LumberJocks

Terrible Experience and Horrendous Customer Service

  • Advertise with us
Review by Wes123 posted 08-17-2018 07:55 PM 2435 views 0 times favorited 13 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Terrible Experience and Horrendous Customer Service No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I purchased a set of IBC’s bench chisels about three weeks ago with high hopes. When I decided to upgrade to a set of premium chisels and I saw that IBC had a new chisel that it was endorsed by Rob Cosman and David Charlesworth, I was really excited to get my hands on them.

After placing my order, I immediately received an order confirmation and my card was charged in full. Since placing the order (three weeks ago) I have not heard from IBC at all and I have not received the chisels. Over the past three weeks I have called IBC, sent multiple emails, and made numerous submissions using IBC’s contact us page, but have had absolutely no response from IBC. I even read through IBC’s privacy policy looking for alternate methods of contacting IBC, but to no avail. At this point, I doubt I will even receive the chisels and I am considering reporting the charge as fraudulent if I don’t hear back from the company in the next few days.

Just want to share my experience in case anybody else is considering ordering from IBC.




View Wes123's profile

Wes123

8 posts in 1624 days



13 comments so far

View Rayne's profile

Rayne

1091 posts in 1717 days


#1 posted 08-17-2018 09:04 PM

You may want to retitle the review. It gives the impression the chisels themselves are horrible when it’s really the company. And 2nd, have you tried contacting them through Facebook? They have a page and you can message them. Worth a shot as well.

View bruc101's profile

bruc101

1256 posts in 3719 days


#2 posted 08-17-2018 11:57 PM

Do they not answer the phone?

-- Bruce Free Plans http://plans.sawmillvalley.org

View cmmyakman's profile

cmmyakman

205 posts in 2833 days


#3 posted 08-18-2018 12:18 AM

It’s August. They are probably on vacation.

-- You can't fail if you don't give up.

View Jeff's profile

Jeff

479 posts in 3372 days


#4 posted 08-18-2018 12:33 PM

You could ask your credit card company to reverse the charge but I don’t think it’s been long enough. I do understand the frustration of waiting three weeks with no contact but a little bit more patience may be needed.

View woodsmithshop's profile

woodsmithshop

1340 posts in 3723 days


#5 posted 08-18-2018 12:50 PM

I think, by law, (not 100% sure) that if you do not receive your order within 30 days you can cancel the order.

-- Smitty!!!

View GR8HUNTER's profile

GR8HUNTER

4935 posts in 890 days


#6 posted 08-18-2018 03:40 PM

I love my Stanley fat-max chisels :<))

-- Tony---- Reinholds,Pa.------ REMEMBER TO ALWAYS HAVE FUN

View Mainiac Matt 's profile (online now)

Mainiac Matt

8513 posts in 2506 days


#7 posted 08-18-2018 04:30 PM

Report the transaction to your CC company and they’ll pull the money right back out of the vendors account (yes, they can do that) and then you’ll get a call from their CS within a day begging to know how they can help you.

-- I yam what I yam and that's all what I yam

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1624 posts in 1392 days


#8 posted 08-18-2018 11:20 PM

https://www.ibctools.ca/contact/
the phone # is disconnected

Bat- why did you give 5stars in the previous review?

Credit Card question- will our CC cover foreign purchases? (IBC was/is Canadian)

-- Desert_Woodworker

View jacquesr's profile

jacquesr

344 posts in 1600 days


#9 posted 08-19-2018 03:13 AM

1-416-264-9534

This number seems to work

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1624 posts in 1392 days


#10 posted 08-19-2018 04:06 AM

Off my watch

-- Desert_Woodworker

View Commarato53's profile

Commarato53

32 posts in 1803 days


#11 posted 08-22-2018 04:51 PM

+1 what Manianc Mike said. Go to Hartville Tool and buy a set of Sorby chisels, they have paring, mortising etc. Or get a set of 2 Cherries. I think Woodnet has a 15% discount at Hartville Tool.

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11822 posts in 3865 days


#12 posted 09-16-2018 01:41 AM

You haven’t received the chisels and yet you have rated them as 1 star. SMDH . This is NOT a tool review.

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1624 posts in 1392 days


#13 posted 09-16-2018 03:00 AM



You haven t received the chisels and yet you have rated them as 1 star. SMDH . This is NOT a tool review.

- Dusty56

+1

-- Desert_Woodworker

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com