Video Review - my first thickness planer

  • Advertise with us
Review by John posted 02-19-2008 08:55 PM 24204 views 1 time favorited 19 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Video Review - my first thickness planer No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Just purchased a Grizzly G0505 12.5” portable “Lean & mean” planer. Here’s a video of the setup and the first couple passes over some pretty hard sycamore.

Here’s the planer for sale on the LumberJocks shopping site: G0505

-- John - Central PA -

View John's profile


341 posts in 2890 days

19 comments so far

View GaryK's profile


10262 posts in 3081 days

#1 posted 02-19-2008 09:19 PM

Pretty cool being able to plane your own lumber, huh?

Nice video. I wish more people did that “out of the box” thing.

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2914 days

#2 posted 02-20-2008 12:05 AM

I agree with Gary. But too often we get caught up in the adrenaline rush from having a new tool and simply want to get it up and running as fast as we can. Thanks for the review.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View cajunpen's profile


14538 posts in 3158 days

#3 posted 02-20-2008 09:51 AM

Nice review and video. Welcome to the world of planing your own lumber – it makes liife easier. You might want to invest in a Wixey Digital Planer Readout – will make planing much more accurate.

-- Bill - "Suit yourself and let the rest be pleased."

View Patrick Jaromin's profile

Patrick Jaromin

367 posts in 2925 days

#4 posted 02-20-2008 02:02 PM

Nice video…I agree that it was helpful to see the “unboxing”. Thanks!

-- Patrick, Chicago, IL

View markrules's profile


146 posts in 3208 days

#5 posted 02-20-2008 02:33 PM

Great job. Thanks for the link!

View DaveH's profile


400 posts in 2871 days

#6 posted 02-22-2008 04:26 AM

Cool video! Thanks for taking the time.

-- DaveH - Boise, Idaho - “How hard can it be? It's only wood!”

View bigdog72's profile


16 posts in 2902 days

#7 posted 02-22-2008 12:48 PM

Thanks for the great video! Music was a nice touch!

-- Geoff, Lillington, NC

View Zuki's profile


1404 posts in 3169 days

#8 posted 02-23-2008 01:05 AM

I have one just like that but I got it from Canadian Tire here in Canada. Mine is dark blue and came with a stand . . . but otherwise looks exacly like yours.

What is the part number on the side discharge shoot?

-- BLOG -

View jstewart's profile


141 posts in 3183 days

#9 posted 02-24-2008 04:12 AM

I love the video. My wife and I have been in the market for a video camera since we have a baby now. Watching your video makes me want to video tape some of my own woodworking. Now I’m REALLY wanting to get a video camera. Thanks.

-- Joshua, Olathe, Kansas

View John's profile


341 posts in 2890 days

#10 posted 02-24-2008 04:57 PM

Zuki, it’s H7516

-- John - Central PA -

View gizmodyne's profile


1765 posts in 3182 days

#11 posted 02-24-2008 06:23 PM

Great video.Love the sped up section.

Looks like a mean and lean beast. How much are the knives?

I noticed that the piece you ran through had not been jointed first and had a big “dip”, so the planer, I think, is not sniping as much is it is following the piece of wood. Anyone getting a first planer should be aware that they need to be run in tandem with a jointer (or sled if you want to trouble). They do one thing well..making the opposite side parallel to the original.

As for the thickness guage most of the stock are not too reliable.

-- -John "Do I have to keep typing a smiley? Just assume it's a joke."

View Zuki's profile


1404 posts in 3169 days

#12 posted 02-24-2008 09:59 PM

View John's profile


341 posts in 2890 days

#13 posted 02-28-2008 08:24 PM

Gizmo: the knives are $32 for a set of two. They are double sided.

-- John - Central PA -

View Beginningwoodworker's profile


13347 posts in 2765 days

#14 posted 08-25-2008 05:53 AM

Thats a nice video, Its looks like it will make for a nice little planer.

View Richforever's profile


744 posts in 2812 days

#15 posted 08-25-2008 06:19 AM

Thanks for the video. It really helps to see it in operation.

-- Rich, Seattle, WA

showing 1 through 15 of 19 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics