LumberJocks

Craftsman 22124

  • Advertise with us
Review by njcraftsman posted 12-10-2009 03:37 AM 6430 views 0 times favorited 25 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Craftsman 22124 No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Okay I must admit that this has drastically improved my shop. I had been using a thirty year old cotractors saw, that although I had fitted with a Vega Fence, out feed tables etc, Was nearing the end of it’s life. Bought this one after doing some SERIOUS research :o).....and ….ah reading some reviews on this site. The motor is nice and strong (recently cut some 7 quarter hard maple with no porblems). The beisey fence is a dream!!!
Blade was perfectly aligned to the miter right outta the box, Fence wasn’t but that was a piece of cake. The cabinet does build dust but, but it just gets to a certain point and the slides down the slope inside and the dust collector eats it. I did the nickel test and it passed with flying colors. I also love the fact that even though lots of people call it a hybrid saw, it has massive cabinet mounted trunnions. Over all I love the thing and would highly recommend it to anyone.

-- " There is no more important rule than to wear these, SAFTEY GLASSES"




View njcraftsman's profile

njcraftsman

51 posts in 1767 days



25 comments so far

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112152 posts in 2242 days


#1 posted 12-10-2009 03:48 AM

congrats on the new saw

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View ChuckV's profile

ChuckV

2426 posts in 2192 days


#2 posted 12-10-2009 03:57 AM

I have had mine for two years and still love it – no problems with it whatsoever. It seems that this saw disappeared from the Sears site for a while, but I am glad to see that it is back. I do not know if you got it on sale or not, but I suggest that you keep an eye on the price for a while. If it goes down within 30 days of your purchase, Sears will let you have it for the sale price by refunding the difference. I got $100 back this way.

Enjoy your new saw.

-- “That it will never come again / Is what makes life so sweet. ” ― Emily Dickinson

View gbvinc's profile

gbvinc

629 posts in 2612 days


#3 posted 12-10-2009 04:09 AM

I have been using mine for about five years now. Has handled everything I’ve thrown at it. (I work mostly with hardwoods) I did get an Incra mitre guage to replace the stock piece, but other than that, using it as it came out of the box.

Enjoy your new saw!

View csifishguy's profile

csifishguy

63 posts in 1757 days


#4 posted 12-10-2009 05:12 AM

I looked at that saw it is nice but chose this instead had a hard time choosing, Grizzly 1023slw

Good luck with your new saw, I just got mine a few days ago and have only cut scrap so far can not wait to actually make something nice.

View wrenchhead's profile

wrenchhead

49 posts in 1829 days


#5 posted 12-10-2009 05:24 AM

I have the same saw and I love it!!!The only small complaint I have is the hieght adjustment moves when I am locking down the wing nut.It is not a big deal though. I would buy it again in a minute

-- I could quit if I wanted

View Bob Kollman's profile

Bob Kollman

1796 posts in 1856 days


#6 posted 12-10-2009 07:42 AM

It looks good!!! Craftsman can be good in that often they will throw in extras or all the essientals are included in the base price. Keep them fingers…play safe!!!

-- Bob Kenosha Wi.

View Brad_Nailor's profile

Brad_Nailor

2531 posts in 2623 days


#7 posted 12-10-2009 02:34 PM

Nice new saw! Your gonna love that fence…I love mine!

-- http://www.facebook.com/pages/DSO-Designs/297237806954248

View Andrew's profile

Andrew

709 posts in 1864 days


#8 posted 12-10-2009 03:26 PM

Thanks for the review, We have to be careful what craftsman products we buy, I bought the table say just below yours, and I love it, I think I even he=ad the confidence to buy it without the extended warranty. But a lot of their big tools are crap, but I think they are weeding those out, not sure. As long as you are happy, then we all are happy for you. God Bless and Good Luck.
Happy Holidays.

-- Even a broken clock is right twice a day, unless, it moves at half speed like ....-As the Saw Turns

View Tim_456's profile

Tim_456

159 posts in 2261 days


#9 posted 12-10-2009 05:10 PM

I’ve had mind for a few years now and I love it. It’s the perfect size for my shop and has done everything I’ve asked of it. Congrats on the new toy :D

View Raspar's profile

Raspar

246 posts in 1813 days


#10 posted 12-10-2009 05:31 PM

Nice, I just picked up the saw from a friend that was upgrading to a Uni-saw. He only used it sparingly and that is the only reason I bought a used one. So far I love the saw and based on the reviews here and other places looks like I will love it for a while. Good woodworking…

-- Have thy tools ready. God will find thee work.

View Don Newton's profile

Don Newton

712 posts in 2284 days


#11 posted 12-10-2009 07:43 PM

Craftsman huh? Who’d have thought it! Congratulations.

-- Don, Pittsburgh

View Routerisstillmyname's profile

Routerisstillmyname

711 posts in 2174 days


#12 posted 12-11-2009 05:46 AM

Drool noise. ….BIESEMEYER fence
MLCS Power Switch?

-- Router è ancora il mio nome.

View SouthpawCA's profile

SouthpawCA

254 posts in 1898 days


#13 posted 12-11-2009 06:37 PM

I purchased the same saw almost 3 years ago and still love it. The only thing I did was to move the power switch to the other side. I don’t know why the capability to put the switch on either side wasn’t included in the original design. I have mine on a heavy duty Shop Fox mobile base and everything stays in line when moving. I’ve been able to rip 8/4 oak with no problem with my Freud blade. My only complaint is the lack of a splitter when the whole guard apparatus is removed, but there are many 3rd party add-ons available.

-- Don

View nordichomey's profile

nordichomey

100 posts in 1767 days


#14 posted 12-12-2009 01:13 AM

I recently bought a new saw and it significantly improved the experience. Have fun!

-- nordichomey

View CottageWorkshop's profile

CottageWorkshop

12 posts in 1765 days


#15 posted 12-13-2009 04:41 AM

Congrats! I’ve had mine for three years now and I still absolutely LOVE it! Even though I use freud blades now, it did come with an excellent blade which was a big bonus. Be careful though, drool will cause rust spots!

-- Visit me in the Cottage Workshop! www.richardmagbanua.blogspot.com

showing 1 through 15 of 25 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase