LumberJocks

Great gun for the money

  • Advertise with us
Review by SchotterWoodworking posted 02-17-2010 03:02 AM 2116 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great gun for the money No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I purchased this stapler after being disappointed with the 1” gun that came in my PC combo kit. It is a full range narrow crown stapler: 18ga. 1 1/2”. It has a selector on the trigger for bump-action or sequential firing which is a nice feature, as opposed to swapping out triggers. The carry handle is flimsy, but aren’t they all. The gun has never jammed and is oil-free. Compared to a gun like the Senco SKSXP that I use at work, it’s a toy; but, for less than $100.00 (Ebay) it is a great gun for the money.




View SchotterWoodworking's profile

SchotterWoodworking

111 posts in 2035 days



9 comments so far

View Drew's profile

Drew

228 posts in 2105 days


#1 posted 02-17-2010 05:15 AM

I have the older version of this gun and I can’t say enough good things about it.

-- TruCraftFurniture.com

View Mateo's profile

Mateo

28 posts in 2545 days


#2 posted 02-17-2010 10:00 PM

can this gun be used for upholstery. Opinions are very much welcomed. :)

-- Mateo

View dennis mitchell's profile

dennis mitchell

3994 posts in 3319 days


#3 posted 02-17-2010 11:50 PM

Don’t lose your receipt. The last one I bought quickly developed a leak and now just sits in the junk drawer.

View Drew's profile

Drew

228 posts in 2105 days


#4 posted 02-18-2010 01:48 AM

Dennis, you CAN rebuild them.

-- TruCraftFurniture.com

View SchotterWoodworking's profile

SchotterWoodworking

111 posts in 2035 days


#5 posted 02-18-2010 03:16 AM

Mateo, I would not recommend this for upholstery. This is a construction stapler and has too much beef for fabrics; however, look for porter cable’s 22ga. stapler. http://www.deltaportercable.com/Products/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=11640 That’s their site.

View Drew's profile

Drew

228 posts in 2105 days


#6 posted 02-18-2010 05:10 AM

A rebuild kit should only cost you about $20-30.

I can’t say anything about the new version but my BN is an absolute work horse.
I’m sure I have shot 100,000 brads through it. Only oiled once and have never replaced a single part.

-- TruCraftFurniture.com

View Rick's profile

Rick

8286 posts in 2037 days


#7 posted 02-20-2010 11:01 AM

Fortunately I am with Johnny. Re Built one after a few years service for $25. Works better than it ever did. Great piece of equipment!!

-- Can You Hear The Toilet Flushing?

View Hunterastin's profile

Hunterastin

51 posts in 2295 days


#8 posted 03-26-2010 04:44 AM

i have an older PC crown staple and love it, i got it from a buddy who was a trim guy and used it daily for years and when he got a new one he passed me the old one. i love it and still works as good as new, i oiled it and it was ready to rock and roll

View redSLED's profile

redSLED

790 posts in 897 days


#9 posted 02-20-2015 03:34 AM

Thanks for reviewing. I may pull the trigger on my first 18ga. workshop nailer – the Porter Cable PC BN200C being my first choice currently. And yes, I’ve been happily using small nails with a hammer so far.

-- Perfection is the difference between too much and not enough.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com