LumberJocks

Sharpening System

  • Advertise with us
Review by David Murray posted 01-24-2010 06:54 AM 3114 views 1 time favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Sharpening System Sharpening System No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This is my first review so bear with me.

I needed a way to sharpen my lathe chisels, I didn’t want the expence or have to wait to send them to a sharpening service. I have always been intimidated by sharpening tools so I went to a Rockler store nearby for guidance. They showed me the setup they had for sharpening there turning tools. I gained some valuable tips that day and went about researching products for this purpose.

The system I settled on is PSI’s version. I purchased it from Amazon.com it was $10 cheaper than from PSI and included shipping another $10 savings. All in all $114. I spent another $30 on a grinder from Harbor Freight.

The instruction sheet that came with system is fairly clear and easy to understand. It has a brief step by step paragraph for each attachment.

System came with a “V” Pocket Jig for sharpening gouges.

A grinding platform for regular chisels, skew chisels, parting tools and scrapers.

A Fingernail Jig for fingernail profile gouges.(I have yet to use this attachment)

An Offset Skew Grinding Attachment.

This purchase has allowed me to keep my lathe tools razor sharp. I mounted the system with the grinder near my lathe allowing for quick touch up of tools during a turning project. This is very important especially when turning acrylic and plastic blanks for pens.

I am very satisified with this purchase and would recommend this sharpening system.

-- Dave from "The Sawdust Shed"




View David Murray's profile

David Murray

183 posts in 1800 days



7 comments so far

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4524 posts in 1760 days


#1 posted 01-24-2010 03:27 PM

This looks to be virtually identical to the Wolverine system at a much lower price. I’ve used my Wolverine for some time and I’m very happy with it.

I will make one suggestion. Based on the price I assume that your grinder is not a slow speed grinder. Slow speed grinders (running at 1750 rpm) with a 8” wheels work best for lathe tools.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View 8iowa's profile

8iowa

1489 posts in 2447 days


#2 posted 01-24-2010 03:34 PM

I’ll also place a vote for the 1750 rpm grinder, which is available from Woodcraft. You will also soon need a diamond dresser for your grinding wheels.

-- "Heaven is North of the Bridge"

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1918 days


#3 posted 01-25-2010 03:50 AM

I went with the Wolverine system myself, but had looked at the PSI unit. Had I seen decent reviews like this prior to my purchase, I might have gone with the PSI instead…

Oneway Manufacturing (The guys that make the Wolverine jig) recommend a full speed 8” grinder for sharpening lathe tools, but I see a LOT of advice from folks like the two posters above me saying a slow speed grinder. I went with a Ryobi BGH827 and fitted it with Aluminum Oxide white grinding wheels (60 and 100 grit)... Keeps the tools scary sharp, no loss of temper problem here!

I think if I were not using HSS though, there would be a problem…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4524 posts in 1760 days


#4 posted 01-26-2010 04:08 PM

My grinder is actually a variable speed grinder that I can run from 2000 rpm to 3450 rpm. When I grind lathe tools I run it as slow as possible. I have played with cranking the speed up and it just doesn’t feel right.

I’ve also been taught to use an eight inch wheel because smaller wheels create a cut with too much concavity. Thing is – an 8 inch wheel eventually becomes a 6 inch wheel. I’ll have to decide at what point a change to a new wheel.

As an FYI, I use a 60 grit wheel for my gouges and a 100 grit wheel for my skews and scrapers. I always hone my skews after grinding because, while it is important that every cutting tool be sharp, I think it is important that the skew be super sharp.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View deparrott's profile

deparrott

82 posts in 792 days


#5 posted 01-24-2014 04:33 PM

Dave, I was wondering if you are still happy with this product after having time to really use it. I’m looking at several different systems but there are just so many choices.

-- http://www.etsy.com/shop/WoodTurningCity

View David Murray's profile

David Murray

183 posts in 1800 days


#6 posted 01-24-2014 08:42 PM

Very happy, was a good investment. I use it all the time to keep a sharp edge on turning tools.

-- Dave from "The Sawdust Shed"

View deparrott's profile

deparrott

82 posts in 792 days


#7 posted 01-24-2014 10:55 PM

Thank Dave for the update, I appreciate it
Dale

-- http://www.etsy.com/shop/WoodTurningCity

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase