LumberJocks

CHARLES NEILS IT'S ALL ABOUT COLOR DVDs

  • Advertise with us
Review by a1Jim posted 06-02-2010 12:18 AM 2454 views 2 times favorited 23 comments Add to Favorites Watch
CHARLES NEILS IT'S ALL ABOUT COLOR  DVDs No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

My long awaited DVD set, Charles Neil’s,” It’s All About The Color”, that I ordered a while back, came today. I’m suppose to be in the shop right now, but thought I would watch just one of the 6 DVDs . It didnt work out that way… I’m watching #3 right now. What’s it about? It covers waterbase finishes and how to get the color you want from each one. One DVD for 6 of the main woods: cherry,oaks,maples,walnut,poplar and mahogany. It’s great that he has a separate DVD for each wood. It makes it much easier when you want to refer back, when using any particular wood. So far, I’ve watched the one about mahogany and poplar because I have projects in each of those woods right now. Why am I doing a review before watching all of the DVDs ? I reviewing now, because the very first DVD is worth the cost of the whole set. Charles goes way beyond any of the books out there and even shows a color board that he made, of the many, many colors, using his methods. Do you want to make poplar look like mahogany ? How about cherry ? You can do those and make it look like any wood you want, plus cure all of your finishing problems. You can finally give up your BLO or tung oil that you use, because you don’t know how to do anything else.You can also get rid of all those oil base, noxious and flammable fumes. Before I ordered this DVD set, I already knew Charles was a finishing expert, but the proof is in the pudding and this pudding is delicious.

THIS IS A BIG DOUBLE THUMBS UP FROM ME!

http://shop.charlesneilwoodworking.com/Its-All-About-the-Color_p_46.html

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture




View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112366 posts in 2273 days



23 comments so far

View thatwoodworkingguy's profile

thatwoodworkingguy

375 posts in 1626 days


#1 posted 06-02-2010 12:22 AM

Working in the shop never works out for me either when I get a new toy
Nice review

-- thatwoodworkingguy.com ~Eagle America~ ~Woodcraft~

View Loucarb's profile

Loucarb

2388 posts in 2141 days


#2 posted 06-02-2010 12:23 AM

Nice review Jim & thanks for the link.

View Dennis Fletcher's profile

Dennis Fletcher

455 posts in 1751 days


#3 posted 06-02-2010 12:25 AM

Thanks Jim, I was debating whether or not to buy this video series, I guess now I just need to get the money.

-- http://www.ahomespecialist.net, Making design and application one. †

View Karson's profile

Karson

34891 posts in 3096 days


#4 posted 06-02-2010 03:46 AM

Jim I got my DVD’s today also but I’ve not watched any yet. Thanks for the review.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112366 posts in 2273 days


#5 posted 06-02-2010 03:49 AM

Karson
I hope you enjoy them too.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View RBWoodworker's profile

RBWoodworker

418 posts in 2048 days


#6 posted 06-02-2010 04:00 AM

Ahh Jim!!..you lucky!!

I’m gonna hav e to start my collection..I have 3 sets..and I want em all!..lol..good review..he’s good watching!..I learned a ton with the 3 dvd’s I have now.. Can’t wait to expand my knowledge with the rest of his teachings!

-- Randall Child http://www.racfurniture.com/

View Close's profile

Close

45 posts in 1624 days


#7 posted 06-02-2010 04:18 AM

Jim, Yes he is very good Charles also has spots on y tube

View MickeyD's profile

MickeyD

130 posts in 2222 days


#8 posted 06-02-2010 04:30 AM

Ours arrive today also….I think I will go start watching it. I have a walnut table waiting to be finished.

-- -Willing to try

View Monty Queen's profile

Monty Queen

1585 posts in 1948 days


#9 posted 06-02-2010 05:41 AM

Wow i need to get mine.

-- Monty Q, Columbia, South Carolina.

View Bob Kollman's profile

Bob Kollman

1797 posts in 1887 days


#10 posted 06-02-2010 06:06 AM

Sound good, but I’ll never throw away my tung oil!!!

-- Bob Kenosha Wi.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112366 posts in 2273 days


#11 posted 06-02-2010 06:17 AM

You and David Marks Bob LOL

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4349 posts in 1744 days


#12 posted 06-02-2010 12:03 PM

Good review, thank you Jim.
Sounds very interesting after many other things to buy.

-- Bert

View HokieMojo's profile

HokieMojo

2103 posts in 2424 days


#13 posted 06-02-2010 06:55 PM

Jim,
Could you give an average run time for a DVD? Thanks!

View HokieMojo's profile

HokieMojo

2103 posts in 2424 days


#14 posted 06-02-2010 06:57 PM

Also, you don’t by any chance know what the “reward points” do that are mentioned on his shopping pages.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112366 posts in 2273 days


#15 posted 06-02-2010 07:08 PM

It might be best to check with Charles on that. All his DVDs seem to fly by when I watch them.

charles@charlesneilwoodworking.com

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

showing 1 through 15 of 23 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase