LumberJocks

New Jointer

  • Advertise with us
Review by Brian posted 11-20-2009 02:57 AM 2734 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
New Jointer No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Got me a new DJ-20 to replace my 6” Ridgid. To me it’s a small aircraft carrier.
I’ve not had much luck with Delta tools the last few years but decided to go with a Delta again over a General and King.
Out of the 2 crates the tables were flat and in line with each other and the fence was perfect.
Paint job isn’t the greatest but if the above points are perfect it’s a fabs item. If I could I’d give it 4.5 stars
Great price too at $1499 Cdn -PLUS I get to choose $200 worth of tools or bessey clamps.
Down the road I’ll probably get a link belt for it.

-- http://www.brianpenning.com/




View Brian's profile

Brian

79 posts in 2397 days



12 comments so far

View sailorsteve's profile

sailorsteve

9 posts in 1811 days


#1 posted 11-20-2009 03:01 AM

all it needs now is some landing lights and an air boss. congrats, and enjoy your new toy.

-- Steve ....Got wood in my blood, mostly from splinters and inhaling sawdust

View araldite's profile

araldite

187 posts in 2089 days


#2 posted 11-20-2009 03:38 AM

I got a Delta 6”, but should’ve gotten an 8”. I can only land Cessnas and Pipers on mine.

-- Failure is the road to success if you learn to learn from your mistakes - Vince, Greenville, SC

View NBeener's profile

NBeener

4806 posts in 1859 days


#3 posted 11-20-2009 04:43 AM

Did you just fire it up?

My lights dimmed, all of the sudden….

Nice purchase! Enjoy!

-- -- Neil

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2507 days


#4 posted 11-20-2009 04:52 AM

This is a nice jointer and you should enjoy having the extra width. Thanks for the review.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View oldwoodman's profile

oldwoodman

137 posts in 2083 days


#5 posted 11-20-2009 07:12 AM

WOW!!!! What a beautiful machine!!

That sure looks better than that old broken-down Craftsman jointer sitting out in my garage.

If you ever have the time, write up a performance review. Those of us with “jointer envy” would appreciate it.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112294 posts in 2263 days


#6 posted 11-20-2009 08:13 AM

Nice toy

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15078 posts in 1874 days


#7 posted 11-20-2009 11:51 AM

Thats a big boy! Have fun….

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View Paul2274's profile

Paul2274

327 posts in 1798 days


#8 posted 11-20-2009 06:25 PM

SSSSSWWWWEEEEETTTTTT!!!! Really nice.

View Splinterman's profile

Splinterman

23058 posts in 2047 days


#9 posted 11-21-2009 04:53 AM

Sweet machine.

View matt garcia's profile

matt garcia

1832 posts in 2357 days


#10 posted 11-21-2009 10:47 PM

Man that’s a Cadillac!!

-- Matt Garcia Wannabe Period Furniture Maker, Houston TX

View RogerM's profile

RogerM

451 posts in 1084 days


#11 posted 11-06-2011 10:13 PM

I have run a Delta DJ-20 in my shop for 5 years and have had excellent service from it. I run all kinds of hardwood through it (hickory, elm, oak, walnut, maple, cherry) and find it to be very reliable. Excellent basic machine that is reliable, and easy to maintain.

-- Roger M, Aiken, SC

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

3441 posts in 1499 days


#12 posted 07-23-2013 09:34 PM

I have one as well. I bought it for the extra width capacity, but what you really notice is how useful the extra length is. 76” long compared to 46” long on my old Jet 6” jointer. You can rest a 5-6’ long board on the infeed table! No more wrestling long boards as they want to fall off the outfeed table, as this jointer has good length.

I can’t tell you how many times I set a 6-1/2” wide board on my old 6” jointer… Awww! Back to the bandsaw.
An 8” parallelogram jointer was the way to go for me.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase