LumberJocks

REMOVED

  • Advertise with us
Review by Rick posted 05-20-2010 10:48 AM 2751 views 1 time favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
REMOVED No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Gone

-- How long is a Minute? That depends on which side of the Bathroom Door You're On!




View Rick's profile

Rick

7341 posts in 1786 days



8 comments so far

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15337 posts in 1941 days


#1 posted 05-20-2010 11:56 AM

Very good review, Thx

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View Greedo's profile

Greedo

468 posts in 1713 days


#2 posted 05-20-2010 12:16 PM

nice review, didn’t know this existed.
but how exactly does it work to clean the pad? i wipe mine with turpentine and it removes all the sticky parts, but it seems that after doing that the pad gets full 2 times faster!

View rance's profile

rance

4149 posts in 1913 days


#3 posted 05-20-2010 01:17 PM

Some stores sell a cheap stick of rubber to clean sanding belts, drums, etc. They make your sandpaper last 50 times longer. You can also use your old(or someone else’s new) tennis shoe.

-- Backer boards, stop blocks, build oversized, and never buy a hand plane--

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112936 posts in 2330 days


#4 posted 05-20-2010 05:59 PM

thanks Rick

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View HighRockWoodworking's profile

HighRockWoodworking

182 posts in 1732 days


#5 posted 05-20-2010 06:41 PM

Thanks Rick. Great review!

-- Chris Adkins, http://highrockwoodworking.com/

View CreekWoodworker's profile

CreekWoodworker

409 posts in 2051 days


#6 posted 05-21-2010 02:04 AM

Thanks Rick, I’ve had my eye on that product. I use a sanding stick to clean my DP sanding drums. The salesperson at Woodcraft told me they are made out of the same material as Hush Puppy shoe soles.

-- Mike ...Success is often the result of taking a misstep in the right direction

View Rick's profile

Rick

7341 posts in 1786 days


#7 posted 05-21-2010 02:13 AM

Thanks Guys: Your Comments are ALWAYS Welcomed and if further Clarification is needed I’m Pleased to do so.

Greedo: I’m not sure what you mean by “pad”. I’ll assume you mean the Sanding Disc. Do NOT wipe it with Turpentine. If you mean the actual CREPE Pad that sits in the base…. same thing. Turpentine will ”Eat” them both!! If you go to the Link at Lee Valley they will tell you everything about how it works and how it should be Cleaned. A CREPE Pad (AS Here) or a CREPE block when applied to a Moving piece of Sand Paper REMOVES the accumulated Imbedded Sanding Debri from the Sand Paper. Crepe can be cleaned, with Soap & Water, then left to dry. LINK To Manufacturers Instructions is HERE

RANCE: You’re right. they do. What you MIGHT be reffering to is MOST LIKELY (Not 100% Sure) a Crepe Block and some Tennis Shoes, in my case Squash Shoes do have Crepe Soles. I just found it to be a pain in the BUTT, putting them on and ”Running” all over my Sanding Stuff!! (Just Kidding). Lee Valley also has the Crepe Blocks. Link is HERE

Cessna: TERRIBLE?? Removes the reason for its existence? Not EVERYONE uses a Hose attached to there ROS. However, I have a Hose attached to mine also.

I made a QUICK little Jig to Solve that Apparent Problem. A piece of 3/4”” Ply, 6”x6” as a base. Then I Attached the Unit to the Wooden Base. Screwed a piece of 1/4” Ply to one side of the Wooden base, about 3” Wide, ran it up to a Height that allowed me to cut a Notch in it (about 2” down, with a rounded bottom) that you Sit the Hose in at a height that sits the sander in Perfectly Level with the Crepe Pad. You can also Attach the Unit as expained at Lee Valley by Screwing it to your Worbench or a Larger Piece of Wood to “Enlarge” the Base and thereby preventing “Tipping”.

Also as mentioned above and on the LINK there is a Small Screw under the Crepe Pad that allows you to Adjust the Amount of “Run On” to a Degree that is suitable for your use.

As for the “Cleaning Aspect”? I stand by what I said above. If Crepe works for your other Sanders why would it NOT work here. My Norton 3x’s Discs last a LOT longer than 10 minutes. I also find that even with my Very Powerfull Vac, it removes only a Portion of the Dust created. The “Imbedded Debri” needs a more “Aggresive” Approach. The Crepe does that. Perhaps that’s the reason your Pads don’t last as long as they should i.e. you’re depending on the Vac to do ALL the cleaning.

The ”Arm” you asked about is also explained on the Lee Valley Page. However…. That is the 6” Base. It’s intended to hold the Handle of a ”Barrel Handled” ROS’s as Shown in the Enlargment of the First Picture Above. The Arm is also Adjustable in Height.

I have the 5” Base and a 5” ROS. I don’t feel it would be appropriate for me to comment on the 6” base and if it does or does not work in a ”Tool Review” as I’ve never used it.

All I can say, once again is that I’ve had mine for 3 YEARS, (Test Of Time) I also bought an Extra Crepe Pad, but am Still Using the Original one, and I’m VERY Pleased with it!! Of course we all have are reasons for Liking or Disliking ANY type of Woodworking Tool.

Rick

PS: I have NO Finacial Ownership in OR Receive any type of Compensation From Lee Valley …LOL…

-- How long is a Minute? That depends on which side of the Bathroom Door You're On!

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

15089 posts in 2429 days


#8 posted 05-27-2010 06:49 AM

Good info, thanks

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase