LumberJocks

Screw-Outs Don't Work

  • Advertise with us
Review by papadan posted 11-07-2009 01:32 AM 2172 views 0 times favorited 20 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Screw-Outs Don't Work No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

http://www.craftsman.com/shc/s/p_10155_12602_00952154000P?keyword=52154&sLevel=0 LOML saw Bob Vs commercial and bought me a set a couple years ago. Today, 1/2” wood screws holding cabinet door hinges that have stripped out phillips heads. Guess what, Bob V can kiss my A$$! These things are supposed to bite into the screw and back it out, all they do is spin in the stripped head. Even tried an impact driver and nothing! This system won’t let me give -5 stars or I would!

-- Carpenter assembles with hands, Designer builds with brains, Artist creates with heart!




View papadan's profile

papadan

1156 posts in 2116 days



20 comments so far

View JasonWagner's profile

JasonWagner

523 posts in 1928 days


#1 posted 11-07-2009 01:49 AM

I know traditionally I would use a tap and die set to remove bolts and screws by hand…could you use a wrench or something with these at hand-strength? The drill (even on slow) might be too much speed and not allow the bit to “bite”

-- some day I hope to have enough clamps to need a clamp cart!

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112892 posts in 2325 days


#2 posted 11-07-2009 01:51 AM

thanks Dan

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Dale's profile

Dale

11 posts in 1897 days


#3 posted 11-07-2009 02:02 AM

I haven’t used the Craftsman brand screwouts but I have used something similar and they worked best when using a hand driver and applying a lot of pressure until it bites into the screwhead—as Jason suggested. If you use a power drill and don’t apply enough pressure and it spins you generally don’t get a second chance.

I just checked the reviews on the Craftsman site above and some people suggest tapping it in with a hammer before you try to turn it out.

-- -Dale

View GMman's profile

GMman

3902 posts in 2446 days


#4 posted 11-07-2009 02:03 AM

I was looking at a set just the other day and I was told to use a small pair of visecrip pliers and as you turn you tap on the top with a hammer, very small taps.

View Eric_S's profile

Eric_S

1521 posts in 1943 days


#5 posted 11-07-2009 02:13 AM

Are you drilling the threads counterclockwise? I had the same problem first, although with a different brand, until I reread the directions and realized you’re supposed to drill the threads counterclockwise, then flip it over and again remove the screw as usual counterclockwise.

-- - Eric Indianapolis, IN

View Sean's profile

Sean

156 posts in 2363 days


#6 posted 11-07-2009 03:06 AM

Something by Craftsman that won’t work? The Dickens, you say!

-- "Democracy is by far the worst system of government. Except all the others that have been tried." ~ Winston Churchill

View Luke's profile

Luke

541 posts in 2042 days


#7 posted 11-07-2009 03:19 AM

I’ve heard that you need to drill a hole in the screw to “fit” the tap in before you start drilling backwards. So that it has the right stuff to bite. ???

-- LAS, http://www.abettersign.com

View Jeff Dubofsky's profile

Jeff Dubofsky

52 posts in 2001 days


#8 posted 11-07-2009 02:21 PM

I’ve never used the product (under any brand name), but have certainly seen the ads. I recently saw an ad for a deal on them through Rockler. Seems like a lot of debate and question for, what looks to be, a pretty straight forward device…...Funny, the ad doesn’t seem to cover any of the issues you guys are talking about? :-) Maybe I’ll wait to on the purchase until they actually get it to work! Thanks for the reviews!

-- jdubo, Hartland Wisconsin..."If you see a flaw in my work take a (big) step back!"

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2419 posts in 2186 days


#9 posted 11-07-2009 03:26 PM

I drill it out then fill the hole with wood after.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View Fuzzy's profile

Fuzzy

293 posts in 2736 days


#10 posted 11-07-2009 03:50 PM

For about the same $$$ you can get a product called “GRABIT” that DOES WORK !! !!

That is the one where you use one end of the bit to drill a custom shaped depression, then flip it over and engage the burr in the hole and back it out. I’ve used that one many times with good results.

-- - dabbling in sarcasm is foolish … if you’re not proficient at it, you end up looking stupid … ... ...

View papadan's profile

papadan

1156 posts in 2116 days


#11 posted 11-07-2009 07:00 PM

I’ve seen the Grabits advertised, but would have to see them in person working.

-- Carpenter assembles with hands, Designer builds with brains, Artist creates with heart!

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11684 posts in 2436 days


#12 posted 11-07-2009 09:49 PM

http://www.craftsman.com/shc/s/ProductDisplay?storeId=10155&sLevel=0&keyword=52154&partNumber=00952154000P&catalogId=12602
Other reviews of this product. Not very promising…some ppl say that you have to tap them with a hammer first to make it bite and others say that you need to drill into the broken screw first

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View MedicKen's profile

MedicKen

1602 posts in 2210 days


#13 posted 11-07-2009 10:22 PM

I have the same set, I think the plastic case is more useful at getting the screw uot than the cutter are!!

-- My job is to give my kids things to discuss with their therapist....medic20447@gmail.com

View papadan's profile

papadan

1156 posts in 2116 days


#14 posted 11-07-2009 10:55 PM

OK, I got all of the screws out of the cabinets. 11 had to be removed. The Crapsman Screw-Outs worked marvelously, all you have to do is drill an 1/8th inch hole in the screw,(ruined 3 bits by chipping the edges) Then tap the screw-out into the hole with a hammer until you can feel there are ridges to catch it on, then put the screw-out in a drill and slowly back the screw out, last step is to throw these things in the garbage.

-- Carpenter assembles with hands, Designer builds with brains, Artist creates with heart!

View closetguy's profile

closetguy

744 posts in 2640 days


#15 posted 11-08-2009 03:44 AM

I bought a “Grabit” to get a screw out that had a screwed up head. It worked too good. It bit into the head just like it was suppose to, but the screw was in so tight that the “Grabit” broke in half. It works as advertised, but it can’t handle heavy stress.

-- I don't make mistakes, only design changes....www.dgmwoodworks.com

showing 1 through 15 of 20 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase