LumberJocks

Supermax new 16-32 sander

  • Advertise with us
Review by Woodmaster1 posted 11-25-2017 06:34 AM 2552 views 1 time favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Supermax new 16-32 sander Supermax new 16-32 sander Supermax new 16-32 sander Click the pictures to enlarge them

This is an awesome drum sander. The only assembly required was to assemble the stand to put it on. The extension tables are an extra but fold down when not in use. The extensions were easy to attach an adjust to level. I have used it for about three weeks and put it through sanding end grain cutting boards to making .054 bands for boxes. The innovation of adjusting the drum quickly up and down with a lever is fantastic. No more cranking the handle a turn at a time to adjust the height.




View Woodmaster1's profile

Woodmaster1

894 posts in 2491 days



12 comments so far

View kdc68's profile

kdc68

2638 posts in 2181 days


#1 posted 11-25-2017 12:48 PM

Congrats to you ! This is a wishlist item for me. Thanks for review

-- Measure "at least" twice and cut once

View Ottacat's profile

Ottacat

466 posts in 1755 days


#2 posted 11-25-2017 03:05 PM

I have one as well and agree its a great machine. So far the Intellisand has been great and I haven’t gotten any burning. The quick adjust lever is a great usability addition. The smaller size of the unit was the key for me as it allowed me to find a spot for it in my small, one-garage shop. I would rate the machine 4/5 stars as I feel the following could be improved:
  • I found the folding tables to be a PITA to adjust and one of the bolts broke while attaching it (SuperMax was great about sending me out a replacement though). I’m sure these tables could be much better designed.
  • The DRO can’t be manually adjusted like most of the Wixey ones. I would rather calibrate by using calipers and then dialing in the exact measurement like I can on my Wixed for my planer.
View Dedvw's profile

Dedvw

172 posts in 2785 days


#3 posted 11-25-2017 03:24 PM

I have the 19-38 and absolutely love it. I use it all the time.

View Albert's profile

Albert

501 posts in 3493 days


#4 posted 11-27-2017 02:18 PM

I have sander envy, I dislike my Delta sander hugely.

View splintergroup's profile

splintergroup

1872 posts in 1126 days


#5 posted 11-27-2017 06:00 PM

Having it’s grand daddy, the Performax 16-32, it’s interesting to see the improvements. Looks like a very functional DS!

View Lou319's profile

Lou319

21 posts in 2922 days


#6 posted 11-28-2017 08:47 PM

It was my early Christmas present to myself and am very pleased with it. After working for a small company making custom furniture, I knew the benefit of having a thickness sander in my home shop to make projects go a lot smoother.

However, I did have a small issue with the conveyor motor having a significant wobble to it right from the beginning. I sent the retailer an email with a video of the problem and Supermax sent me a new conveyor bed and motor immediately. I am happy with that type of customer service and will certainly brag about it.

I agree with Ottacat on the DRO and usually dial in the same way with calipers.

All in all, no regrets in dropping that kind of money on a machine that consistently does what it is supposed to.

View cmmyakman's profile

cmmyakman

136 posts in 2560 days


#7 posted 11-29-2017 09:33 PM

I have the earlier iteration. I thought when I got the machine that it would be a luxury and I would use it infrequently. It is now a very important machine, ideal for reducing the thickness of figured wood, when a planer will just not hack it (or actually hacks the hell out of it). I just wish my machine had the benefits of what you have in the latest iteration.

-- You can't fail if you don't give up.

View PRGDesigns's profile

PRGDesigns

235 posts in 2217 days


#8 posted 12-06-2017 11:38 PM

I just wish everything in my shop was built as well as my Performax / Supermax drum sander and/or everyone’s customer service was as excellent as what you get from Performax / Supermax. My only concern is what will happen with the new owners.

-- They call me Mr. Silly

View Neil's profile

Neil

25 posts in 553 days


#9 posted 12-14-2017 07:04 PM

Wow, im surprised that this newer machine is in such good favor with you guys. I hate my supermax 19-38 combo brush drum sander and wish i never bought it. Id be happy to sell mine for cheap if someone wants it.

View BaltimoreChris's profile

BaltimoreChris

1 post in 24 days


#10 posted 01-26-2018 10:50 PM

This Supermax 16-32 just went on sale for $999 plus shipping/tax at Woodcraft and Rockler. Looks attractive. I’m curious on thoughts on the benefit/value of the folding indeed/outfeed table for the extra $120. Also, looks like the casters are overpriced at $90 and maybe the $50 Kreg casters would work. Neil, what don’t you like about your 19-38? This would be my first use of a drum sander, so appreciate any input.

View Woodmaster1's profile

Woodmaster1

894 posts in 2491 days


#11 posted 01-27-2018 03:22 AM

It is a great sander and the tables fold so they are worth it. The older supermax tables don’t fold and the tables are nice to have. I got my casters at harbor freight and they work fine and are a savings of seventy dollars. The savings on the casters pays for half on the cost on the tables. Good luck on your decision.

View EBpenguy's profile

EBpenguy

8 posts in 1454 days


#12 posted 02-01-2018 05:47 PM

I just bought this sander myself – and one warning – BE CAREFUL assembling the stand. DON’T file the holes for mounting the power unit to the stand, no matter how much it looks like you need to. The stand is a real PITA to assemble – not because its hard work, but the tolerances on its assembly are truly tight. Pay attention to how the legs, side braces and cross arms are layered in the instructions – one wrong move and the holes don’t line up by only the thickness of the metal. I’m pretty mechanically inclined and it took me three full shots of assembly – disassembly to get it so that all 4 top holes were totally clear and not partially blocked. The instructions are pretty vague – just giving you a warning that things may not work out if you don’t layer the pieces properly but not much clarity as to how they should be. Doesn’t say much for SuperMax’s technical writers for sure.

Also, Supermax had the casters back-ordered at my local woodcraft. Speaking with the owner of the store, he offered alternates including pretty nice 3” casters that have locks on every wheel. Woodcraft part number 148595 if you are interested. These were $30 bucks each, versus the $89 per pair SuperMax price. The wheels are a hard urethane that looks pretty tough and the spindles are 1/2” which fit into the stand holes. I recommend them.

Now if I can just get the time to assemble the rest, I will post my thoughts on this machine in another post.

-- Kevin - making shavings when ever I can!

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com