LumberJocks

my new toy

  • Advertise with us
Review by bigjerpare posted 05-07-2010 03:38 AM 2408 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
my new toy my new toy No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

just picked this beauty up today, runs great, and looks cool

-- Jeremy D Pare, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada




View bigjerpare's profile

bigjerpare

60 posts in 1714 days



12 comments so far

View PurpLev's profile

PurpLev

8476 posts in 2393 days


#1 posted 05-07-2010 03:41 AM

ok…

as far as review goes – anything else that warrants it a 5 stars? curious…

-- ㊍ When in doubt - There is no doubt - Go the safer route.

View bigjerpare's profile

bigjerpare

60 posts in 1714 days


#2 posted 05-07-2010 04:10 AM

i just put it up cause its a total relic, its like a car guy finding a ‘57 chev, i just love it

-- Jeremy D Pare, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4525 posts in 1819 days


#3 posted 05-07-2010 04:16 AM

I can tell that you are very excited about this acquisition. May I suggest that a better place to tell us about this would be in the blog section.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View bigjerpare's profile

bigjerpare

60 posts in 1714 days


#4 posted 05-07-2010 04:25 AM

oh yeah, np, sorry rich

-- Jeremy D Pare, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

View doordude's profile

doordude

1085 posts in 1728 days


#5 posted 05-07-2010 04:56 AM

bigjp looks like a realy cool old find. probaly works better than any newer versions

View bigjerpare's profile

bigjerpare

60 posts in 1714 days


#6 posted 05-07-2010 05:41 AM

yeah, as soon as i got it back to the shop i pluggd it in and turned a little piece of walnut i had layin around, worked great, the guy gave me a set of gouges and chisels with it, they need to be sharpened but they did the trick :^)

-- Jeremy D Pare, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

View Jimmy's profile

Jimmy

44 posts in 2085 days


#7 posted 05-07-2010 06:25 AM

have the same lathe does a good job for me rigtht now. just watch the tailstock where the live center goes into the tailstock when i got mine the po had jammed it in and took a bearing press to get it out. good luck and happy turning

-- 20 year old new woodworker. advice and tools much appreciated.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112818 posts in 2322 days


#8 posted 05-07-2010 07:37 AM

congrats

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View bigjerpare's profile

bigjerpare

60 posts in 1714 days


#9 posted 05-07-2010 01:50 PM

cool, thanks jimmy, ill keep an eye out for that, do you mind if i ask what you paid for it, or if you know what its worth?

-- Jeremy D Pare, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

View wiswood2's profile

wiswood2

1128 posts in 2441 days


#10 posted 05-07-2010 04:00 PM

Were Is the guard on the pully. Culd be hard on the fingers. Be careful.
Chuck

-- Chuck, wiswood2 www.wisconsinwoodchuck.com

View bigjerpare's profile

bigjerpare

60 posts in 1714 days


#11 posted 05-07-2010 09:29 PM

yeah, ill be sure to keep my digits away from that end while the powers on

-- Jeremy D Pare, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

View cosmicturner's profile

cosmicturner

403 posts in 2140 days


#12 posted 05-07-2010 11:54 PM

yes be careful and do learn to sharpen those tools

-- Cosmicturner

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase