New Jointer

  • Advertise with us
Review by Brian posted 11-20-2009 02:57 AM 2999 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
New Jointer No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Got me a new DJ-20 to replace my 6” Ridgid. To me it’s a small aircraft carrier.
I’ve not had much luck with Delta tools the last few years but decided to go with a Delta again over a General and King.
Out of the 2 crates the tables were flat and in line with each other and the fence was perfect.
Paint job isn’t the greatest but if the above points are perfect it’s a fabs item. If I could I’d give it 4.5 stars
Great price too at $1499 Cdn -PLUS I get to choose $200 worth of tools or bessey clamps.
Down the road I’ll probably get a link belt for it.


View Brian's profile


79 posts in 2745 days

12 comments so far

View sailorsteve's profile


9 posts in 2159 days

#1 posted 11-20-2009 03:01 AM

all it needs now is some landing lights and an air boss. congrats, and enjoy your new toy.

-- Steve ....Got wood in my blood, mostly from splinters and inhaling sawdust

View araldite's profile


187 posts in 2438 days

#2 posted 11-20-2009 03:38 AM

I got a Delta 6”, but should’ve gotten an 8”. I can only land Cessnas and Pipers on mine.

-- Failure is the road to success if you learn to learn from your mistakes - Vince, Greenville, SC

View NBeener's profile


4808 posts in 2208 days

#3 posted 11-20-2009 04:43 AM

Did you just fire it up?

My lights dimmed, all of the sudden….

Nice purchase! Enjoy!

-- -- Neil

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2856 days

#4 posted 11-20-2009 04:52 AM

This is a nice jointer and you should enjoy having the extra width. Thanks for the review.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View oldwoodman's profile


137 posts in 2432 days

#5 posted 11-20-2009 07:12 AM

WOW!!!! What a beautiful machine!!

That sure looks better than that old broken-down Craftsman jointer sitting out in my garage.

If you ever have the time, write up a performance review. Those of us with “jointer envy” would appreciate it.

View a1Jim's profile


113725 posts in 2611 days

#6 posted 11-20-2009 08:13 AM

Nice toy

-- Custom furniture

View Ken90712's profile


15830 posts in 2223 days

#7 posted 11-20-2009 11:51 AM

Thats a big boy! Have fun….

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View Paul2274's profile


330 posts in 2146 days

#8 posted 11-20-2009 06:25 PM


View Splinterman's profile


23058 posts in 2395 days

#9 posted 11-21-2009 04:53 AM

Sweet machine.

View matt garcia's profile

matt garcia

1852 posts in 2706 days

#10 posted 11-21-2009 10:47 PM

Man that’s a Cadillac!!

-- Matt Garcia Wannabe Period Furniture Maker, Houston TX

View RogerM's profile


630 posts in 1433 days

#11 posted 11-06-2011 10:13 PM

I have run a Delta DJ-20 in my shop for 5 years and have had excellent service from it. I run all kinds of hardwood through it (hickory, elm, oak, walnut, maple, cherry) and find it to be very reliable. Excellent basic machine that is reliable, and easy to maintain.

-- Roger M, Aiken, SC

View pintodeluxe's profile


4085 posts in 1847 days

#12 posted 07-23-2013 09:34 PM

I have one as well. I bought it for the extra width capacity, but what you really notice is how useful the extra length is. 76” long compared to 46” long on my old Jet 6” jointer. You can rest a 5-6’ long board on the infeed table! No more wrestling long boards as they want to fall off the outfeed table, as this jointer has good length.

I can’t tell you how many times I set a 6-1/2” wide board on my old 6” jointer… Awww! Back to the bandsaw.
An 8” parallelogram jointer was the way to go for me.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics