LumberJocks

Footprint 4 Piece Chisel Set

  • Advertise with us
Review by cstrang posted 04-09-2010 09:20 PM 6256 views 0 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Footprint 4 Piece Chisel Set Footprint 4 Piece Chisel Set No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

These chisels are good quality Sheffield steel at a very economical price of only 29.99 for a set of four. The sizes are ¼”, ½”, ¾” and 1”. As always I wouldn’t trust the factory edge so after a brief time on the stone, I honed them on a diamond stone and now you could shave with them… however I wouldn’t reccoment that haha. Currently I am doing some dove tails and mortise and tennon work with them and they are holding their edge quite nicely. I will probably pick up a 3/8” chisel like these in the near future. The handle is more oval than round which makes it easier and more comfortable to grip while working. All in all they are a great buy at a bargain price.

They can be found here

-- A hammer dangling from a wall will bang and sound like work when the wind blows the right way.




View cstrang's profile

cstrang

1769 posts in 1818 days



11 comments so far

View Dez's profile

Dez

1113 posts in 2727 days


#1 posted 04-09-2010 09:42 PM

Sounds like this was a good purchase for you! Have fun with them.

-- Folly ever comes cloaked in opportunity!

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11657 posts in 2338 days


#2 posted 04-09-2010 09:46 PM

I’ve had my wooden handled Footprints for over 15 years now and they’re still holding up just fine : ) Congrats on your purchase.

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View degoose's profile

degoose

7010 posts in 2004 days


#3 posted 04-09-2010 09:57 PM

A good sharp chisel is worth its weight in ebony… more expensive than gold..LOL
Nice pick up.

-- Drink twice... and don't bother to cut... @ lazylarrywoodworks.com.au For lovers of all things timber...

View GMman's profile

GMman

3902 posts in 2347 days


#4 posted 04-09-2010 10:10 PM

I have those very good choice.

View bigike's profile

bigike

4031 posts in 1938 days


#5 posted 04-09-2010 11:11 PM

great review, but it’s too late i just got two sets of marples chisels one irwin china made and the other i think made in england. I’ll post a review here once i get them.

-- Ike, Big Daddies Woodshop, http://www.icombadaniels@yahoo.com

View Karson's profile

Karson

34874 posts in 3050 days


#6 posted 04-10-2010 12:38 AM

They look good.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View lew's profile

lew

10024 posts in 2405 days


#7 posted 04-10-2010 01:28 AM

Thanks for the review. These look like a good deal.

Lew

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View Newfounlandwood's profile

Newfounlandwood

63 posts in 1685 days


#8 posted 04-10-2010 01:58 AM

I got this set as well. I’ve had them for a while and they work great. I’ve bought another set since, but today I decided to give these a sharpen with my water stones. Then I come up here and see this review! They work just as well as the higher quality set I bought and hold their edge as well. Nice buy.

Dennis

-- My fault, my failure, is not in the passions I have, but in my lack of control of them.

View Beginningwoodworker's profile

Beginningwoodworker

13338 posts in 2323 days


#9 posted 04-10-2010 04:13 AM

Looks like a good deal.

-- CJIII Future cabinetmaker

View Mike67's profile

Mike67

96 posts in 1986 days


#10 posted 04-14-2010 10:29 PM

I have the wood handled footprints and really like them.

View Boogie's profile

Boogie

16 posts in 2069 days


#11 posted 11-08-2011 09:05 PM

Althought this thread is nearly 2 years old, i just bought a set of these. I can’t wait to use them. It seems wrong for these to be sitting in a box on my desk with no wood around.

-- Boogie, Hou Tex - Life is to short for Bad Wine

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase