LumberJocks

Finally Aldi had some arrive

  • Advertise with us
Review by NormG posted 09-15-2017 09:55 PM 2059 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Finally Aldi had some arrive No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Seaonal item, they came in and wife picked them when shopping today, she noticed they were there. $6.99 for the set. They are 8mm, 13mm, 18mm, 24mm chisels. Nice handles, while they are sharp out of the packaging, they will of course need to be honed.

So, I have been given the all go by the doctor to get bak in the shop. I have not benn able to do so for about 11 months due to the cold weather we had and then when I incurred a medical issue in March.of 2017.

Will update after I get a chance to hone them and use them.

-- Norman - I never never make a mistake, I just change the design.




View NormG's profile

NormG

5877 posts in 2837 days



9 comments so far

View BenDupre's profile

BenDupre

530 posts in 321 days


#1 posted 09-15-2017 10:17 PM

Ha! I got some too. In IL. Picked up 2 packs. The legendary Aldi chisels made famous by Paul Sellers. I must say I was disappointed to find them Metric but o well. I have plenty of imperial chisels.

-- The problem with communication is the illusion that it has occurred. – George Bernard Shaw

View lew's profile

lew

11838 posts in 3588 days


#2 posted 09-16-2017 02:17 AM

I’m going to have to try Aldis for more than groceries!

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View NormG's profile

NormG

5877 posts in 2837 days


#3 posted 09-16-2017 08:43 PM

Mine were sharp unpacked. You can see the milling marks but they will come out after honing. Nice chisel weight, mm vs inches still usable. Wife remembered them fortunately.

-- Norman - I never never make a mistake, I just change the design.

View Scott Oldre's profile

Scott Oldre

968 posts in 3264 days


#4 posted 09-17-2017 05:59 PM

Just picked up 2 sets. Had to go to two Aldi’s to find any and the last place only had the two sets. So I took them both. I see they’re made in China, and if I recall these were made in Europe at one time, but I’ll give one set a shot and see how they stand up. For 6.99, you just can’t go wrong.

-- Scott, Irmo SC

View ScottKaye's profile

ScottKaye

545 posts in 1786 days


#5 posted 09-18-2017 07:28 PM

Same as the others, went to my local Aldi and bought the last three sets.. one was for a friend at work, the other two Im keeping. I was impressed with how big these things are. I was expecting short handled mini chisels. These are full size with good weight. good enough for bench chisels anyway!

-- "Nothing happens until you build it"

View Gilley23's profile

Gilley23

374 posts in 215 days


#6 posted 09-27-2017 10:13 PM

Stopped at Aldi on the way home, they had 4 or 5 sets on the shelf. I picked up a set….I mean for $7 you can’t go wrong even if they turned out to be beaters.

Thanks for the heads up!

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

116554 posts in 3410 days


#7 posted 09-27-2017 10:31 PM

I hope they work out for all of you, usually I find cheap chisels don’t work to well but I have seen some good reviews on a low-cost HF chisel sets so who knows the Aldi’s might be a good too.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View muesli's profile

muesli

307 posts in 1342 days


#8 posted 10-15-2017 08:56 AM

I’m not really a woodworker. Especially not an experienced one. But I bought the Aldi (large Paul Sellers fan!) and also some of Cherries (bought them used, but they were obviously unused). I have already done some work with both types (e.g. my workbench) and like to use them both. Although I have a guide, I use the freehand sharpening method Paul Sellers also introduced. This works very well for me. The final treatment on a strop makes a huge difference! I can really recommend the Aldi chisels.

View fuigb's profile

fuigb

449 posts in 2790 days


#9 posted 10-21-2017 01:12 AM

Three stars for… what?

-- - Crud. Go tell your mother that I need a Band-aid.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com