LumberJocks

Ridgid dp1550

  • Advertise with us
Review by njcraftsman posted 12-19-2009 03:58 AM 9666 views 2 times favorited 18 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Ridgid dp1550 No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Okay, I must admit that I’m becoming a Ridgid Fan. I used to think of them as just home depots in house brand. But Then I found out that they are made by emerson electric, the same company that made my, old Craftsman stuff that lasted forever. Any way I have been upgrading my shop, and I needed to replace my
older Luddel Benchtop drill press. So naturally, I went shopping. After reading many reviews of this one, I took the plunge. I’m not sorry I did, this is a good solid drill press, with very almost no run out at the spindle (all presses have some). Nice strong motor, it had no porblem sinking three inch deep hole using a 2 1/2 ” forstner
bit in an old block of oak I was working on. It doesn’t have all the bells and wistles, but it does the job, and the lifetime warranty aint bad either.

-- " There is no more important rule than to wear these, SAFTEY GLASSES"




View njcraftsman's profile

njcraftsman

51 posts in 1791 days



18 comments so far

View Routerisstillmyname's profile

Routerisstillmyname

713 posts in 2199 days


#1 posted 12-19-2009 07:39 AM

Congratulation on a wise purchase. Ridgid makes solid tools. All you need now is to make yourself a drill press table.

-- Router è ancora il mio nome.

View MarkwithaK's profile

MarkwithaK

370 posts in 1868 days


#2 posted 12-19-2009 08:44 AM

I am also becoming a fan of Ridgid’s power tools. I’ve always liked their pipe wrenches but never gave much consideration to their power tools until I recently bought the R4511 TS. That lifetime warranty is awesome.

-- If at first you don't succeed then maybe skydiving isn't for you.

View JasonWagner's profile

JasonWagner

523 posts in 1870 days


#3 posted 12-19-2009 05:52 PM

Congratulations on the purchase. I picked up the older model of this DP15501 (basically just color difference) on Craigslist a few months ago. I’m very happy with mine. I have since made a large wood table with fence for it and added a laser from Woodcraft that works very well. I couldn’t be happier unless I spent more than $550 for a Delta or Steel City.

-- some day I hope to have enough clamps to need a clamp cart!

View jim1mckenna's profile

jim1mckenna

51 posts in 1781 days


#4 posted 12-20-2009 01:03 AM

I have a ridged miter saw I like it the only thing is the dust colection sucks, also I just picked up a ridged 6” jointer I love it works greate was easy to set up. I need a new drill does this one have speed control.

Jim

View JasonWagner's profile

JasonWagner

523 posts in 1870 days


#5 posted 12-20-2009 03:20 AM

Jim – what miter saw has good dust collection?! ;-) I built a shroud around mine with a dust collector and now it’s OK. The Ridgid drill press is 12 speed controlled by chaning belts on pulleys. Takes about a minute.

-- some day I hope to have enough clamps to need a clamp cart!

View David Craig's profile

David Craig

2135 posts in 1798 days


#6 posted 12-20-2009 07:37 AM

Thanks for the review. I have started becoming more and more a Ridgid guy (and I don’t mean in the viagra sense of the word). The lifetime warranty is great and the quality of the tools is excellent. I have their ts3660 table saw and love it to pieces. I have their cordless drill and driver and recently purchased their trim router. Congrats on your purchase.

David

-- There is little that is simple when it comes to making a simple box.

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15102 posts in 1878 days


#7 posted 12-20-2009 04:16 PM

I have to agree, I bought thier table saw. It was not the one I wanted but the Sale I stumbeled across I could not pass up. I have to say I have been very happy and impressed with the TS thus far! Life time warranty is nice! Nice purchase!

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View WoodshopJoe's profile

WoodshopJoe

99 posts in 1950 days


#8 posted 12-20-2009 08:38 PM

I too have a shop full of Ridgid tools I am really happy with, I have their planer, miter saw, table saw, shop vac and a random orbital sander. I am thinking of changing my interior decor of the shop so that the walls match the tools, only that is a lot of orange and I might feel like I’m working in a pumpkin.

-- Joe Truehart - The Craftsmans Woodshop

View Raspar's profile

Raspar

246 posts in 1838 days


#9 posted 12-21-2009 05:18 PM

Was looking at this over the weekend. Thanks for the feedback.

-- Have thy tools ready. God will find thee work.

View jtash's profile

jtash

30 posts in 1773 days


#10 posted 12-26-2009 09:10 PM

I have one and it works great for me.

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4524 posts in 1764 days


#11 posted 12-29-2009 05:35 PM

I need a drill press and I have read every review and every relative comment on this website regarding drill presses. The Ridgid seems to be endorsed by many so I went to the Depot to look at one. Whoever assembled the unit that is displayed on the floor did a terrible job. The spindle was all the way down because the spring was not properly attached. The track on the side of the column was not flush with the column. There were other problems. It looked like a piece of junk. To buy a Ridgid I have to assume/trust that all these flaws were just the consequence of an incompetent person assembling it.

I then went to Lowes and looked at the Delta on display. It looked excellent in every way. I could move the table up and down easily. I could loosen and tighten the belts easily. Everything seemed to work right. It felt right. It’s $100 more but I feel much more comfortable about the Delta.

I don’t mean to disparage Home Depot in general, but with respect to the local stores, I like Lowes a lot more.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View hnajjar's profile

hnajjar

14 posts in 1784 days


#12 posted 01-04-2010 04:49 AM

I agree with richgreer. The local HD here in Chattanooga also stinks which makes me think the Ridgid brand is likewise. Although I have a Ridgid shop vac and it is pretty awesome.

-- Hassan, Chattanooga, TN - www.hnwoodworks.com

View richgreer's profile

richgreer

4524 posts in 1764 days


#13 posted 01-05-2010 04:51 PM

Update – Lowes marked the price of the Delta drill press down to $379 and I bought it. It’s setup and working great. So far, I am very happy with the purchase.

-- Rich, Cedar Rapids, IA - I'm a woodworker. I don't create beauty, I reveal it.

View WistysWoodWorkingWonders's profile

WistysWoodWorkingWonders

11908 posts in 1847 days


#14 posted 01-20-2010 11:27 PM

I am too a big fan of Ridgid brand tools… I have the jointer, planer, shop vac and radial arm saw. All were easy to set up out of the box and accurate. The jointer is the most difficult to get the blades lined up perfectly, but once they are, it requires nothing else. All the machines have worked great in my shop over the last couple of years and I have no regrets about buying them. I am looking into buying the Drill press once I get approval from the boss (wife). It will be a good upgrade from the cheapo jobmate I picked up from Canadian Tire several years ago.
Thanks for the review…

-- New Project = New Tool... it's just the way it is, don't fight it... :)

View jp93274's profile

jp93274

17 posts in 1743 days


#15 posted 02-06-2010 12:24 PM

I just picked this up on “clearance” $149.99- 10% coupon =sweet deal!

also got the bandsaw for $184-10% coupon= very nice price!

-- I Now Bleed Orange! Thank You HD For the Clearance Sale!

showing 1 through 15 of 18 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase