them on their site, and was thinking about getting them. Now I definitely will!

View rance's profile


4197 posts in 2250 days

#6 posted 06-03-2010 04:00 PM

HF Part #?

-- Backer boards, stop blocks, build oversized, and never buy a hand plane--

View b2rtch's profile


4677 posts in 2138 days

#7 posted 06-03-2010 04:10 PM

Available on line only:

Shipping was around $6.00

-- Bert

View dustbunny's profile


1149 posts in 2384 days

#8 posted 06-03-2010 04:24 PM

I keep meaning to order these,
thanks for the reminder and review !


-- Imagination rules the world. ~ Napoleon Bonaparte ~

View ChrisG's profile


18 posts in 2122 days

#9 posted 06-03-2010 04:26 PM

Just placed an order for 2 of them. Grand total with tax and shipping… $11.09. Thanks for the review.

-- Christopher Griggs, New Orleans,,

View Shopsmithtom's profile


786 posts in 3284 days

#10 posted 06-03-2010 05:04 PM

I’ve said it before & I’ll say it again…”it” (sorry, couldn’t resist) I’ve used HF stuff often & have not been disappointed. If you’re a “high end” tool guy (person) you’ll find a way to “dis” their stuff, & if you run a production shop, they might not hold up as long, but for average use in a hobbyist shop, or if you’re on a budget, HF tools can be just the ticket.

-- Accuracy is not in your power tool, it's in you

View gardentiger's profile


56 posts in 2060 days

#11 posted 06-03-2010 05:22 PM

went to the website to purchase. registered, and now cannot login. someone in China must have to check it first.

View b2rtch's profile


4677 posts in 2138 days

#12 posted 06-03-2010 05:25 PM

gardentiger order by phone,it is easier

-- Bert

View ZeroThreeQuarter's profile


120 posts in 2146 days

#13 posted 06-03-2010 05:26 PM

nice quick review..

HF has turned into a legitimate source for small tools like this. I know I get my clamps there, can’t beat the price, and it does just as it’s supposed to do: clamp! I can’t justify spending 2 or 3 times the price just to clamp down wood. As for their power tools, i’ll keep using craigslist to buy from people that are selling off quality tools at discount prices. (this economy doesn’t hurt either, people tend to try and empty out their garages of their old stuff, got a near-new jointer for $200 and a borderline new dewalt planer for just$300!)

-- Your mind, much like a parachute, works best when open.

View GregD's profile


744 posts in 2225 days

#14 posted 06-03-2010 07:31 PM

Unfortunately they don’t fit the HF 60” Solid Oak Workbench which has 5/8” holes in the top (which is not nearly as thick as its edging).

Your pics are much better than the ones on their website!

-- Greg D.

View b2rtch's profile


4677 posts in 2138 days

#15 posted 06-03-2010 07:45 PM

Thank you Greg.
You could enlarge the hole sin the bench ( I have the same one that I used before I built a new one) but I do not think that the top would be thick enough for the hold downs

-- Bert

showing 1 through 15 of 46 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics