LumberJocks

Surprisingly Simple

  • Advertise with us
Review by pintodeluxe posted 05-01-2018 04:11 PM 1352 views 1 time favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Surprisingly Simple No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This style of freestanding template jig has been around for a long time, but this one focuses on box joints. You can make 1/2” or 3/4” box joints, and the kit comes with just about everything you need. Just add an MDF fence, and you’re off to the races.

Chuck the included router bit in your router, and install the eBush, then rout your first workpiece. Then flip the little green tab and rout the mating workpiece. The offset is automatic!

I started with the eBush set at “5”, and made one minor adjustment to “4.5” and the joints have fit perfectly ever since. Compared to a tablesaw based box joint jig, the beehive jig benefits from almost no tearout. The Leigh bit is extremely sharp and well made, and the MDF fence prevents any tearout on the back.

I have 4 or 5 other router-based box joint jigs, as well as a tablesaw based jig. I will say this is the easiest to setup and produce snug-fitting joints. Plus it comes at a much lower price point than some of my other jigs. The one negative point is there is no dust collection available. If you’re willing to let the chips fly, this jig really does the trick.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush




View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5736 posts in 2896 days



8 comments so far

View kdc68's profile

kdc68

2679 posts in 2359 days


#1 posted 05-01-2018 10:06 PM

Good review…..Thanks for the info !

-- Measure "at least" twice and cut once

View NormG's profile

NormG

6216 posts in 3086 days


#2 posted 05-02-2018 01:51 AM

Awesome jig

-- Norman - I never never make a mistake, I just change the design.

View KTNC's profile

KTNC

85 posts in 339 days


#3 posted 05-02-2018 03:47 AM

Thanks for your review.

View Arcola60's profile

Arcola60

95 posts in 2466 days


#4 posted 05-02-2018 05:32 AM

Thanks for the review. I have purchased the Jig, also. I have not had a chance to set it up yet. Moving has caused some shop setup issues.

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5736 posts in 2896 days


#5 posted 05-02-2018 06:03 AM



Thanks for the review. I have purchased the Jig, also. I have not had a chance to set it up yet. Moving has caused some shop setup issues.

- Arcola60

I think you’ll like the beehive jig. Setup was quite easy.
Good luck setting up shop!

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View Albert's profile

Albert

512 posts in 3672 days


#6 posted 05-02-2018 02:48 PM

Thanks Neighbor, I think I might have to get one of these!

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

8269 posts in 2411 days


#7 posted 05-02-2018 04:01 PM

I wonder if you could use a setup like this on a router table…..

Hmmmmmm….

-- I yam what I yam and that's all what I yam

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5736 posts in 2896 days


#8 posted 05-02-2018 04:03 PM



I wonder if you could use a setup like this on a router table…..

Hmmmmmm….

- Mainiac Matt

Yes, you sure can. You just need a router table insert that accepts standard P.C. style guide bushings.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com