LumberJocks

Not Happy butt mad.

  • Advertise with us
Review by Greg2525 posted 02-03-2010 02:27 AM 5388 views 0 times favorited 25 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Not Happy butt mad. Not Happy butt mad. Not Happy butt mad. Click the pictures to enlarge them

Not Happy butt mad. Today Feb 2nd 2010, WEN 10-Inch Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw. I spoke to the manufacturers and I asked them to send me a manual I gave them my e-mail address around 12pm, and I have a one year warranty. 6 hours later no response from them.
I have had parts keep breaking of mine and I bought it in 12/09/09 The thumb release lever has broke twice on the machine because it is made out of plastic and that part should of been made out of steel. Also what has just broke is the center cover plate to hold and protect the blade, and that should of been made out of steel too.
I just feel like getting my money back because I had enough of it.
Whats going to be next.




View Greg2525's profile

Greg2525

1 post in 1783 days



25 comments so far

View Bob #2's profile

Bob #2

3808 posts in 2770 days


#1 posted 02-03-2010 02:28 AM

What is BUTT Mad??

-- A mind, like a home, is furnished by its owner

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112898 posts in 2325 days


#2 posted 02-03-2010 02:30 AM

Sorry to be blunt Greg but Wen ranks way up there with HF it’s not even a mid range saw.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Enthalpy's profile

Enthalpy

44 posts in 1790 days


#3 posted 02-03-2010 02:34 AM

Greg, take the thing back..ask for a full refund. It’s all made in China for 60 cents an hour. A1Jim, Wen may have been a good name, but so did Studebaker.

View funchuck's profile

funchuck

119 posts in 1805 days


#4 posted 02-03-2010 03:22 AM

The guard does not protect the blade, it protects YOU! So, you should make sure to get it fixed before using it.

-- Charles from California

View Julian's profile

Julian

880 posts in 2274 days


#5 posted 02-03-2010 03:44 AM

I’m a professional trim carpenter and I have never heard of that brand of miter box. Now I know why, because it sounds like a piece of crap.

-- Julian, Park Forest, IL

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1980 days


#6 posted 02-03-2010 03:56 AM

Never heard of WEN, but comparing this to HF is not fair at all. HF at least has decent customer service…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View araldite's profile

araldite

187 posts in 2152 days


#7 posted 02-03-2010 05:18 AM

Hey, we’ve all been suckered at one time or another, falling for what sounds like a good deal, what can go wrong, and then…guess what, everything can go wrong. Try to return it. Google for miter saw reviews and get a feel for what others think. Buy the best you can afford based on doing some research. Wen has never been anywhere near top line in all my years of buying tools. Good luck.

-- Failure is the road to success if you learn to learn from your mistakes - Vince, Greenville, SC

View Enthalpy's profile

Enthalpy

44 posts in 1790 days


#8 posted 02-03-2010 02:47 PM

As I think back..Wen makes soldering guns. And not very good ones at that.

View jim C's profile

jim C

1455 posts in 1847 days


#9 posted 02-03-2010 02:57 PM

It’s not “if”, it’s “Wen” it “bwakes”.

Elmer Fudd

-- When I was a boy, I was told "anyone can be President", now I'm beginning to believe it!

View DannyBoy's profile

DannyBoy

521 posts in 2614 days


#10 posted 02-03-2010 04:31 PM

Nice, Jim.

I’ve seen a few of the WEN products around, but I haven’t ventured into owning one. Glad to hear my caution is well based.

I’m agreeing the rest of the folks here: take it back to the store and get a refund. If they give you any crap, tell them the guard fell off and the saw nearly chopped off your hand when it did. They don’t want an injury lawsuit because they failed to provide a measly refund.

~DB

-- He said wood...http://hickbyassociation.blogspot.com/

View poopiekat's profile

poopiekat

3735 posts in 2483 days


#11 posted 02-03-2010 04:38 PM

Decades ago, “Wen” branded tools were marketed as giftables, often seen in catalogs as promotional items you could win, door prizes, or awards. Situations where the recipient could really care less what object he received.
Wen made electric shoe polishers, hair dryers, electric shavers, drills, all gizmos of questionable value, but one notable exception was the Wen sharpener, a cylindrical stone, maybe 2” diameter by 3” wide, with a little water trough. I had mine for years, until it too died. All it had to do was rotate, and eventually it found that task too difficult.
I’m curious as to what kind of store would be selling Wen stuff these days!

-- Einstein: "The intuitive mind is a sacred gift, and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift." I'm Poopiekat!!

View JAGWAH's profile

JAGWAH

929 posts in 1832 days


#12 posted 02-03-2010 05:05 PM

Unfortunately for everybodies budget there is a tool out there for them.
Marketiers depend on other producer’s quality tools that produce quality results to inspire the beginner with false expectations when buying their low price point, inferior, poorly made crap.

Greg has a right to expect the tool he bought to stand up to normal use. Unfortunately many tool makers lie and mislead. We all all bear some responcibility when purchasing the cheapest tool.

Rule of thumb my Dad taught me was identify the best quality tool for your needs then look for the lowest price for that tool. Quality first, price second.

Just a side note. There’s a review for this saw here. Regardless of the review what caught my eye was this saw sells for $79. Geeze, how do they pack these thing and ship from china and make a profit? The maker’s wholesale price must be around $20 for everyone after them to make money. Hell my saw blades for my mitre saw cost me over $50!

Sorry Greg this is not a rant at you.

-- ~Just A Guy With A Hammer~

View JimNEB's profile

JimNEB

239 posts in 1816 days


#13 posted 02-03-2010 05:18 PM

Think twice, buy once…

-- Jim, Nebraska

View JAGWAH's profile

JAGWAH

929 posts in 1832 days


#14 posted 02-03-2010 05:23 PM

Once when I thought twice I think I thought wrong.

-- ~Just A Guy With A Hammer~

View jim C's profile

jim C

1455 posts in 1847 days


#15 posted 02-03-2010 07:37 PM

Jagwah,

Couldn’t have been better said.

Thanks

-- When I was a boy, I was told "anyone can be President", now I'm beginning to believe it!

showing 1 through 15 of 25 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase