LumberJocks

Great little belt sander for the money

  • Advertise with us
Review by papadan posted 09-15-2017 06:44 PM 1290 views 0 times favorited 25 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great little belt sander for the money No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

The Harbor Freight 1” X 30” bench top belt sander seems to be a pretty good machine. Well built and designed, it is easy to set up and use. Works equally well on sanding or grinding metal and wood items. The belts are reasonably priced and hold up quite well in use. The price of this machine is $54.99 and with the 20% coupon I paid $43 and change. I did rate this machine with 4 stars instead of 5. While it is easy to use, easy to change belts, and the dust collection works pretty good with my small shop vac, the motor appears to be a bit weak. Good speed and as long as you let the belt do it’s job, works good, if you get in a hurry and apply too much pressure, the motor stalls. Overall I have to recommend this sander to anyone for wood or metal working. Great machine for the price.




View papadan's profile

papadan

3584 posts in 3148 days



25 comments so far

View pottz's profile (online now)

pottz

1986 posts in 764 days


#1 posted 09-15-2017 06:53 PM

thanks for the review papa,sounds like a great deal for the money,i may have to pick one up.

-- sawdust the bigger the pile the bigger my smile-larry,so cal.

View BenDupre's profile

BenDupre

513 posts in 268 days


#2 posted 09-15-2017 07:01 PM

Hey I have that one. I wonder if it could be made into a sharpening rig for bowl gouges…

-- The problem with communication is the illusion that it has occurred. – George Bernard Shaw

View papadan's profile

papadan

3584 posts in 3148 days


#3 posted 09-15-2017 07:05 PM

No reason not to use it Ben. Put a finer belt on it and sharpen away, plenty of adjustment in the table or freehand it.

View lew's profile

lew

11757 posts in 3535 days


#4 posted 09-15-2017 07:08 PM

Thanks for the review!

So far I’ve had pretty good luck with the things I have purchased from Harbor Freight.

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View papadan's profile

papadan

3584 posts in 3148 days


#5 posted 09-15-2017 07:11 PM

Hi Lew, I was getting ready to build a one” belt sander, even turned the rollers. But found this one and decided to try it out. Glad I did, the motor was going to cost more than this unit.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

116312 posts in 3357 days


#6 posted 09-15-2017 07:47 PM

Good review
I have one it works fine, but not sure it would hold up to heavy use, fortunately, I don’t use mine all the time.
Sometimes I use it in conjunction with one of these.

https://www.harborfreight.com/53-amp-12-in-heavy-duty-bandfile-belt-sander-62863.html

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Combo Prof's profile

Combo Prof

3111 posts in 1058 days


#7 posted 09-16-2017 01:23 AM

Don’t drop it or let it fall off the bench. The cheap plastic casing around the motor will break as will the adjustment lever. DAKMHIK. It still works however. Someday I’ll make a repair. But I did like it.

-- Don K, (Houghton, Michigan)

View pottz's profile (online now)

pottz

1986 posts in 764 days


#8 posted 09-16-2017 02:41 AM



Don t drop it or let it fall off the bench. The cheap plastic casing around the motor will break as will the adjustment lever. DAKMHIK. It still works however. Someday I ll make a repair. But I did like it.

- Combo Prof


thanks for the feedback I like all opinions before I make a decision.

-- sawdust the bigger the pile the bigger my smile-larry,so cal.

View papadan's profile

papadan

3584 posts in 3148 days


#9 posted 09-16-2017 03:42 AM



Don t drop it or let it fall off the bench. The cheap plastic casing around the motor will break as will the adjustment lever. DAKMHIK. It still works however. Someday I ll make a repair. But I did like it.

- Combo Prof


I promise I wont ask! ;-)

View pottz's profile (online now)

pottz

1986 posts in 764 days


#10 posted 09-16-2017 03:46 AM


Don t drop it or let it fall off the bench. The cheap plastic casing around the motor will break as will the adjustment lever. DAKMHIK. It still works however. Someday I ll make a repair. But I did like it.

- Combo Prof

I promise I wont ask! ;-)

- papadan


ok ,second thoughts,thank you for your imput.

-- sawdust the bigger the pile the bigger my smile-larry,so cal.

View Jim Bertelson's profile

Jim Bertelson

4098 posts in 2945 days


#11 posted 09-16-2017 04:29 AM

Sometimes, good enough, is good enough…eh?

-- Jim, Anchorage Alaska

View Redoak49's profile

Redoak49

2791 posts in 1769 days


#12 posted 09-16-2017 11:03 AM

I have one and it is a nice tool. I made a adapter for my vacuum and dust collection works well.

Good review and good tool.

View Dautterguy's profile

Dautterguy

42 posts in 3542 days


#13 posted 09-16-2017 02:16 PM

Just on a Side Track, How do y’all get the “Clerks” to give y’all the 20/25 % off on an already discounted Item? The Clerks down here in the South, tell me “The coupon cannot be used on a coupon item”

View papadan's profile

papadan

3584 posts in 3148 days


#14 posted 09-16-2017 02:45 PM

I have the same problem, they wont take the discount on a sale or coupon discounted item, only regular priced things. The regular price on this sander is $54.99 here in KY, I was able to use the 20% coupon on it and paid $43.99 for it.

View BenDupre's profile

BenDupre

513 posts in 268 days


#15 posted 09-16-2017 02:47 PM



Just on a Side Track, How do y all get the “Clerks” to give y all the 20/25 % off on an already discounted Item? The Clerks down here in the South, tell me “The coupon cannot be used on a coupon item”

- Dautterguy

HF will give you the cupon price or the 20% off the regular price whichever is cheaper. Typically the cupon price is better.

-- The problem with communication is the illusion that it has occurred. – George Bernard Shaw

showing 1 through 15 of 25 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com