LumberJocks

Veritas camber roller attachement makes putting a camber on a blade a breeze.

  • Advertise with us
Review by mart posted 11-21-2009 04:06 AM 3668 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Veritas camber roller attachement makes putting a camber on a blade a breeze. Veritas camber roller attachement makes putting a camber on a blade a breeze. Veritas camber roller attachement makes putting a camber on a blade a breeze. Click the pictures to enlarge them

After years of using an ROS to sand and smooth all my projects I finally said enough and started collecting good user planes over the last couple of years. I had played some with a #5 jack plane but had left my #4 smoother unattended other than to derust it. I pulled it out today, took the blade out and got out my Veritas honing guide. I had purchased a camber roller attachment for it last year and hadn’t tried it out yet. I don’t know what took me so long. It made putting a camber on that plane blade dead simple. Just follow the simple instructions and you cannot help but get a sharp, perfect camber. My sharpening skills are fair freehand but this camber attachment makes getting an accurate camber far easier than freehand. I coupled the Veritas with a set of Norton waterstones from 220 to 8000 and am able to turn out some great sharp edges on my tools. One of the best woodworking purchases I ever made. Willow the brown dog thinks so too. She loves the plane shavings, although I won’t let her eat them like she would like. They probably are better for her than the sticks and chunks of wood I catch her chewing on.

Mart




View mart's profile

mart

190 posts in 2290 days



10 comments so far

View gizmodyne's profile

gizmodyne

1763 posts in 2755 days


#1 posted 11-21-2009 04:37 AM

Very cool. I have been putting too much camber in my irons with my “freehand” / heavy handed style. How does this work?

-- -John "Do I have to keep typing a smiley? Just assume it's a joke." www.flickr.com/photos/gizmodyne

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112161 posts in 2243 days


#2 posted 11-21-2009 05:11 AM

Thanks for the review mart.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12290 posts in 2763 days


#3 posted 11-21-2009 05:22 AM

Ditto. Here is a close up of the roller from the LV web site

Lee Valley Camber roller

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=54181&cat=1,43072,43078&ap=1

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View bigike's profile

bigike

4031 posts in 1954 days


#4 posted 11-21-2009 07:41 PM

sweet good to know cuz i was ondering if it worked or not now the question is can u put different cambers on all planes cuz they all require different cambers besides the jointer i think thats how it goes i do know they all have different amt. camber though.

-- Ike, Big Daddies Woodshop, http://www.icombadaniels@yahoo.com

View mart's profile

mart

190 posts in 2290 days


#5 posted 11-21-2009 07:56 PM

bigike,

The amount of camber on the blade is going to be the same on any blades of the same width. There is no adjustment for more or less camber. I don’t know if Veritas offers or has ever considered offering rollers with different degrees of camber.

Mart

View northwoodsman's profile

northwoodsman

227 posts in 2412 days


#6 posted 12-10-2009 01:28 AM

If you have the MK II, spend the extra money and add this to your collection. It works very well.

-- NorthWoodsMan

View Rick's profile

Rick

354 posts in 1876 days


#7 posted 12-23-2009 05:10 PM

I usually do my final dimensioning on my drum sander and then finishing with my random orbital. I move through many grits on my random orbital and only at each one for several seconds. This gets me to a super nice finish when I reach 1000 grit. It removes very little wood and does it evenly.

I would love to not have to use the sander and kick up dust but I’m affraid that, with a hand plane, I would take off too much and would leave each piece of my project at different thicknesses and unevenly planed. I know a lot of practice would take care of that but I already have a system in place.

Any advice guys?

View gmerteng's profile

gmerteng

122 posts in 1778 days


#8 posted 12-23-2009 05:26 PM

I use this tool also it takes all the guess work out of it.

-- Mert,Oshkosh WI,

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12290 posts in 2763 days


#9 posted 12-23-2009 08:19 PM

One point related to handplanes. You actually have a lot of control. A smoothing plane takes a shaving that is 1/1000 inch thick. You can adjust up from there depending on how much stock you need to remove.

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View Jon_Banquer's profile

Jon_Banquer

69 posts in 1474 days


#10 posted 09-17-2010 11:45 AM

Helpful review. Thank you!

-- Jon Banquer San Diego, CA CAD / CAM programmer, CNC Machinist

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase