LumberJocks

Final Bandsaw

  • Advertise with us
Review by PhineasWhipsnake posted 01-21-2010 05:38 AM 3753 views 0 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Final Bandsaw No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I’m retiring in 3 months, so I decided to upgrade to this saw from a Delta 10” I bought 10 years ago. I originally wanted the 17” Grizzly, but decided to buy from a local brick & mortar store (Sacrramento Machinery)for political reasons. This saw has pretty much all the features I wanted: 12” resaw capacity, roller guides, quick-disconnect detensioning, and, most importantly, local support in case of a problem. Like everyone else, I replaced the blade with a Woodslicer from Highland, and couldn’t be happier with the performance. The fit & finish are quite good for a sub-$1K saw, and the guides are reasonably easy to adjust. For some strange reason, Jet included a nice T-handle 6mm allen wrench, but I couldn’t find a single fastener on the saw that needed it. The roller guides all use a 4mm allen wrench (a conventional L-wrench was supplied). I found it quite easy to change blades, and I was soon resawing some 8” wide red oak. I’m a little disappointed that Jet didn’t include a fence and task light, but I sprung for the Kreg fence, which completes the package. The saw is quiet & smooth (with the new blade, of course). Overall, I’m quite happy with this machine.

-- Gene T




View PhineasWhipsnake's profile

PhineasWhipsnake

77 posts in 1799 days



11 comments so far

View MedicKen's profile

MedicKen

1602 posts in 2213 days


#1 posted 01-21-2010 05:55 AM

Welcome to LJ’s and good luck with the new toy

-- My job is to give my kids things to discuss with their therapist....medic20447@gmail.com

View Andrew's profile

Andrew

709 posts in 1950 days


#2 posted 01-21-2010 01:52 PM

Thanks for the info, You will be happy with that model.

-- Even a broken clock is right twice a day, unless, it moves at half speed like ....-As the Saw Turns

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4525 posts in 1826 days


#3 posted 01-21-2010 03:42 PM

Thanks for the review. I have this model’s big brother, the 18 inch without a quick release. I’ve been very happy with it.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View rustfever's profile

rustfever

639 posts in 2061 days


#4 posted 01-21-2010 09:01 PM

Glad to hear of your success. I, too, have had good success with the several Jets I own. The ‘Green’ Brand, on the other hand has been nothing but disappointment

There is no subsitute for a well tuned/adjusted/accurate tool. There is nothing worse than a tool that will not maintain adjustment.

-- Rustfever, Central California

View bigike's profile

bigike

4035 posts in 2039 days


#5 posted 01-21-2010 11:54 PM

yea i wanted to buy one too but then i found the rikon 14” so i think i’ll get the rikon then a driftmaster fence from laguna. whats the HP on the jet?

-- Ike, Big Daddies Woodshop, http://www.icombadaniels@yahoo.com

View stefang's profile

stefang

13633 posts in 2085 days


#6 posted 01-22-2010 09:03 PM

Hey Gene, congrats on your new BS. I couldn’t help but wonder if the 6mm allen wrench is used to mount/demount the thing that you swing your table on, the table level set screw or perhaps the wheel or tension screw mountings. Just a shot in the dark.

-- Mike, an American living in Norway.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112933 posts in 2328 days


#7 posted 02-11-2010 08:16 AM

Thanks for the review

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12302 posts in 2848 days


#8 posted 02-28-2010 06:33 AM

Nice Saw Gene. I live about a mile from SMC.

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View NBeener's profile

NBeener

4806 posts in 1925 days


#9 posted 02-28-2010 06:44 AM

Great review. Great machine! Congrats!!

”Jet included a nice T-handle 6mm allen wrench, but I couldn’t find a single fastener on the saw that needed it. ”

Only one SURE way to find out what it fits.

Throw it away ;-)

-- -- Neil

View NBeener's profile

NBeener

4806 posts in 1925 days


#10 posted 02-28-2010 06:47 AM

From the Jet manual of another model band saw:

“With a 6mm hex wrench, secure the motor
to the saw body with 2 each M8×25 socket
head cap screws (A), M8 spring washers,
and M8×30 flat washers©. Do not tighten
at this time.”

AND

“With a 6mm hex wrench, tighten both socket
head cap screws (D, Fig. 5).”

Source: http://content.wmhtoolgroup.com/manuals/man_708113A.pdf

MAYBE it’ll help with yours ???

-- -- Neil

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 2637 days


#11 posted 02-28-2010 06:50 AM

Great buy I hope you will love it for a LONG TIME. ;-)

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase