LumberJocks

Titebond II Fluorescent Glue

  • Advertise with us
Review by Rich posted 03-03-2018 05:32 PM 1916 views 1 time favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Titebond II Fluorescent Glue No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

(This is from a blog post I did as part of my UV in the Shop series. Since it is a product, I thought I’d add a review for it as well).

Well, who knew that Franklin made a Titebond glue with fluorescent dye added? I sure didn’t. But they do!
It’s Franklin 2316 Titebond Fluorescent Glue.

I’ve read countless articles about glue residue and how to expose it. Conventional wisdom is to dampen it with warm water and the color will change. I’ve used that technique and it works to a degree. I’ve still had occasions where I was fooled and glue residue reared its ugly head.

With this Titebond II glue with fluorescing dye, you can see the glue residue using a $10 UV flashlight.

Here are some images to show its value:

These are a couple of boards glued up with this glue

It looks just like Titebond II. But with a UV flashlight you see this

Here is the backside that was laying on the mat and got glue squeeze-out smeared on it

Looks OK in regular light, but here is the glue residue exposed by the UV light

Honestly, in a typical situation, I’d miss that glue residue. But using Titebond II fluorescent with a UV flashlight exposes it.

-- Half of what we read or hear about finishing is right. We just don’t know which half! — Bob Flexner




View Rich's profile (online now)

Rich

3888 posts in 793 days



15 comments so far

View Gene Howe's profile

Gene Howe

11072 posts in 3632 days


#1 posted 03-03-2018 05:43 PM

Never seen that on the shelf. Great idea, Franklin. And, thanks, Rich.

-- Gene 'The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.' G. K. Chesterton

View lew's profile

lew

12437 posts in 3959 days


#2 posted 03-04-2018 12:42 AM

Thanks!

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View Andybb's profile

Andybb

1522 posts in 807 days


#3 posted 03-04-2018 01:22 AM

Cool Rich. Leave it to you to come up with something like that.

-- Andy - Seattle USA

View Rich's profile (online now)

Rich

3888 posts in 793 days


#4 posted 03-04-2018 05:03 AM

Gene – I had never seen it either. I stumbled across it doing searches for using UV to highlight glues to see if other glues fluoresce like hide glue. The Titebond site shows a pint bottle, but all I found online were gallons. I ordered from Amazon for $32.79 + 9.95 shipping. Woodworker Express has it for $23.99, but you have to order two gallons. Not sure of the shipping on that one.

Lew – You’re welcome. Let me know if you get some and like it.

Andy – lol. It makes me want to do some windowpane and put Hendrix on the stereo. I was joking with my wife that I could paint invisible blacklight art on my pieces. It might turn out to be more popular than the black velvet Elvis paintings. Still jealous about that Laguna of yours, BTW.

-- Half of what we read or hear about finishing is right. We just don’t know which half! — Bob Flexner

View kdc68's profile

kdc68

2691 posts in 2480 days


#5 posted 03-04-2018 11:29 PM

Thanks for the info. Good review and cool product awareness for us all. Thanks

-- Measure "at least" twice and cut once

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

8561 posts in 2532 days


#6 posted 03-05-2018 02:15 AM

Very clever they are

-- I yam what I yam and that's all what I yam

View Jon Hobbs's profile

Jon Hobbs

147 posts in 908 days


#7 posted 03-05-2018 07:07 PM



I was joking with my wife that I could paint invisible blacklight art on my pieces. It might turn out to be more popular than the black velvet Elvis paintings. Still jealous about that Laguna of yours, BTW.

- Rich

Brilliant!! Period accurate highboy by day….psychedelic Pink Floyd poster by night

-- Jon -- Just a Minnesota kid hanging out in Kansas

View RandyinFlorida's profile

RandyinFlorida

257 posts in 2271 days


#8 posted 03-06-2018 01:27 PM

Love it. Never heard of it. THANKS!

-- Randy in Crestview Florida, Wood Rocks!

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

3544 posts in 3388 days


#9 posted 03-21-2018 09:27 PM

Neat. I wonder if the dye affects the glue strength.

-- Allen, Colorado (Instagram @bobasaurus_woodworking)

View Rich's profile (online now)

Rich

3888 posts in 793 days


#10 posted 03-22-2018 05:48 AM


Neat. I wonder if the dye affects the glue strength.

- bobasaurus

Since they are branding it as Titebond II, my guess is that it’s an equivalent product, with dye added. Otherwise they’d brand it Titebond Fluorescent, like they do with other specialty products like Extend and Thick & Quick.

Can’t say for sure though. Besides hide glue, it’s my go-to PVA glue now, and it’s performing just like I’d expect a quality Titebond product to.

-- Half of what we read or hear about finishing is right. We just don’t know which half! — Bob Flexner

View GR8HUNTER's profile

GR8HUNTER

5148 posts in 916 days


#11 posted 03-22-2018 01:05 PM

must work well on veneers :<))

-- Tony---- Reinholds,Pa.------ REMEMBER TO ALWAYS HAVE FUN

View oldnovice's profile

oldnovice

7334 posts in 3571 days


#12 posted 03-22-2018 05:27 PM

I better never use that, my projects would glow all over …. !

-- "I never met a board I didn't like!"

View woodbutcherbynight's profile

woodbutcherbynight

5720 posts in 2612 days


#13 posted 03-23-2018 03:15 AM

Cools stuff. And I already have the flashlight in my toolbox to use. Off to do some shopping. Thanks Rich, good review.


Neat. I wonder if the dye affects the glue strength.

- bobasaurus

If it is like the dye we use in HVAC systems in automotive the glue strength is not affected.

-- Live to tell the stories, they sound better that way.

View Rich's profile (online now)

Rich

3888 posts in 793 days


#14 posted 03-24-2018 04:08 AM


Cools stuff. And I already have the flashlight in my toolbox to use. Off to do some shopping. Thanks Rich, good review.

- woodbutcherbynight

For Marines like you, they need to come up with night vision glue. No light needed, just put on the goggles.

-- Half of what we read or hear about finishing is right. We just don’t know which half! — Bob Flexner

View woodbutcherbynight's profile

woodbutcherbynight

5720 posts in 2612 days


#15 posted 03-25-2018 02:11 AM


For Marines like you, they need to come up with night vision glue. No light needed, just put on the goggles.

- Rich

ROFL

-- Live to tell the stories, they sound better that way.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com