LumberJocks

Ryobi AP 1301 13-inch portable planer: good basic planer for beginning woodworkers

  • Advertise with us
Review by dmoney posted 01-02-2010 02:42 AM 19955 views 0 times favorited 22 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Ryobi AP 1301 13-inch portable planer: good basic planer for beginning woodworkers Ryobi AP 1301 13-inch portable planer: good basic planer for beginning woodworkers Ryobi AP 1301 13-inch portable planer: good basic planer for beginning woodworkers Click the pictures to enlarge them

keep in mind:
I’ve had this for about a week so here are my opinions so far.
This is my first planer.
I bought this one reconditioned.
It was cheap, only $159 at cporyobi.com. free shipping and no sales tax.

It does a good job planing. All I’ve ran thru it is oak and pine. The results are very good, probably because the blades are still new.

It has no infeed/outfeed extension. In the pic you can see I made a crude one for myself using a leaf from an old dining room table. It’s slick on top and works great. I put cleats on the bottom so it wouldn’t move. I also had to shim the infeed part slightly with a couple puzzle pieces to get rid of sniping. There is probably still some snipe that someone more experienced would be able to find but the results so far look good to me.

The dust collection…is terrible. I have a big shop vac that sucks pretty hard but this planer still makes a terrible mess. It’s surprising to me that it planes so good with all those shavings going everywhere. You can see wear on the infeed/outfeed table I made, that is from the dust chips that get trapped underneath the wood I’m planing. I will probably have to clean/wax this area a lot.

Overall, I like it. It’s awesome to have a planer! Sure beats planing by hand. I would recommend this to beginners (like me). I think it’s a good first planer. An experienced woodworker would most likely be disappointed. It lets you get your feet wet without breaking the bank.

I’ll add to this review after I’ve used it more.

-- Derek, Iowa




View dmoney's profile

dmoney

191 posts in 1830 days



22 comments so far

View Ben 's profile

Ben

158 posts in 2115 days


#1 posted 01-02-2010 03:32 AM

Good review Derek. I strongly considered this planer. It received good reviews by Fine Woodworking and was voted the best value in portable planers.

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1982 days


#2 posted 01-02-2010 04:30 AM

Derek,

Try planing with your stock closest to the DC port, you will blow chips on ANY planer that has a side port if you are planing on the other side of the bed from the port, the chips simply have that much further to go…

As you gain more experience with this planer, or read the owners manual, you may gain an appreciation for how good of a bargain it is at full price, let alone refurbished like you got…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View Routerisstillmyname's profile

Routerisstillmyname

713 posts in 2259 days


#3 posted 01-02-2010 06:33 AM

THX for the review. How does it look for a reconditioned if you had to rate 1-10?

-- Router รจ ancora il mio nome.

View masman's profile

masman

2 posts in 1817 days


#4 posted 01-02-2010 06:40 AM

One of these days I’m going to buy one of those. It wouldn’t be used much but it would give my boards a great starting point.
Thanks

-- MasMan from the Fiery Gizzard

View crazy4wood's profile

crazy4wood

24 posts in 1822 days


#5 posted 01-02-2010 08:49 AM

ive bought this planer a few months ago, ive ripped down my barnwood, walnut, padauk, lacewood, pine, maple, it does a good job, it does snipe if you dont have an extension board out back, but i usually allow my self extra room on the board for that, and dont concern myself with snipe to much, other wise run a xtra stick with a board that is to length and it takes away the snipe if your already cut to size. i love the planer it is the cheapest out there, but for hardwood, slow and steady, and it works very well… i have no complaints on this machine at all. but then again i dont have anything to compare the ryobi to also. but id buy it again any day of the week and three times on sunday.

View dmoney's profile

dmoney

191 posts in 1830 days


#6 posted 01-02-2010 03:22 PM

It looks good for a reconditioned. I’d give it an 8. See the pics. If it wouldn’t have had shavings in it when I received it, it would have looked just like a new one. It only took a couple mins for me to blow all those out before I used it. But I guess that saved me $40 over buying one new. plus sales tax. :) I’m cheap.

-- Derek, Iowa

View Frostyjo's profile

Frostyjo

19 posts in 2260 days


#7 posted 01-02-2010 04:48 PM

I’ve had one of these for about 3 years now. It’s been a fair little planer. Be carefull with the crank handle. They snap off where the pin holds the handle to the pointer. For the dust collection, make sure the plastic cover your vac connects to is closed all the way. If it’s open at all you lose suction and chips will go everywhere. Mine has a fair amount of snipe no matter what I do. If I was going to buy another planer marketed for home/hobbist use, I’d look for one with a locking head. For the money, it does a good job.

-- If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem.

View tucsoncyclist's profile

tucsoncyclist

96 posts in 1841 days


#8 posted 01-02-2010 05:00 PM

I have the 1300 model and I believe that the blades change out the same. If you have an impact driver, use it to loosen the allen screws. You will have the blades out in 2 minutes. They are very difficult to remove by hand and have a tendency to strip. There is a button on the right side that is normally held down by the dust collector. If you press that button you can rotate the drum to have better access to the screws.

I love mine and I’m sure you will fell the same after more use.

-- Marc - Tucson, AZ

View AaronK's profile

AaronK

1399 posts in 2215 days


#9 posted 01-02-2010 08:21 PM

ive got the 1300 too… thanks for the tip re:impact driver. didnt think of that!

View john's profile

john

2319 posts in 3132 days


#10 posted 01-02-2010 08:28 PM

I have the same planer and it worked great until i lost the safety key in the switch .
I am having a hard time finding another one now ?

-- John in Belgrave (Website) http://www.extremebirdhouse.com , http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=112698715866

View Jeison's profile

Jeison

947 posts in 1858 days


#11 posted 01-02-2010 09:08 PM

John, try ereplacementparts.com or toolpartsdirect.com

-- - Jei, Rockford IL - When in doubt, spray it with WD-40 and wrap it with duct tape. The details will attend to themselves.

View john's profile

john

2319 posts in 3132 days


#12 posted 01-02-2010 09:20 PM

Thanks Jei ! I will check them out .

-- John in Belgrave (Website) http://www.extremebirdhouse.com , http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=112698715866

View chewbuddy13's profile

chewbuddy13

150 posts in 2036 days


#13 posted 01-04-2010 07:35 PM

I have this planer as well and think it is a great machine for the money. I put duct tape on the seams of the plastic cover on the back and this helped the chip collection quite a bit. I also found that if you run the boards on the right side it does much better at collecting the shavings.

View Dudley's profile

Dudley

742 posts in 2011 days


#14 posted 01-06-2010 07:53 PM

I have the earlyer model I think it’s the AP1300. It has the cutter head lock which is a plus. Take a look at my in and out feed extentions.
http://lumberjocks.com/projects/22954

-- Dudley Young USN Retired. Sebastian, Fl.

View Dustmite97's profile

Dustmite97

430 posts in 1971 days


#15 posted 01-15-2010 07:43 PM

I just got one of these as well and I am very happy with it so far. I have had no problems with the dust colllection because I have a 1.5 hp dust collector hooked up to it.

showing 1 through 15 of 22 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase