LumberJocks

WorkSharp WS3000 Wide Blade Attachment Changed Everything!

  • Advertise with us
Review by fivecodys posted 09-25-2018 06:25 PM 726 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
WorkSharp WS3000 Wide Blade Attachment Changed Everything! WorkSharp WS3000 Wide Blade Attachment Changed Everything! No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I purchased my WorkSharp 3000 last year for the primary purpose of sharpening chisels.
It seems to do that pretty well and I was happy until I fell into the world of old hand planes.
This seemed to take forever.
I was not very happy with the results I was getting.
I had pretty much fell out of love with this machine and then I read about the wide blade attachment.
Holy cow! What a game changer!
I had this installed and ready to go in just a few minutes and with the handy guide it comes with, for setting the bevel, I was getting my irons scary sharp very quickly.
I am no longer wearing a groove in the sanding discs, I am using almost the entire disc surface area.

I think my only gripe has been that this machine should have come with this attachment right from the factory.

Anyway,
That’s my opinion. Your results may vary.

-- I always knew I would grow old, But I expected it to take longer!




View fivecodys's profile

fivecodys

1165 posts in 1780 days



10 comments so far

View robscastle's profile

robscastle

5313 posts in 2348 days


#1 posted 09-26-2018 01:36 PM

fivecodys,
Agree they are very good machines.
Agree for the initial cost the accessories should be included, but then everybody would want the knife sharpener thrown in as well!
Mind you accessories are vey expensive, dont break a platten or a belt !!

BTW what is the meaning of the name fivecodys please?

-- Regards Rob

View fivecodys's profile

fivecodys

1165 posts in 1780 days


#2 posted 09-26-2018 04:35 PM



fivecodys,
Agree they are very good machines.
Agree for the initial cost the accessories should be included, but then everybody would want the knife sharpener thrown in as well!
Mind you accessories are vey expensive, dont break a platten or a belt !!

BTW what is the meaning of the name fivecodys please?

- robscastle

Hi Rob,

I chose this user name many years ago when all of my children were still living at home.
My last name is Cody and there were five of us so….......


-- I always knew I would grow old, But I expected it to take longer!

View woodenwarrior's profile

woodenwarrior

238 posts in 2338 days


#3 posted 09-26-2018 08:12 PM

I agree. I use mine with my Veritas MkII jig ( I trust its accuracy more) and the skew registration jig to sharpen my skew chisels, it makes life a lot easier.

-- Do or do not...there is no try - Master Yoda

View robscastle's profile

robscastle

5313 posts in 2348 days


#4 posted 09-26-2018 10:41 PM

Got it!

-- Regards Rob

View fivecodys's profile

fivecodys

1165 posts in 1780 days


#5 posted 09-26-2018 10:48 PM



I agree. I use mine with my Veritas MkII jig ( I trust its accuracy more) and the skew registration jig to sharpen my skew chisels, it makes life a lot easier.

- woodenwarrior

I will have to look into that.

-- I always knew I would grow old, But I expected it to take longer!

View fivecodys's profile

fivecodys

1165 posts in 1780 days


#6 posted 09-26-2018 10:48 PM

Oops. Posted 2X

-- I always knew I would grow old, But I expected it to take longer!

View jdh122's profile

jdh122

1038 posts in 2961 days


#7 posted 09-28-2018 01:29 PM

Nice to know. I’ve considered getting the accessory, but always hesitated because of some complaints I read that the attachment is too hard to get coplanar with the wheel. I should probably re-consider.

-- Jeremy, in the Acadian forests

View RJweb's profile

RJweb

121 posts in 2776 days


#8 posted 09-28-2018 09:39 PM

i have been looking at the worksharp 3000 for a while, is it that great, thx RJ

-- Life Begins @ 190 MPH

View fivecodys's profile

fivecodys

1165 posts in 1780 days


#9 posted 09-28-2018 09:55 PM


i have been looking at the worksharp 3000 for a while, is it that great, thx RJ

- RJweb

I guess that depends on what you compare it to.
I use mine for sharpening chisels and just recently, plane irons.
It is working well for me.
Before I added the wide blade attachment?......I wasn’t so happy with it.
Now?...... I’m pretty happy.

-- I always knew I would grow old, But I expected it to take longer!

View HokieKen's profile

HokieKen

6266 posts in 1282 days


#10 posted 10-03-2018 12:39 PM

I couldn’t agree more. The chisel port is my “go-to” for chisels but plane irons all go on the wide blade attachment. IMO, the guide is superior to my Veritas Mk1 or any of the other guides I’ve tried for sharpening a straight edge.

-- Kenny, SW VA, Go Hokies!!!

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com