LumberJocks

Veritas Inset Vise

  • Advertise with us
Review by DreganTepis posted 12-18-2017 09:28 PM 1316 views 1 time favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Veritas Inset Vise Veritas Inset Vise No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Item Page

I’ve been asked several times about this vise, as it’s been seen in my pictures. So I decided to write this up.

Installation was very easy! A router with a fence and a long straight bit will have this installed in under an hour. Just use the included dimensions, and don’t forget the through-holes so dust has somewhere to go.

I’ve used this on 4 projects now since installing it last summer. The multiple jaws (including ones you can make) are great, the install was easy, and it works well for planning and joinery.

I like it a lot, but there is a cutoff point in use. It’s not a powerhouse. I use it to hold things in place, not as an extra clamp. It has an aluminum carriage, and a steel screw. I could see it being damaged from over tightening. If you stay within that limitation you’ll love it. If you tend to crank on things, this probably isn’t for you.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.




View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

64 posts in 511 days



7 comments so far

View Hazem's profile

Hazem

151 posts in 1248 days


#1 posted 12-19-2017 07:36 PM

Great bench.

I’m thinking of getting this vise to hold boards while planing. Is it strong enough to do that?

Thanks.

View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

64 posts in 511 days


#2 posted 12-19-2017 07:39 PM


Great bench.

I m thinking of getting this vise to hold boards while planing. Is it strong enough to do that?

Thanks.

- Hazem

Absolutely. Its plenty strong for normal operations, I just don’t expect it to survive trying to get pipe-clamp force from it. Though in most cases a planing stop is all that’s required. Look towards the left end of the bench for the Veritas one I use.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.

View Hazem's profile

Hazem

151 posts in 1248 days


#3 posted 12-20-2017 04:49 PM

Thank you. I’ll give this vise serious consideration.

God bless.

View Smitty_Cabinetshop's profile

Smitty_Cabinetshop

15353 posts in 2618 days


#4 posted 12-20-2017 04:56 PM

This review is interesting, as I considered adding this vise to my bench long ago. Thanks for posting.

-- Don't anthropomorphize your handplanes. They hate it when you do that. -- OldTools Archive --

View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

64 posts in 511 days


#5 posted 12-20-2017 05:01 PM



This review is interesting, as I considered adding this vise to my bench long ago. Thanks for posting.

- Smitty_Cabinetshop

Thanks… I am obviously not a writer, and its a vise so there’s not a lot to say… but so many people asked about it. If there’s anything I can add to make it better please let me know.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.

View Scan's profile

Scan

1 post in 118 days


#6 posted 01-29-2018 03:29 AM

I was just admiring how beautiful your workbench is. It’s a work of art in it’s self

View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

64 posts in 511 days


#7 posted 01-29-2018 03:00 PM



I was just admiring how beautiful your workbench is. It s a work of art in it s self

- Scan

Thank you sir! There’s a post in my projects about it.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com