LumberJocks

Final Bandsaw

  • Advertise with us
Review by PhineasWhipsnake posted 01-21-2010 05:38 AM 3686 views 0 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Final Bandsaw No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I’m retiring in 3 months, so I decided to upgrade to this saw from a Delta 10” I bought 10 years ago. I originally wanted the 17” Grizzly, but decided to buy from a local brick & mortar store (Sacrramento Machinery)for political reasons. This saw has pretty much all the features I wanted: 12” resaw capacity, roller guides, quick-disconnect detensioning, and, most importantly, local support in case of a problem. Like everyone else, I replaced the blade with a Woodslicer from Highland, and couldn’t be happier with the performance. The fit & finish are quite good for a sub-$1K saw, and the guides are reasonably easy to adjust. For some strange reason, Jet included a nice T-handle 6mm allen wrench, but I couldn’t find a single fastener on the saw that needed it. The roller guides all use a 4mm allen wrench (a conventional L-wrench was supplied). I found it quite easy to change blades, and I was soon resawing some 8” wide red oak. I’m a little disappointed that Jet didn’t include a fence and task light, but I sprung for the Kreg fence, which completes the package. The saw is quiet & smooth (with the new blade, of course). Overall, I’m quite happy with this machine.

-- Gene T




View PhineasWhipsnake's profile

PhineasWhipsnake

77 posts in 1700 days



11 comments so far

View MedicKen's profile

MedicKen

1599 posts in 2115 days


#1 posted 01-21-2010 05:55 AM

Welcome to LJ’s and good luck with the new toy

-- My job is to give my kids things to discuss with their therapist....medic20447@gmail.com

View Andrew's profile

Andrew

709 posts in 1851 days


#2 posted 01-21-2010 01:52 PM

Thanks for the info, You will be happy with that model.

-- Even a broken clock is right twice a day, unless, it moves at half speed like ....-As the Saw Turns

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4524 posts in 1727 days


#3 posted 01-21-2010 03:42 PM

Thanks for the review. I have this model’s big brother, the 18 inch without a quick release. I’ve been very happy with it.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View rustfever's profile

rustfever

624 posts in 1963 days


#4 posted 01-21-2010 09:01 PM

Glad to hear of your success. I, too, have had good success with the several Jets I own. The ‘Green’ Brand, on the other hand has been nothing but disappointment

There is no subsitute for a well tuned/adjusted/accurate tool. There is nothing worse than a tool that will not maintain adjustment.

-- Rustfever, Central California

View bigike's profile

bigike

4031 posts in 1941 days


#5 posted 01-21-2010 11:54 PM

yea i wanted to buy one too but then i found the rikon 14” so i think i’ll get the rikon then a driftmaster fence from laguna. whats the HP on the jet?

-- Ike, Big Daddies Woodshop, http://www.icombadaniels@yahoo.com

View stefang's profile

stefang

13019 posts in 1987 days


#6 posted 01-22-2010 09:03 PM

Hey Gene, congrats on your new BS. I couldn’t help but wonder if the 6mm allen wrench is used to mount/demount the thing that you swing your table on, the table level set screw or perhaps the wheel or tension screw mountings. Just a shot in the dark.

-- Mike, an American living in Norway.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112083 posts in 2230 days


#7 posted 02-11-2010 08:16 AM

Thanks for the review

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12290 posts in 2750 days


#8 posted 02-28-2010 06:33 AM

Nice Saw Gene. I live about a mile from SMC.

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View NBeener's profile

NBeener

4806 posts in 1827 days


#9 posted 02-28-2010 06:44 AM

Great review. Great machine! Congrats!!

”Jet included a nice T-handle 6mm allen wrench, but I couldn’t find a single fastener on the saw that needed it. ”

Only one SURE way to find out what it fits.

Throw it away ;-)

-- -- Neil

View NBeener's profile

NBeener

4806 posts in 1827 days


#10 posted 02-28-2010 06:47 AM

From the Jet manual of another model band saw:

“With a 6mm hex wrench, secure the motor
to the saw body with 2 each M8×25 socket
head cap screws (A), M8 spring washers,
and M8×30 flat washers©. Do not tighten
at this time.”

AND

“With a 6mm hex wrench, tighten both socket
head cap screws (D, Fig. 5).”

Source: http://content.wmhtoolgroup.com/manuals/man_708113A.pdf

MAYBE it’ll help with yours ???

-- -- Neil

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 2538 days


#11 posted 02-28-2010 06:50 AM

Great buy I hope you will love it for a LONG TIME. ;-)

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase