LumberJocks

CMT blade cleaner works well

  • Advertise with us
Review by waho6o9 posted 08-02-2018 04:11 PM 979 views 0 times favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
CMT blade cleaner works well No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I decided to clean my Infinity saw blade with CMT and I like the results. It was quick as well.

CMT Formula 2050.




View waho6o9's profile

waho6o9

8421 posts in 2722 days



15 comments so far

View Bill_Steele's profile

Bill_Steele

416 posts in 1877 days


#1 posted 08-02-2018 06:29 PM

Thanks for the review—that saw blade looks like a mirror it’s so clean! I like how you clean it on the bottom of a 5 gallon bucket—good idea – I use aluminium foil pizza pans—but I don’t throw them away I just rinse them off. I’ve been using Easy-Off oven cleaner to clean my blades and router bits—but maybe I’ll try CMT.

View wncguy's profile

wncguy

404 posts in 2458 days


#2 posted 08-02-2018 08:37 PM

Did you just soak (how long?) & dry – or use brush, etc too?

-- Any man can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a Dad

View lew's profile

lew

12324 posts in 3901 days


#3 posted 08-02-2018 10:27 PM

I love the stuff! A brass brush speeds up the crud removal.

Thanks for the review.

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View GR8HUNTER's profile

GR8HUNTER

4725 posts in 858 days


#4 posted 08-03-2018 12:27 AM

WOW what a difference ….and no harsh chemicals …. NICE REVEIW THANKS :<))

-- Tony---- Reinholds,Pa.------ REMEMBER TO ALWAYS HAVE FUN

View NormG's profile

NormG

6252 posts in 3149 days


#5 posted 08-03-2018 02:36 AM

What a wonderful difference

-- Norman - I never never make a mistake, I just change the design.

View waho6o9's profile

waho6o9

8421 posts in 2722 days


#6 posted 08-03-2018 03:13 AM

Good to know Easy Off works too, Thanks Bill.

Did you just soak (how long?) & dry – or use brush, etc too?

Just soak for several minutes and rinse off.

I’ll use a brass brush next time, thanks for the friendly advice Lew!

Thanks for the kind words Folks.

View Woodknack's profile

Woodknack

12369 posts in 2526 days


#7 posted 08-03-2018 05:56 AM

edit, nm, already answered.

-- Rick M, http://thewoodknack.blogspot.com/

View SirTim's profile

SirTim

8 posts in 572 days


#8 posted 08-05-2018 04:11 PM

I found that it works great except I let it soak too long (10min) on a blade and it took most of the writing of the blade that identified what it was. Strange enough that it was a CMT glue line rip blade. It also takes some of the red coating off the freud blades.

View waho6o9's profile

waho6o9

8421 posts in 2722 days


#9 posted 08-05-2018 04:17 PM

Amazing it would take off some of the red coating from the Freud blades.

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

24392 posts in 3997 days


#10 posted 08-07-2018 01:49 AM

Good result.

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View waho6o9's profile

waho6o9

8421 posts in 2722 days


#11 posted 08-07-2018 02:03 PM

Thanks Grumpy

View splintergroup's profile

splintergroup

2304 posts in 1368 days


#12 posted 08-07-2018 09:53 PM



Good to know Easy Off works too, Thanks Bill.

Did you just soak (how long?) & dry – or use brush, etc too?

Just soak for several minutes and rinse off.

I ll use a brass brush next time, thanks for the friendly advice Lew!

Thanks for the kind words Folks.

- waho6o9

Hey Bill, I used to use oven cleaner but found that “Simple Green” works just as well for the table saw blades.

View skiler's profile

skiler

68 posts in 2101 days


#13 posted 08-07-2018 10:41 PM

+1 for simple green

View waho6o9's profile

waho6o9

8421 posts in 2722 days


#14 posted 08-08-2018 02:06 AM

Cleaner, degreaser, stain remover and deodorizer
Removes tough stains, grime, grease and lingering odors
Safe for use on a multitude of surfaces including fabric, carpet, upholstery, sealed or painted wood, stone, tile, fiberglass, metal, plastic, rubber, brick, concrete and much more
Won’t corrode or degrade metal, rubber, vinyl or PVC

^ From: https://simplegreen.com/products/all-purpose-cleaner/

Simple Green seems like a winner as well, good to know Skiler

View OSU55's profile

OSU55

1865 posts in 2135 days


#15 posted 08-14-2018 03:28 PM

Plain household amonia works very well also – saw blades, router bits, where ever you get a build up

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com