LumberJocks

first rate wall-mounted pencil sharpener

  • Advertise with us
Review by KDL posted 01-06-2010 07:43 PM 5656 views 0 times favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
first rate wall-mounted pencil sharpener No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Yeah, I know, it’s a pencil sharpener. But it’s a really good one like I remember from elementary school.

I don’t have much luck with little plastic hand-held pencil sharpeners, and the Boston brand desktop sharpener in my office doesn’t give me a good, sharp point. So I bought a new sharpener for my shop. I bought it at an office supply store, I think it was Office Depot. I had a choice of a couple generic and in-store brand sharpeners, plus this X-ACTO. The X-ACTO was a few dollars more, but given my past experience with non-sharpening sharpeners, I was happy to pay for a name brand associated with sharp things. I’m glad I did. This sharpener is solid, easy to mount, and gives me a super-fine point. And another good thing, unlike those sharpeners I remember from school, this one doesn’t eat pencils.




View KDL's profile

KDL

36 posts in 2454 days



14 comments so far

View Eric_S's profile

Eric_S

1521 posts in 1882 days


#1 posted 01-06-2010 07:47 PM

Do schools even still have pencil sharpeners or does everyone use mechanical pencils now? I do remember those types of sharpeners eating up all my pencils though and leaving me with little stubs. My parents weren’t too happy that I would ruin a box of pencils so quickly. I always blamed the school sharpener lol.

-- - Eric Indianapolis, IN

View Randy Sharp's profile

Randy Sharp

351 posts in 2359 days


#2 posted 01-06-2010 08:44 PM

Thanks for the review! I’m in the market for a pencil sharpener for the shop.

-- Randy, Tupelo, MS ~ A man who honors his wife will have children who honor their father.

View Greg..the Cajun  Box Sculptor's profile

Greg..the Cajun Box Sculptor

5178 posts in 1995 days


#3 posted 01-06-2010 10:44 PM

I had one of those pld style pencil sharpeners years ago until I discovered how better and precise mechanical pencils are. I now keep about a dozen Pentel mechanical pencils with a #5 lead around my shop.

-- We all must start somewhere in our journey of doing what we love to do.

View ChesapeakeBob's profile

ChesapeakeBob

342 posts in 2169 days


#4 posted 01-07-2010 01:07 AM

I hate to ask, but where is this one made?

Thanks,

CB

-- Chesapeake Bob, Southern Maryland

View NBeener's profile

NBeener

4806 posts in 1860 days


#5 posted 01-07-2010 02:28 AM

I have the exact same one, and love it. It really IS the little things …. ;-)

-- -- Neil

View nmkidd's profile

nmkidd

758 posts in 1859 days


#6 posted 01-07-2010 06:02 AM

Sharp is good!

-- Doug, New Mexico.......the only stupid question is one that is never asked!........don't fix it, if it ain't broke!

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1802 days


#7 posted 01-07-2010 10:44 AM

thank´s for the rewiew
but my daughter learned how to sharpen pencil´s
so I stick to that

Dennis

View KDL's profile

KDL

36 posts in 2454 days


#8 posted 01-07-2010 05:29 PM

Bob, you asked where this sharpener was made. I don’t remember where and it’s not marked on the sharpener. I do remember that it was marked on the box and not the same as the generic and in-store brand options I skipped (they much lighter, too). I read somewhere that X-ACTO bought out Boston.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112298 posts in 2264 days


#9 posted 01-07-2010 05:41 PM

interesting review

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4524 posts in 1761 days


#10 posted 01-08-2010 02:45 AM

I can’t look at a pencil sharpener like this without remembering an episode of Candid Camera from 40+ years ago. The episode focused on people’s butt gyrations while people sharpened their pencil and it was put to music. Oh the things we remember.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View Routerisstillmyname's profile

Routerisstillmyname

712 posts in 2195 days


#11 posted 01-08-2010 03:44 AM

THX for sharp review. point made. I just went out and got one.

-- Router è ancora il mio nome.

View Scotty Stepp's profile

Scotty Stepp

25 posts in 2249 days


#12 posted 01-08-2010 03:52 PM

Lee Valley also sells one that works great! I have it and a set of their #2 and HB pencils…well worth the price.

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2508 days


#13 posted 01-08-2010 08:06 PM

This is an interesting review. I have one that will grind down about half of the pencil before I get any kind of point on it. I do better just using a utility knife right now. The next time I am around Office Depot I will have to look into getting one of these.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View sIKE's profile

sIKE

1271 posts in 2440 days


#14 posted 01-08-2010 08:33 PM

Thanks for the review, I have one that my FIL gave me, it makes a really sharp point,but leaves wood on one side of the lead. I have learned to twist the pencil as I sharpen to avoid the issue. I will look into getting one of these here soon.

-- //FC - Round Rock, TX - "Experience is what you get just after you need it"

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase