Craftsman 22124

  • Advertise with us
Review by njcraftsman posted 12-10-2009 03:37 AM 7638 views 0 times favorited 25 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Craftsman 22124 No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Okay I must admit that this has drastically improved my shop. I had been using a thirty year old cotractors saw, that although I had fitted with a Vega Fence, out feed tables etc, Was nearing the end of it’s life. Bought this one after doing some SERIOUS research :o).....and ….ah reading some reviews on this site. The motor is nice and strong (recently cut some 7 quarter hard maple with no porblems). The beisey fence is a dream!!!
Blade was perfectly aligned to the miter right outta the box, Fence wasn’t but that was a piece of cake. The cabinet does build dust but, but it just gets to a certain point and the slides down the slope inside and the dust collector eats it. I did the nickel test and it passed with flying colors. I also love the fact that even though lots of people call it a hybrid saw, it has massive cabinet mounted trunnions. Over all I love the thing and would highly recommend it to anyone.

-- " There is no more important rule than to wear these, SAFTEY GLASSES"

View njcraftsman's profile


58 posts in 2140 days

25 comments so far

View a1Jim's profile


113725 posts in 2616 days

#1 posted 12-10-2009 03:48 AM

congrats on the new saw

-- Custom furniture

View ChuckV's profile


2705 posts in 2566 days

#2 posted 12-10-2009 03:57 AM

I have had mine for two years and still love it – no problems with it whatsoever. It seems that this saw disappeared from the Sears site for a while, but I am glad to see that it is back. I do not know if you got it on sale or not, but I suggest that you keep an eye on the price for a while. If it goes down within 30 days of your purchase, Sears will let you have it for the sale price by refunding the difference. I got $100 back this way.

Enjoy your new saw.

-- “And it's only the giving that makes you what you are. ” ― I. Anderson

View gbvinc's profile


629 posts in 2985 days

#3 posted 12-10-2009 04:09 AM

I have been using mine for about five years now. Has handled everything I’ve thrown at it. (I work mostly with hardwoods) I did get an Incra mitre guage to replace the stock piece, but other than that, using it as it came out of the box.

Enjoy your new saw!

View csifishguy's profile


67 posts in 2130 days

#4 posted 12-10-2009 05:12 AM

I looked at that saw it is nice but chose this instead had a hard time choosing, Grizzly 1023slw

Good luck with your new saw, I just got mine a few days ago and have only cut scrap so far can not wait to actually make something nice.

View wrenchhead's profile


49 posts in 2202 days

#5 posted 12-10-2009 05:24 AM

I have the same saw and I love it!!!The only small complaint I have is the hieght adjustment moves when I am locking down the wing nut.It is not a big deal though. I would buy it again in a minute

-- I could quit if I wanted

View Bob Kollman's profile

Bob Kollman

1797 posts in 2229 days

#6 posted 12-10-2009 07:42 AM

It looks good!!! Craftsman can be good in that often they will throw in extras or all the essientals are included in the base price. Keep them fingers…play safe!!!

-- Bob Kenosha Wi.

View Brad_Nailor's profile


2534 posts in 2996 days

#7 posted 12-10-2009 02:34 PM

Nice new saw! Your gonna love that fence…I love mine!


View Andrew's profile


709 posts in 2237 days

#8 posted 12-10-2009 03:26 PM

Thanks for the review, We have to be careful what craftsman products we buy, I bought the table say just below yours, and I love it, I think I even he=ad the confidence to buy it without the extended warranty. But a lot of their big tools are crap, but I think they are weeding those out, not sure. As long as you are happy, then we all are happy for you. God Bless and Good Luck.
Happy Holidays.

-- Even a broken clock is right twice a day, unless, it moves at half speed like ....-As the Saw Turns

View Tim_456's profile


164 posts in 2634 days

#9 posted 12-10-2009 05:10 PM

I’ve had mind for a few years now and I love it. It’s the perfect size for my shop and has done everything I’ve asked of it. Congrats on the new toy :D

View Raspar's profile


246 posts in 2187 days

#10 posted 12-10-2009 05:31 PM

Nice, I just picked up the saw from a friend that was upgrading to a Uni-saw. He only used it sparingly and that is the only reason I bought a used one. So far I love the saw and based on the reviews here and other places looks like I will love it for a while. Good woodworking…

-- Have thy tools ready. God will find thee work.

View Don Newton's profile

Don Newton

714 posts in 2657 days

#11 posted 12-10-2009 07:43 PM

Craftsman huh? Who’d have thought it! Congratulations.

-- Don, Pittsburgh

View Routerisstillmyname's profile


719 posts in 2547 days

#12 posted 12-11-2009 05:46 AM

Drool noise. ….BIESEMEYER fence
MLCS Power Switch?

-- Router è ancora il mio nome.

View SouthpawCA's profile


262 posts in 2272 days

#13 posted 12-11-2009 06:37 PM

I purchased the same saw almost 3 years ago and still love it. The only thing I did was to move the power switch to the other side. I don’t know why the capability to put the switch on either side wasn’t included in the original design. I have mine on a heavy duty Shop Fox mobile base and everything stays in line when moving. I’ve been able to rip 8/4 oak with no problem with my Freud blade. My only complaint is the lack of a splitter when the whole guard apparatus is removed, but there are many 3rd party add-ons available.

-- Don

View nordichomey's profile


100 posts in 2140 days

#14 posted 12-12-2009 01:13 AM

I recently bought a new saw and it significantly improved the experience. Have fun!

-- nordichomey

View CottageWorkshop's profile


12 posts in 2139 days

#15 posted 12-13-2009 04:41 AM

Congrats! I’ve had mine for three years now and I still absolutely LOVE it! Even though I use freud blades now, it did come with an excellent blade which was a big bonus. Be careful though, drool will cause rust spots!

-- Visit me in the Cottage Workshop!

showing 1 through 15 of 25 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics